We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Truly Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Having stayed at Cape Royale shortly after the property opened, I’m clearly late in offering my review. However, I felt it was important to echo what many of the other reviewers have already stated: Cape Royale is truly spectacular.

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit overlooking Green Point. The unit was very large and wonderfully appointed, with two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a full kitchen and dining area, and a spacious living room. They clearly thought through the details as they were building the property – everything was well laid out and elegantly decorated.

We also found the hotel to be well situated for tourists. It’s only a short walk to the V&A waterfront and an easy commute to the town center. Additionally, the hotel offers a very convenient and reasonably priced car service to take you to different parts of the city – we took advantage of this throughout our stay.

Our experiences with the concierge, however, were really what made Cape Royale stand out. Madnee at the concierge desk dedicated himself to ensuring our visit to Cape Town was enjoyable. To say he went above and beyond would be an understatement. He helped us with every aspect of our trip, from making tour and transportation arrangements to restaurant recommendations and reservations. If we had a problem, he personally took the responsibility upon himself to resolve it – even if the problem had nothing to do with Cape Royale. Though we’ve stayed in many five star establishments, this was a level of service that we’ve never experienced, before or since.

We’re looking forward to returning to Cape Royale in the future – both the hotel and Cape Town are worth the trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    910
    322
    145
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
486
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon in November 2010. As we reached the hotel our car doors were opened by a doorman in a top hat!!! Very British :)

The large marble lobby with exquisite chandeliers took our breath away as we were quickly checked in by some very warm and friendly staff. We headed up to our two bedroom suite where a trail of rose petals led upto our bedroom passing through a huge kitchen on the right, a 6 seater dining table, a living room to seat atleast 10 people. The bathroom in the master bedroom had a tub and shower where as the second bedroom has just a shower.

The room was spacious and well appointed with an entire home theatre and a FM radio tuned into a charming jazz station. We were here for four nights living like lords in our castle with our personal butler at our beck and call to unpack our luggage, do the laundry, bring us food....whatever else...

The hotel has a wonderful restaurant called 1800 Grill, at which unfortunately we did not eat any dinner at as we were always out, but breakfasts here were always wonderful!

Staff here is very helpful and friendly and very informative about the places in and around Cape Town. We got some very nice recommendations for meals at Africa Cafe and The Green Dolphin from the concierge.

We highly recommend this hotel for all those who wish to be close to the Waterfront ( 5 mins walk) but away from the hustle bustle.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Best service ever! Breakfast was excellent and the cab service something we have never seen before. The 2 bedroom suite was very good except the beds a bit too small and not so comfort. The wireless web was working, but slowly. The swimming pool and bar on the roof were beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritva189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

My new husband and I stayed here on the first part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with fabulous views of the beautiful stadium and waterfront area. The suite was amazing, tastefully decorated and very spacious. The staff could not have been more helpful and lovely. Easy walk to waterfront and downtown although you can also use the free shuttle service. Concierge went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable. Fantastic breakfasts- don't think you could find a better hotel to stay in in Cape Town.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L0u79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Very comfortable and classy place, with a wonderful steak restaurant. The location is near the waterfront, but a bit far from downtown. They do shuttle you to town for free though. Very comfortable

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stayed in the beautiful Cape Royale Hotel with my wife in January this year - what a stunning hotel experience ! Everything about this hotel is complete 5 STAR ! From the moment you pull up outside you know you have found something very special. The concierge & reception staff look after your every need. Then you enter your room & it's simply beautiful with everything you could possibly want. Pure luxury, beautiful decor, extremely luxurious bed & very spacious with every modern convenience. It is located in the very up & coming Greenpoint district right opposite the stunning new World Cup Stadium only a few minutes walk from the V&A Waterfront. It has beautiful restaurants in-house, the most stunning Spa, underground parking etc. Hotels just don't get any better than this - ENJOY it, it's worth it !!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

The Cape Royale Hotel offered a beautiful luxury suite experience on Green Point Road. As it is close to the Waterfront and the city centre, the Cape Royale was both convenient yet out of the way. The spacious suites are very well appointed and fulfill everybody's needs. The breakfast is delicious. Try the eggs Benedict. The gym could offer a bit more variety. Will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMitchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing