We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good stay ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Good stay and very nice staff. A bit of. Self catering feel but the room a very well kept all the same. Request mini bar if possible as we never had however ended up in the city. Wouldn't recommend if you want the full hotel service but if you looking for luxury with too much of the perks then this is the place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeeTPiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    324
    146
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
489
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was a nice hotel. More like 3 and a half points.. It had nice rooms, however the windows were either badly fitted or cheap quality, since in my suite, you could hear the street and the people quite audibly.

The room was very cool.

However WiFi was horrible. You needed codes that costs R300 for 1 GB. Every time you press standby on your phone you would have to retype the username and password. Also the 1GB was used up way to quickly. I'm pretty sure I only used like 500MB max before the code ran out. Very dissapointing.

Also, the hydraulics of the elevator were messed up, so the hallways and lobby smelled horribly of rotten eggs.

However the staff was very friendly and helpful and also the location was great! :)

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dxb-felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, especially your positive comments about our staff and service.
I am sorry that we did not meet your full expectations on this occasion but glad that you did enjoy your stay in general. We taken thoroughly investigated each of your comments.

As you have noted we do provide complimentary wifi access and yes this is capped to a certain amount, anything more is chargeable. We do believe that the amount offered complimentary is more than enough for most of our guests & I am sorry that this was not the case for you. We will continue to monitor this with our guests.
In reference to your comments regarding the lifts and the smell, I assure you the issue has been addressed. It was actually due to flooding from the mountain during the heavy rains and the issue has been resolved.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you would consider coming back to stay with us, should you be in Cape Town again.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel was great experience i actually was in Cape Town for work and found it a nice experience here! rooms are spacious with all extras that you would need. Only thing is you will need to catch taxis in the evening as its not walking distance to shops and beaches etc...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana_Bejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always encouraging to read such lovely reviews about our hotel, staff and service.

In reference to your comment about the use taxi's in the evening, we do prefer our guests to avail of the complimentary shuttle service to take you to anywhere you would like to go. The waterfront is a 7minute straight walk from the hotel and we can arrange someone to guide you there.

Once again thank you for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimmyc217
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Huge fantastic suite, with separate bedroom, bathroom, and large kitchen with all top appliances, inc. dishwasher, washing machine, fridge freezer, micro, and all top appliances. All top class furnishing and a nice roof top terrace sky bar overlooking the city with small pool. Well worth a visit, also 10-15 min walk from V&A waterfront. Top class

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyc217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
WOW what a stunning review you have given us. Thank you kindly.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Thanks for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelled July 2014 with my wife and 2 teenage girls. Had booked a 2 bedrooom suite and got upgraded to a villa which was absolutely gorgeous. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Any minor issues that arose were taken care of promptly and taken care of with a smile. They went above and beyond with every request including restaurant reservations and arranging transportation. There are several terrific restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. While I didn't think it was safe to walk from the hotel to the waterfront with the family, the waterfront was only a short cab ride away. The Cape Royale's rooms provide a lot more space than your typical hotel and having kitchen facilities is an added bonus. It was a great choice for our family and I can't imagine there is a better price to quality option so close to the waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
WOW what a great review you have given us here on Trip Advisor. Thank you such.
It is very encouraging for all the team to read such positive comments and learn that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar & the team at Cape Royale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

N-I-C-E Hotel.
Looks very elegant from the street with the mountains behind it and it is better still inside! Take time to walk around the inside and view the drawings and pictures!
The desk service in signing in was painless, panic-less and as easy as "handing over your credit card for anything broken or abused". We, (there is 3 of us) had booked a self contained suite of 2 bedrooms, kitchen and everything else INCLUDING the dishwasher and washing/drying machine! Both bedrooms had en suites..was a large suite having it's own lounge are and 2 small Juliet balconies over looking the Harbor and stadium!! Could only hear a very small amount of bar music noise whilst lying in the comfy queen beds on the 4th floor...that is because I wanted to see if I could actually hear any street noise of the vehicles going past....not a worry in the world....it was Noddy-time...and I was off to sleep land!
Breakfast was included in our tariff which by the way the dining area is on the ground floor....the breakfast food and staff were never the same for the 5 days we were there having breakfast and at times the hot food was from quick to "out chasing the eggs from the fowl yard"....I've been told the restaurant at night is "just....that...JUST" in other words its JUST!!
The Cocktail room...on the roof is a leased out affair...I don't know what all the fuss was about the Cocktail Room cause it was very ordinary...matter of fact it was piss-poor we only had 1 drink there and then went back to our suite... I had a better time "catching a cold!" Forget it!
There is a Pub about 20 meters up the road..does a roaring trade in great pub food and beers as the pasta place about 4 doors up...one night we took take away and had it in our suite with some wine we bought...very civilized we were...except for the washing up!
Be warned if you want to wash your clothes in the washing and drying machine you will have to pay for powder (no biggie cause you get your monies worth) and a full cycle on the machine can take up to 2 hrs...great to set and go down to the Quay for the day.
The waterfront from this hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk..easy-peasy..as the Hotel has a shuttle service which I'm told is advisable to take after dark or 5pm!
The staff at the Hotel are very polite and helpful..always with the smiles and a "good morning, evening or good night"....
Would i recommend the Royale...yeppo and I'd go back again...and again....and again!

Room Tip: Try and get a Harbor view room...go in Winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAngryAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I could have honestly carried on reading as you write with such enthusiasm and warmth I thought I was re-living your stay :-).

Thank you for your honest opinion. I am glad that you truly enjoyed your stay and that you would definitely recommend us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Sky Bar. I assure you we are busy with a revamp of this area and we do have improvement plans in place. The view is simply stunning up there and we want to enhance the service offered.

Regarding the restaurant, we have launched a Brand new restaurant called the Banting Kitchen. This opened on Monday 15th August for our hotel guests. Next time you are staying with us, I would love to hear your feedback as I assure you it is now a lot more than 'Just' a restaurant.

Once again thanks very much for your support of our hotel.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a very good stay at this hotel.I had asked for twin beds as I was travelling with mom and when we arrived the beds were there!We had a single room apartment with lounge and kitchen and everything was spotless and in good working order.I found the service to be excellent..from the concierge who met us at the front door,the guy that parked our car when we stopped at the curb each time as well as the front office staff all reacted immediately,solved our problems and were very friendly.. .We wanted to go to Beluga and it was immediately arranged for us to be taken and fetched at our convenience,we wanted wifi..no problems,,spa reservation done immediately...restaurant reservations done immediately.The Royale is very well situated,near to everything like the Waterfront,restaurants and Seapoint as well as being very easy to get onto the highway to Stellenbosch etc.We found that the room was nice and quiet,but since(and this is the only negative I can offer)the rooms look out onto the passageway,I think that when the hotel is full,noise can be a problem.We had a meal at their restaurant which prides itself on their steaks and it was superb!! All in all a very nice stay and the cost was very reasonable in comparison to some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing