We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to stay in CT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to stay in CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great location just behind Green Point stadium. Easy to find from the airport, easy to park and great service. We had a 2 room apartment was massive and very good value - much better than 2 rooms in a different hotel. The pool on the roof top, although small, was amazing when sunny, with a great view of Signal Hill. Very close to the Waterfront and all CT locations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this Perfect Review.
It is so good for all of the team to read such great positive comments. This motivates us to keep on being the very best and put smiles on our guests faces and creating exceptional experiences.

Thank you for your support and hope to see you again.
Safe Travels.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    317
    144
    41
    49
See reviews for
522
483
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

It was wonderful to be back in Cape town again and have the opportunity to go back and stay at the Cape Royale hotel. There were a few new faces who greeted us, so we were not sure if it would be as good as our last stay there. We had nothing to worry about as once again the staff were amazing and as helpful as ever! Managed to get a suite that was sea facing this time and could not get enough of the views. We had 2 fantastic dinners at the restaurant and loved all our choices.
Throughout our stay no request went unanswered and nothing was too much!

We cant wait to come back to Cape Town to stay in a superb hotel with true five star hospitality. Well done everybody at the Cape Royale! Ps, Also loved the rooftop skybar for an early evening drink!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room, otherwise lap up the location and the superb service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymoustraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I recently stayed at the 'Luxurious' Cape Royale hotel for business. I am a single lady traveller, I travel the world for business, staying in 5 star hotels. I can honestly say this place was like home from home. The staff just 'get it'. Helpful, but not over the top. If I asked for something it was done straight away & us lady travelers can be demanding!!! I had read a couple of 'concerning reviews' about service, but maybe these guests got the hotel wrong! As this certainly was not my experience.
The suite was spacious, beds so comfy, I even had a choice of pillow & hangers to choose from prior to check in!! Breakfast was brilliant, tasty and hot breakfast freshly made to order. Great way to start any day! The Guest services staff and duty managers always greeted me in the reception, they enquired about my day, helped with transport, dinner plans and a few ideas for what to do at the wkend when I was off work. They suggested I had dinner in the bistro 1800, what a great suggestion, I think I dined 3 nights out of the 5 and had room service. Superb.

Overall, I really had a wonderful time, albeit for work. Thank you so much to all involved. I can't wait to come back, next time with my hubby and I have told all my family and friends that when in Cape Town, they must stay at CR.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJ1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had booked and confirmed a 3 bedroomed executive suite for our guests from Australia only to be informed that the room was not available. This was booked and confirmed in Jan 14. We were embarrassed and I took the opportunity to speak to the duty manager. He was rude aggressive and not interested. The hotel is overbooked was the answer we got?
Our room was in need of a good clean, the walls were marked, inside cupboards dirty/marked, carpets frayed . Shower has mould growing on it?
Breakfast - staff not trained properly, we were informed no Hot Oats, told them to go to Woolworths and buy oats, within 10 min we had hot oats. Orders never came complete, asked for marmalade and was given a small bowl with marmalade dumped in the bowl?
Security - we arrived at parking garage and gave a random number to the person on the other side of the intercom, door was opened and in we went, this went on for 4 days in and out.
Room doors - a normal key and the door has to be physically locked from in or outside, no security chain or peephole? Bed side tables are rickety and in need of replacement, 7 TV channels only. No open window in the bedroom - 718
Free wifi? this never worked in the 4 days we were at this place, I called a person to help me with the wifi and was told this is an on going problem, it does not work?
I would never recommend this place to anybody and will never set foot there again.
World Luxury Hotel Awards - they do not deserve to even be part of this organisation never mind nominated.
For those who rate this hotel as 5 star - where have you stayed before??
Never again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I have sent you an email which I do hope you will pick up. I would really like to try to make contact with you regarding your post here on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.
I being by offering my sincere apologies for the issues you have noted and for the poor management of how the situations where dealt with. This is certainly not our standard that we pride ourselves in nor is it how we would wish for our valued overseas guests to leave.

Our Rep in Australia (Lauren) has tried to make contact with you telephonically but your voicemail states you are still travelling. Please can you advise if you are still in South Africa and if you are coming back to Cape Town. I would really like to make amends for the issues you have noted. My email address is: terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za

I look forward to hearing from you.
Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We arrived quite early (only because our flight from Australia came in at 9am) and wanted to drop our bags off and freshen up as we knew we could not check in so early. I made the mistake of sending my elderly mother in who was treated like absolute dirt and told that there was nowhere to get changed. We found a nice door man by the name of Patrick who was quite helpful and showed us a small area where we could get changed but would have much rather had gone to the pool area where we could have had a shower after 24 hours of travelling.
Finally checked into our 2 bedroom apartment but only to find the 2nd door locked. We asked 4 TIMES for this door to be unlocked and in the end I nearly stormed down to reception to demand it be opened as my mother had fallen asleep on the couch. The man came but without the key to open the door. Seriously?? When the door was opened informed me that the reason it was locked because the toilet does not work so they needed to come back. We said no and that we would deal with one toilet (not that we should have had to). Then I needed to do some work but the internet was out. Yes that's right. A hotel of this quality with no internet so I was stuck needing to do some urgent business that I could not do. Luckily I was still on Australian time so woke up at 2.30am in the morning and managed to get it all done
While a number of people including the duty manager came to try and assist us the fact remains that all these things should not have happened in the first place if the hotel had their act together.
My personal opinion is that they spend far too much time trying to look important with their stupid top hat and tails and not time on making sure that things are good. I don't ask for much. All I want is a clean room, comfortable bed, TV and internet.

Room Tip: I would just avoid this hotel if you want to feel welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest and family,

I would like to try to make contact with you regarding your post here on Trip Advisor from your recent stay with us. I deeply apologise for the issues you have noted and for the fact that these issues where not addressed prior to your arrival at the hotel.

Our Rep in Australia (Lauren) has tried to make contact with you telephonically but your voicemail states you are still travelling. Please can you advise if you are still in South Africa and if you are coming back to Cape Town. I would really like to make amends for the issues you have noted. My email address is: terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za

I look forward to hearing from you.
Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for almost a week with our familyof four (two adults, two young children). The location is great as you can walk to the waterfront (about 20 minute walk with the kids on a somewhat busy street), car rental companies are close by as are restaurants and woolworth food where you can buy food and use the kitchen for ex, for breakfast. The suites are spacious and clean albeit the furniture is slightly run down. The food at the restaurant is delicious and room service was very good. The only issue I would take is with the staff some of whom are quite wonderful whereas others seemed to lack customer service. The travel desk while friendly were not really willing to go the extra mile for much. They consistently got me very high quotes for car rentals and other services whereas I was able to go online and find quotes at 50% of the rates they could find within a matter of minutes. Also when I asked information about events going around town such as the Pride Parade, they really didn't know much about happenings. We also had to ask for several things repeatedlly such as newspaper delivered to our room (only got it the fourth morning after asking every day). At reception we were also asked to wait for our room to be ready as check in was at 3 p.m. (we had gotten to the hotel just before 2). After going for lunch and returning at 3:30 we were made to wait another 1/2 hour even though we were told that check in was at 3. All that to say, if you don't care too much about service then this is a good place to stay for the suites, food and location. Also, not a very family friendly place due to the pool and lack of activities for children close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not to noisy. Our room faced the street so the view was decent but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InLoveWithTravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing this on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the positive comments and also for bringing to our attention the service issues you experienced during your stay. I assure you that we do care immensely about our service and these issues that you have raised I assure you have received the utmost attention to detail. These shortfalls are certainly not our normal standard practice and certainly not how we wish to be remembered.

If you are travelling to cape town in the near future please do not hesitate to contact me. My email address is: terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za

Once again, many thanks for your comments.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
701 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Cape Royale. The hotel is conveniently situated about 10 minutes walk from the wharf. The suites are large, modern and very pleasant. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast (not included) was a bit disappointing. Overall a great address in Cape Town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for sharing this on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I do appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast and will certainly investigate. Could you perhaps share a bit more information as to why it was disappointing. My email address is terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za. We do offer a full continental buffet breakfast and then an a la carte hot breakfast is made fresh to order.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and would like to resolve the breakfast issue for you.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing