We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Lovely experience....”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel in a 2 bedroom suite. Booked off of the recommendations on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed! After a looong flight from the States via London we were greeted with a warm South African welcome. The suite was large, clean, and tastefully decorated. The staff was more than kind and hospitable. I would highly recommend this hotel. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjs235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,
Thanks for this review and for taking the time to post it here on Trip Advisor.
It is so good to receive such positive feedback and I have shared this with all of our team. This encourages us to keep on being the very best in town.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful festive season and a very happy 2014.

Royal Regards from the team of champions at Cape Royale.

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    324
    146
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
489
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here for two nights last week. From the private driver who picked us up at the airport near midnight in a new Jaguar and delivered us to the hotel, to every member of the hotel staff including bellman and maids, the service was was attentive, friendly and very helpful. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The Skybar was a real gem; great setting atop the hotel with a pool and lots of landscaping, with an amazing harbor and mountain view of the city. Even arriving at midnight, we were told the Skybar staff was there to accommodate us 24 hours, so we had drinks on the rooftop while watching the dazzling lights of the city below. The staff all remembered us the next evening and were a real pleasure to talk to.

The most outstanding feature the hotel offers, however, is the personal drivers and tours from Africanect.com, located in the lobby. We were able to sit down and discuss what we were interested in and they designed a personally guided exploration for the day, in our own brand new Jag. Our driver, Shawn Pillay, was very knowledgable and professional and responsive to our every request. We had such an amazing day driving down to the Cape Point, stopping to see ostrich, baboons, antelope, spring box, and even the penguins in Simon's Town. He took us to a restaurant we wanted to have lunch at in Kalk Bay and waited patiently while we enjoyed our meal and wine. The next day he took us to a small record store off Long that we requested to see, took us to Table Mountain before driving us to Stellenbosch where we continued our S Africa adventure. I highly recommend the Cape Royale and we will definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this fantastic review and for your valuable comments about our service and the special mention for Shawn. Please be assured I have shared this with all of our team.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at beginning of our 2.5 week trip through South Africa.
Thanks to its great location we could easily explore the sights and surroundings of Cape Town.
The rooms, restaurant, roof-top bar and room service were impeccable and made our stay very comfortable.
We would also like to give special thanks you to our very helpful concierge Sedick who not only helped us with great advice on restaurants and trips to do, but also helped us plan our onward journey with his vast knowledge and experience. Thanks to him we could get a good feel for South Africa and its population and culture.

Samuel & Andreas

Room Tip: Even street-side rooms are very quiet thanks to good windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Royal,

This is such a perfect review, thank you very much for sharing your feedback here on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the special mention about Sedick, a wonderful gentleman in our team. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with all in our team.

Wishing you a fantastic festive season. We hope to see you again in the future.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in Cape Royale for 3 nights last week & absolutely loved this hotel. From the beauty of the hotel outside it only got better inside. Stunning room with every amenity necessary & great vibe all round. Restaurant was beautiful & Skybar is amazing with stunning views. I will return again, thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this fabulous review especially relating to our service. This positive feedback really motivates our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully not too distant in the future, until then have a wonderful Xmas and a very happy and prosperous new year.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

a corporate client function was spoilt by dismal service by all waiters at the Sky Bar.

even though the area was not busy - the continuous inattentive and seemingly uniterested service by staff left a poor taste for all attendees (co-incidentally, everyone's first visit) even though the venue, drinks (when they eventually arrived) and atmosphere were great.

word of note: a colleague also experienced the same poor service a week earlier.

for a 5 star brand establishment - serious attention should be focused on staff development.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad_capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

From the offset, please accept our sincere apologies for the service experience you have noted at Vip Sky Bar. I assure you this is certainly not the normal standard practice that we offer.

Please contact me directly at terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za to discuss this further and come to a resolution.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Have not yet checked out...two more nights to go... but our experience summarized:

Check in smooth. Arrive at room - toilet had been used and not flushed. After 10 days away from home hoped for working washing machine - sign says 'out of order' in the room washing machine. Kitchen not cleaned. Linen on bed not ironed and bed looks like someone had been in room few minutes prior. Walked down to speak to Assistant Manager - Mr Soko. Not sure he took anything serious of concerns as we returned to same unironed linen and out of order machine (remains out of order till now). Followed up 24hrs later on washing machine - said 'I had sent email to housekeeping' - no follow up since then...

Whilst the booking was booked for two and noted so, our 'turn down service' for first night was for two people and then changed to turn down only for one person. No attention to detail.

Toilet flushing system leaked, called maintenance to sort our, apparently fixed but again during the night had to walk back to the loo to play with the Gerberit system to stop the water running.

Requested Wine Stopper (since its self-catering) – did not have. Asked for dish cloth, an hour later nothing received until we returned in the evening and found it in room.
Whilst very modern, décor not practical in the one bed/studio unit. Two chairs that are made with fabric that was once cream/white. Could do with more practical seating plan.
Concerns raised with Assistant Manager but he actually did not take them seriously.

On a different note, the sky bar is very cool, classy, relaxed and nice to spend time at. That perhaps was the only enjoyment experienced. CPT offers great accommodation options, from our choice this time, did not feel we made a good choice.

The noisy gong on arrival must have been discontinued way before our time.

No ‘block out curtain’ in the lounge so once sun is up there is light coming to the bedroom and that’s about your wake up time.

Staff and porters very friendly. Nearby restaurants very convenient - easy walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in mount facing room and think this may be more quieter than street facing. Enjoy sundown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this review and for your valuable feedback. I do believe we have managed to turn this situation around for you and we look forward to you coming back to stay with us next year.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a very happy and prosperous new year.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Cape Royale for 3 days on Honey moon. Housekeeping stole from our room and we reported it and it was not followed up. We also sat with no replacement toliet paper and had to use tissues. The room overall met our needs, but the shower water leaked all over the floor causing a trip hazard. The pool was way to small and cramped on the roof deck. Thanks but no thanks. I guess its the old story of you get what you pay for and we got a special price online.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or the new penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to clarify a few points with you.

The alleged theft that you have noted, we are still waiting the details off. Our security manager has been trying to make contact with you, however I believe you have advised him you are out of town at the moment. We look forward to being given the details in order to investigate in full as we consider incidents such as this in a very serious manner.

The additional toilet paper (our standard) was placed in the vanity unit of the suite in the bathroom.
The shower leak has been addressed, our apologies for the inconvenience.
In reference to the pool size, this is the 1st we have received such a comment and do not agree with this. If we look at the size of the VIP Sky Bar, the pool size is more than adequate.

We look forward to hearing from you in order to investigate the alleged theft.
Wishing you a happy festive season.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing