We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“House keeping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“House keeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Cape Royale for 3 days on Honey moon. Housekeeping stole from our room and we reported it and it was not followed up. We also sat with no replacement toliet paper and had to use tissues. The room overall met our needs, but the shower water leaked all over the floor causing a trip hazard. The pool was way to small and cramped on the roof deck. Thanks but no thanks. I guess its the old story of you get what you pay for and we got a special price online.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or the new penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to clarify a few points with you.

The alleged theft that you have noted, we are still waiting the details off. Our security manager has been trying to make contact with you, however I believe you have advised him you are out of town at the moment. We look forward to being given the details in order to investigate in full as we consider incidents such as this in a very serious manner.

The additional toilet paper (our standard) was placed in the vanity unit of the suite in the bathroom.
The shower leak has been addressed, our apologies for the inconvenience.
In reference to the pool size, this is the 1st we have received such a comment and do not agree with this. If we look at the size of the VIP Sky Bar, the pool size is more than adequate.

We look forward to hearing from you in order to investigate the alleged theft.
Wishing you a happy festive season.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    317
    144
    41
    49
See reviews for
522
483
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of a 2-week safari. We had a 2-room suite with kitchen and large living/dining area, which completely exceeded our expectations. Everything was spotless. The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful, organizing transportation and making local restaurant recommendations. The hotel is within walking distance of the V&A Waterfront. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to potential guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djl485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this excellent feedback.
I am so pleased to read all your positive comments, especially relating to our staff and service.
This really encourages all our staff to be the very best.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a very happy and prosperous new year.
We hope we will see you again soon.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights having spent the previous 2 weeks traveling around Africa.It exceeded all expectations .We had a one bedroom apartment which had all the facilities and was immaculate and very modernId asked for a quiet room and it was incedibly quiet !.It had a sitting room open plan kitchen and on suite bahtroom.My hairdryer smoked on the first night so i took it down to reception when we went down for dinner and by the time we came back to our room it had been replaced by a new one.
it was raining when we arrived so they asked the taxi to go into the indoor car park so we didnt get wet As it was so wet we decided to have a meal in the restaurant ,the food and the service was excellent.
This is a great place to stay as its only 4 minutes walk from the V&A waterfromt and as it can be self catering a few minutes walk to a spa and Woolworhs.
I would highly recommend this hotel and if i visited Cape town again I would be staying gere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Royal Gyest,
Wow wow wow, what a wonderful review you have given us, Thank you very much.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your feedback here, especially your positive comments about our staff and service.

I hope we will have the opportunity to treat you to a Royal Stay once again in the future.
Until then, have a wonderful festive season and may 2014 be a brilliant year for you and your family.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is lovely and in a great location - easy walk to the V&A Waterfront. We had a 2 room suite, which was beautiful. Staff were very friendly, but service was patchy - particularly the front desk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

It was our first trip to Cape Town and I had booked the hotel on line. I was travelling with my elderley parents and we was not prepared for the fantastic welcome and accommodation this hotel provided. The professional service by staff, the restraurant, the rooftop bar and pool, cleanliness, the shuttle service - everything was five star. I will certainly be recommending this hotel to my Aussie travellers.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarolM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest and family,

Thank you for this awesome review you have given us. It is so positive to read your comments relating to our staff and service. I am glad that you had such a wonderful holiday.

Thank you for your support and for spreading the good word about Cape Royale to your aussie traveler friends. Please be assured they will be well looked after here at Cape Royale.
I do hope that should you be back in town we will have the pleasure of looking after you again also.

Wishing you a very happy, healthy and successful 2014.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar and the Team at Cape Royale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The location of the hotel is very close to the waterfront area. Staff is very friendly and the hotel has an exceptional good concierge service (Guest Relatoinship Manager) taking care to support you in organizing your stay in Capetown and SA!

Room Tip: Try to get a Suite Apartment with two floors and view to the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuelZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest, family and friends,

Thank you for this great review you have given us and for spreading the good word about Cape Royale here on Trip Advisor. This really motivates our staff to keep on aiming to be the very best. Thank you for your comments regarding Sedick our Guest Services Manager, rest assured we have shared this feedback with him and the team. He is an asset to our company.

Wishing you a very happy, healthy and successful 2014.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar, Sedick and the Team at Cape Royale
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

everything was fantastic, from reception to the very last minute, staff very helpfull, great location rooms are very modern and spacious. ideal for families (i travelled with my two boys age 1 and 2) we all enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to all our friends

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Wow what an Amazing review you have given us. Thank you kindly for this feedback and for your support of Cape Royale by spreading your good word here on Trip Advisor. Rest assured we will certainly look after your family and friends when they come to stay with us.

Wishing you a wonderfully successful 2014 in everyway.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing