We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Angry Ant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Angry Ant”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

N-I-C-E Hotel.
Looks very elegant from the street with the mountains behind it and it is better still inside! Take time to walk around the inside and view the drawings and pictures!
The desk service in signing in was painless, panic-less and as easy as "handing over your credit card for anything broken or abused". We, (there is 3 of us) had booked a self contained suite of 2 bedrooms, kitchen and everything else INCLUDING the dishwasher and washing/drying machine! Both bedrooms had en suites..was a large suite having it's own lounge are and 2 small Juliet balconies over looking the Harbor and stadium!! Could only hear a very small amount of bar music noise whilst lying in the comfy queen beds on the 4th floor...that is because I wanted to see if I could actually hear any street noise of the vehicles going past....not a worry in the world....it was Noddy-time...and I was off to sleep land!
Breakfast was included in our tariff which by the way the dining area is on the ground floor....the breakfast food and staff were never the same for the 5 days we were there having breakfast and at times the hot food was from quick to "out chasing the eggs from the fowl yard"....I've been told the restaurant at night is "just....that...JUST" in other words its JUST!!
The Cocktail room...on the roof is a leased out affair...I don't know what all the fuss was about the Cocktail Room cause it was very ordinary...matter of fact it was piss-poor we only had 1 drink there and then went back to our suite... I had a better time "catching a cold!" Forget it!
There is a Pub about 20 meters up the road..does a roaring trade in great pub food and beers as the pasta place about 4 doors up...one night we took take away and had it in our suite with some wine we bought...very civilized we were...except for the washing up!
Be warned if you want to wash your clothes in the washing and drying machine you will have to pay for powder (no biggie cause you get your monies worth) and a full cycle on the machine can take up to 2 hrs...great to set and go down to the Quay for the day.
The waterfront from this hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk..easy-peasy..as the Hotel has a shuttle service which I'm told is advisable to take after dark or 5pm!
The staff at the Hotel are very polite and helpful..always with the smiles and a "good morning, evening or good night"....
Would i recommend the Royale...yeppo and I'd go back again...and again....and again!

Room Tip: Try and get a Harbor view room...go in Winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAngryAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I could have honestly carried on reading as you write with such enthusiasm and warmth I thought I was re-living your stay :-).

Thank you for your honest opinion. I am glad that you truly enjoyed your stay and that you would definitely recommend us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Sky Bar. I assure you we are busy with a revamp of this area and we do have improvement plans in place. The view is simply stunning up there and we want to enhance the service offered.

Regarding the restaurant, we have launched a Brand new restaurant called the Banting Kitchen. This opened on Monday 15th August for our hotel guests. Next time you are staying with us, I would love to hear your feedback as I assure you it is now a lot more than 'Just' a restaurant.

Once again thanks very much for your support of our hotel.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    324
    146
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
489
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a very good stay at this hotel.I had asked for twin beds as I was travelling with mom and when we arrived the beds were there!We had a single room apartment with lounge and kitchen and everything was spotless and in good working order.I found the service to be excellent..from the concierge who met us at the front door,the guy that parked our car when we stopped at the curb each time as well as the front office staff all reacted immediately,solved our problems and were very friendly.. .We wanted to go to Beluga and it was immediately arranged for us to be taken and fetched at our convenience,we wanted wifi..no problems,,spa reservation done immediately...restaurant reservations done immediately.The Royale is very well situated,near to everything like the Waterfront,restaurants and Seapoint as well as being very easy to get onto the highway to Stellenbosch etc.We found that the room was nice and quiet,but since(and this is the only negative I can offer)the rooms look out onto the passageway,I think that when the hotel is full,noise can be a problem.We had a meal at their restaurant which prides itself on their steaks and it was superb!! All in all a very nice stay and the cost was very reasonable in comparison to some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Trying to obtain some sort of royalist experience, which feels so eighties and really quite embarrassing. Upon arrival they actually have a gong-gong which they use whilst calling out the guests surname and they will call you Lord and Lady... OMG

We stayed in a business suite which was very big, but big in a strange way, since it had two large bedrooms and there were only two of us. The suite was rather clean, yet unfortunately we found nasty hair in the bathtub. The furniture is worn down and the walls could use some fresh painting.

It is a big hotel with lots of rooms, which makes it feel quite impersonal and that’s really a shame. For instance you need to keep a card with your room number with you at all times (besides the room key) as a proof you’re actually staying there. And I mean, come on, the Cape Grace has more rooms, yet still they make you feel like a special guest and don’t need to use cheap acts like that.

The door lock fell off the first night as we got back from dinner and we couldn’t come out of our room, which is not very nice considering it was on the 7th floor with no other way out. We called reception, they sent a maintenance guy who just screwed it back on and told us to go to sleep with no worries. The next morning it came off again. We called them again and they promised to fix it. The next day it came off yet again and we told reception on our way out and they promised to fix it. By the time we got home it was our fourth and last night and it came to the point where it became ridiculous how bad they handled the whole situation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very good hotel, great location.
I got a family room (2 bedrooms apartment), with great equipment.
Some items that need improve

a) Service - always need ask twice to get an answer (wifi card, eletrical adaptor)
b) In room food service - they were NOT able to send by request correctly all the 4 times that I asked
c) the bed could be better

Room Tip: II had a room with view to the main street in front of the hotel and the noise is quite high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Salomoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel to stay im cape town. Very warm and helpful staff. The travel desk was very helpful. We were travelling with kids therefore the spacious rooms were fantastic. I would defiently stay here again. Overall fantatic stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaheeda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We'd been 3 weeks in SA and this was our final 6 days. There were 6 of us in our party and we managed to secure a 3 bed apartment within the hotel which still gave you access to the hotel facilities but total independence in the apartment. Even the wifi was our own! The apartment was stunning with great views of the waterfront and the standard of cleanliness was excellent. There was also a hotel car which freely ferried you around the City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENGLANDMAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were here for six nights and really enjoyed it. The room was quite spacious and homey. We had a wrap around balcony with four sets of French doors allowing in light and giving us great views. The staff was polite and helpful, but not everything worked in the building. The location was great because we could walk everywhere and there were a number of good restaurants just a five minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. The pool is not heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing