We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super helpful staff and that's it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super helpful staff and that's it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

When I first enter the Hotel I said WOW it looks luxurious. 2 days later $200 were stolen from my bag that was in the safe !! Until now this incident could happen anywhere but the hotel reaction was disappointing. They said the safe was open from the log tracking readings. Even though, the money was not on the table nor on the floor, it was in an envelop inside the bag and I had $1000 and $200 were stolen!!!

I opened a case with the police after I lost hope in hotel security.

I wish they will pay more attention to security and guests safety as they are classified 5 star hotel !!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    322
    145
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
486
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August. On the positive side, the hotel is in a good location close to the waterfront and the suite we stayed in was lovely, spacious and with great views. Also, the vast majority of folks who work there couldn't be nicer or more helpful. On the downside, our suite had lots of small but irritating problems which were in large, promptly fixed, but some took days to address so if this happens to you, write a list and have them all addressed at once. Also, beware of hotel arranged tours. While the guide was nice and knowledgeable, the tours do NOT include tickets, tolls etc, even though they charge a lot per person. All in all I would recommend it though.

Room Tip: There are rooms and suites facing the ocean and the mountains behind. The front views are amazing bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, null, Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The cape royals is set in the wonderful green point just a quick walk to the v and a and has many bars and eatery's nearby. The hotel is very near the Cape Town stadium and the service and rooms are amazing there are spa facilities available as well as a helpful concierge service! Best hotel in the Cape!!!!!

Room Tip: Book early for a great deal!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thanks for your kind comments about our concierge team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Pretty hotel in a great location.
The staff try hard to be amongst the finest in the business, but aren't there yet I'm afraid.
One concierge we dealt with did not answer the questions asked and gave us no confidence in his advice. He also failed to follow up on restaurant bookings as promised.
Room was pleasant but noisy due to echoing-nature of the internal hotel design. No natural light in the bedroom made waking up at the right time virtually impossible.
The newly re-opened restaurant (Banting), did a great job with our breakfasts. Some of the best hotel breakfasts we have ever had actually, and we've a few!
This is not a bad hotel, but underwhelming given it's grandeur, reputation, and location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your comments. I am glad you enjoyed our new restaurant The Banting Kitchen.

Please accept our apologies on behalf of the concierge team for letting you down on this occasion and for not providing the high standard of service which is normally provided. I assure you this has been addressed.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback.

I hope your journey home to Australia is safe and pleasant.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Good stay and very nice staff. A bit of. Self catering feel but the room a very well kept all the same. Request mini bar if possible as we never had however ended up in the city. Wouldn't recommend if you want the full hotel service but if you looking for luxury with too much of the perks then this is the place!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeeTPiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was a nice hotel. More like 3 and a half points.. It had nice rooms, however the windows were either badly fitted or cheap quality, since in my suite, you could hear the street and the people quite audibly.

The room was very cool.

However WiFi was horrible. You needed codes that costs R300 for 1 GB. Every time you press standby on your phone you would have to retype the username and password. Also the 1GB was used up way to quickly. I'm pretty sure I only used like 500MB max before the code ran out. Very dissapointing.

Also, the hydraulics of the elevator were messed up, so the hallways and lobby smelled horribly of rotten eggs.

However the staff was very friendly and helpful and also the location was great! :)

Room Tip: Choose rooms not facing the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dxb-felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, especially your positive comments about our staff and service.
I am sorry that we did not meet your full expectations on this occasion but glad that you did enjoy your stay in general. We taken thoroughly investigated each of your comments.

As you have noted we do provide complimentary wifi access and yes this is capped to a certain amount, anything more is chargeable. We do believe that the amount offered complimentary is more than enough for most of our guests & I am sorry that this was not the case for you. We will continue to monitor this with our guests.
In reference to your comments regarding the lifts and the smell, I assure you the issue has been addressed. It was actually due to flooding from the mountain during the heavy rains and the issue has been resolved.

Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you would consider coming back to stay with us, should you be in Cape Town again.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel was great experience i actually was in Cape Town for work and found it a nice experience here! rooms are spacious with all extras that you would need. Only thing is you will need to catch taxis in the evening as its not walking distance to shops and beaches etc...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana_Bejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriJabaar, General Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is always encouraging to read such lovely reviews about our hotel, staff and service.

In reference to your comment about the use taxi's in the evening, we do prefer our guests to avail of the complimentary shuttle service to take you to anywhere you would like to go. The waterfront is a 7minute straight walk from the hotel and we can arrange someone to guide you there.

Once again thank you for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing