We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our family spent Christmas in Cape Town in 2 1-BR Suites at the Cape Royale. Very nice property with good central location, only 5 minutes from the Waterfront. Rooms are ok, with great beds. Wish the router and WiFi service was better (needs adaptors?). Room did not have Room Service menus and phone system a nightmare to try and figure out. BUT, the Travel Desk managed by Girschen was fantastic. Many thanks for the tips and transport to The Strand on Christmas Day, G - appreciate your extra time and attention! Also thanks to Uvil who drove us all over town to dinners, etc., very greatly appreciated! The food and staff at 1800 Restaurant were very, very good.
Overall a really great stay in a classy residence hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review, I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us over Christmas. Thanks for the special mention of Girschen & Uvil, I have congratulated both gents and the rest of the team for their hard work.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback re the wifi, the telephone system and the menu's in the suites. Please be assured that these comments have received the highest attention and we are busy investigating, my apologies for any inconvenience caused but these shortfalls as this is certainly not the norm.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cape Royale for another great stay. Until then, wishing you a wonderful 2014.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar & the Team at Cape Royale.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at the Cape Royale with my wife for a week in November and was very impressed with the personalised customer service shown by the hotel.

The Cape Royale is a great place to stay for the following reasons :

- customer service
- great location
- cleanliness
- comfortable beds

All the above made for an excellent stay. In particular Sedick Achmat was a great help and always went the extra mile to help us with our itenary for the week.

Thank you to the Cape Royale for making our time in Cape Town a memorable one. We will be back!

Mr Hussain

Thanks again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 198HussainM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Royal Guest,

What a great review you have given us, thank you kindly. Special thanks for your kind words about Sedick our Guest Services Manager who is an asset to our team :-)
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Until such times, wishing you and your family a wonderful 2014.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar and the Team at Cape Royale.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

i stayed at Cape royale from 15th to 19th December 13 with my family and had wonderful holiday in cape town. we were staying in 2 Bed room Suite which is well appointed and very comfortable .service is excellent and staff very courteous and professional .
1800 degree grill is a nice place to dine and we enjoyed their food and exceelent service .overall great experience .

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have great view with Cape town stadium and main road in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajayasth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this beautiful review. It is so expncoursging to received such valuable feedback and I have shared this with all of my team.

I do hope you had an enjoyable festive season and may 2014 be a happy and prosperous year for you and your family.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Be aware I had 220£ stolen from a hidden pocket in my suitcase whilst I was out for the day. I got the distinct impression that security staff didn't care apart from to make sure I signed the paper saying the hotel was not liable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Thom49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to comment on your review. As you are aware we carried out a thorough and detailed investigation into the alleged theft from your suite. Our security manager was in contact with you regarding the alleged theft.

We offered to call the SA police on your behalf. CCTV footage was reviewed. Polygraph tests where conducted with our staff and we have carried out a full investigation and regrettably there is no evidence to prove that 1)That there was money in your suite and 2) That our staff took any money from your suite.

With regards to the safe keeping of valuables, we do advise and encourage as a standard procedure for all our guests to securely lock their valuables in the safes provided in the suites.

I am sorry that you are not happy with the outcome of the investigation, but we cannot reimburse when there is no evidence that we were at fault. I assure you that it was certainly not our intention to ruin your stay by the alleged theft and we take incidents extremely seriously.

Kind Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

What an amazing hotel .Probably the best service levels I have ever encountered. And always with a smile. The accommodation is world class and Sky bar is magnificent. All in all a phenomenal holiday. Definitely my hotel of choice from now on in Cape Town.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ken V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Wow what a great review you have given us here on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much indeed. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Wishing you a very happy, healthy and prosperous 2014.
See you in the New Year!

Terri Jabaar & the team at Cape Royale :-)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have nothing but praise for Cape Royale Hotel! Eight of us traveled to South Africa for a two week vacation and all of us feel positive about this hotel. We had two suites with four bedrooms. Our room service was thorough; the concierge and doormen were amazing, We all commented on how welcome we all felt and how much we appreciated everyone looking out for our comfort. The restaurant has the best chocolate cake EVER and the roof top bar was perfect for a nightcap. All eight of us would stay here again when/if we get the chance to visit Cape Town in the future. Thank you to all staff members who made our visit extraordinary!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Royal Guest, family and friends,

Thank you for this excellent review you have given us. It is so positive and motivating to read your comments especially relating to our staff and service. I am glad that you had such a wonderful vacation.

Thank you for your support and for spreading the good word about Cape Royale and I do hope that should you be back in town we will have the pleasure of looking after you again.

Wishing you a very happy, healthy and successful 2014.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar and the Team at Cape Royale
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our experience with the hotel was pretty perfect. Our room was huge and beautiful, the staff was wonderful. However, the experience with the spa was anything but ideal. They messed up our reservation (booked 3 people, only had enough staff for 2) and when we showed up for the appointment, they weren't even there (they showed up ten minutes late). I would say definitely book the hotel, just make your spa appointments elsewhere because the people who run the spa are disorganized.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves2trvl924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this feedback. Many thank for the comments relating to the hotel, I am so pleased that everything regarding the hotel, the suites and the service was perfect.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you have noted relating to Equinox Spa. I can assure you 100% this is not the normal experience at Equinox and I do believe Sunette our Spa Manager has been in contact with you to discuss in detail. I am hopeful we will come to a resolution regarding the experience you have noted. Again my apologies.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,706 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#22 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £176 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a Rooftop Pool Deck offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing