We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would have expected more”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Reading reviews on TripAdvisor we thought that this would be an unforgettable stay. However upon arrival we were immediately disappointed. You only receive 1GB of free internet for 4 devices, which was obviously a problem for a family of 5 in which each person has an iPhone and Laptop. Cost for additional internet: 300 Rand. The food was also not very good, but the prices are okay. The lobby was tainted in a strange smell during our stay, which might have been due to the rainy weather. The location however is amazing, and you can easily walk to the waterfront or the Cape Town Stadium.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    325
    147
    41
    53
See reviews for
531
489
38
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This was a return trip to the Cape Royal and the management was amazing, not to mention the staff. The 2 bedroom suite was truly 6 star with service to match. The bathrooms, decor and entire room was superb. Turn down service and general attitude is what makes this hotel truly 5 star, this is now my families favourite hotel in Cape Town. Well done we won't forget you!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

WOW what an amazing review you have given us here on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much. We are SO pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we will have the opportunity to look after you once again.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 3 days in a Family Room in the first week of July. The first thing is the location: a 10 minute walk from the waterfront.
Second, is the room itself: a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms and a large kitchen, washing machine, oven, microwave and basic cutlery. This , along with Woolworth being steps away made eating in an easy experience.
Finally, the staff are friendly and eager to please; we had an issue with the Wi-Fi, which was rectified in a jiffy.
All in all, for the price paid, its excellent value for money paid and is strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this excellent review of our staff and services. We are so pleased to read your positive comments here on Trip Advisor and very grateful that you have shared your feedback for others to read.
I do hope your journey back home to India was safe and pleasant and that we will have the pleasure of looking after you once again should you be in Cape Town.

Once again thank you for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife, 6-year-old son, and I recently stayed at the Cape Royale for about 5 days, and we were absolutely thrilled with the experience. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite facing the water and loved the view and the extra space that was afforded by having the suite. A nice, unexpected bonus was the presence of a combination washer/dryer in the kitchenette, which allowed us to do our laundry before leaving at a fraction of the cost of using the hotel laundry services. (We went to a Pick 'n Pay in the shopping mall near the waterfront and picked up some detergent and fabric softener for about what it would cost to have the hotel launder one of our pairs of pants!)

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was great. It was a short, 20-30 Rand taxi ride to the waterfront. Additionally, the street on which the hotel is located has multiple excellent restaurants within just a couple of blocks in either direction. We recommend Bistro 1800, the restaurant within the hotel, for breakfast, but we felt like there were many better dinner options nearby; however, one night it was raining heavily so we ate at the Bistro for dinner, and felt that though the food was mediocre, it was at least convenient.

In summary, the hotel is lovely, the staff is excellent, and the location and convenience to most of the major local tourist sites is great for couples and families. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom suites facing the water are particularly lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forbachc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest and family,

Thank you for this great review of our staff and services and thank you taking the time to share this feedback here on Trip Advisor for other guests to read.
I am pleased that you and your family had such a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

Regarding your comments about Bistro 1800, please be advised that we are closing the restaurant on 31st July and re-launching mid august with a completely new restaurant concept. I do hope you will come back and give us your feedback.

Once again thanks for your feedback and your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. When I first came to the hotel I walked on a red carpet waiting the doorman who was wearing a tux working at the hotel to open the door for us. The lobby of the hotel is very classy. The suites were gigantic and beautiful. It had 2 bedrooms, tv, kitchen and washing machine. The staff was amazing. We got a great deal for this hotel. The room have a great view of the Table Top Mountain and the 2010 Fifa World Cup stadium. Bathrooms were huge. It is a 10 minutes walk to the Waterfront. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who comes to Cape Town.

Room Tip: For a family of four choose room 811 it is quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

WOW what can I say about this review. We are humbled at your comments and so very appreciative that you have shared this feedback here on Trip Advisor. We take pride in our hotel, service and our team and we are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, until then, keep well and again thanks for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar & the team at Cape Royale.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I visited Cape Town for an anniversary trip. Cape Royale is an apartment style hotel -- kitchens, laundry, living room, etc. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom/2 bath room with a view of the waterfront. It was beautiful, spotless, and the bathroom is gorgeous. Our room was larger than our condo back in the USA! The staff was always helpful and attentive upon departure or arrival.

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast only and it was fine. We even went to the grocery store down the street for snacks, wine, etc. We did a load of laundry before departing to our next destination, which was a huge plus!

We did do an appointment at the spa -- and I will say that we were not terribly happy with our services there. The practitioners were nice and the facilities nice and clean (nothing too elaborate though); my husband had a massage and I had a facial and they put us in the same room. Okay? That's fine. But then during my facial the esthetician left the room for a long time. I said something to the massage therapist and was told "maybe she didn't want to disturb your husband with the service" It was just a strange experience. But I give the hotel 5 stars as whole because our hotel experience and stay was definitely worthy of a high review.

The location is great and VERY central. We would definitely stay here again when we go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyR013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review and for sharing your feedback.
I am so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. Especially the suite itself.
Thank you for the comments regarding the service in the Spa, please be assured that I have investigated this with the team in order to better accommodate our guest needs and requests in the Spa and during treatments.

Once again many thanks for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights from June 27 to July 3, 2014. I had come to Cape Town with my son who was on school trip but was staying at another hotel with hi school mates.
I had booked for a one bedroom apartment but was checked into a two bedroom apartment right in the front of the hotel with the most awesome view of the main road and the stadium.
The apartment was beautifully finished with a beautiful wooden parquet floor. The bigger room room had a full length window that opened unto a balcony where one could stand and enjoy the fresh air, the bathroom, very elegant with a bath and a separate shower.
There was a roof top bar and swimming, quite impossible to swim due to the weather, but the bar was a fantastic place to hang out and chill in the evenings.
All in all, this is a wonderful place to stay, very comfortable, lovely location 3 minutes from the V&A waterfront, right in the centre of town.
The staff of the hotel are very friendly, and helpful and I do remember a front desk staff called Nichole who went out of the way to be helpful whenever needed.
I am looking forward to staying here again on my next trip to Cape Town with my family.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms at Cape Royale will be satisfactory. I just always prefer a room in the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing