We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life is what you make it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Life is what you make it”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed for 20 days in November
after reading all reviews I agree I also complained about about the water and other small issues but the good things way outnumbered the bad
my wife and 2 kids loved it and all the staff were great

they installled a tv by the roof pool bar so I could watch the nedbank golf and when we booked to go out for the day it was a day to be remembered all arranged at the concierge thank you

i felt like I should complain just to get a free stay but I cannot lie it was grea

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezaleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    325
    147
    41
    53
See reviews for
531
489
38
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

If you're looking for a relaxing stay and are a couple or business traveller, then this is a good option for you. Located a stone's throw away from the mighty impressive new Cape Point stadium; on the much improved Main Road, a short walk from Cape Quarter.

The hotel is very smart and the suites are excellent. From a value perspective I found that this was one of the better rates going, within this grade hotel and summing up the other traveller comments, thought it would be a good choice for a one night city stay... which is was!

The rooftop pool/bar is excellent - small, but well kitted out with nice daybeds to laze around in and great views. The hotel taxi/chauffeur is also excellent and at your call. We utilised this service (complementary) several times which made getting around in the evening a joy!

If there was a negative, I didn't feel restaurant service was all that great - whilst the hotel staff were excellent and very friendly, the restaurant staff need perking up a bit! Breakfast was a painful experience which took far too long, when there really isn't any need. It should be simple... but it was overly complicated. There are plenty of small cafe's close by on the Main Rd... in hindsight, i would utilise them in future.

But hey, this was just a minor blemish on an otherwise excellent experience.

As a recap... families... this is more equipped for couples/business needs.
Cape Royale - have a little chat with your restaurant staff...
Couples/business travellers - relax, unwind at the rooftop pool and travel around the city in style, courtesy of the taxi/chauffeur.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We must have stayed at a different Hotel to the other people who have reviewed this place because I cannot echo any of the good comments in the reviews!
We arrived in Cape Town as the first destination on our honeymoon. Whilst the reception at Cape Royale was efficient it couldn't be called friendly. The first problem we encountered was the key to our room wouldn't open the door-clearly it was the wrong key but they couldn't find the right key. So for the first day we had to be let in and out of our room by the Hotel staff. In the evening, someone came to replace the entire lock as they still couldn't find the key.
Items in the room didn't work, such as the TV remote and the hairdryer. When we had a shower the first evening, my husband took the shower first and when I came to use it straight afterwards there was no hot water. We were informed that each room has a certain size tank of hot water and my husband had obviously had too long a shower and used all the hot water. I have never heard of such a strange excuse from a 5 star hotel! We stayed in a further 5 hotels in South Africa and ALL of them managed to provide enough water for two consecutive showers!
Probably the worst incident was a member of the hotel staff entering our room whilst we were getting dressed in the morning with a key and without knocking. He told us he was advised the room was empty. We were not checking out until the following day.
Under the veneer of the opulent reception I found the hotel to be woefully less than a 5 star experience. Room service was stone cold on arrival and not what we ordered, the breakfast in the morning was 'average' and served on tablecloths with stains and condiments that were sticky and not cleaned after previous usage. The upper floor of the hotel was stil being built.
The whole hotel had a Travel Lodge feel to it with trolleys being rolled down the corridors at all hours of the night and with the marble floors and glass barriers the sound echoed all around the hotel making a quiet nights sleep a challenge.
I have not one gripe about ANY of the other hotels we stayed in whilst in South Africa. I have also stayed in many 5 star luxury hotels in the world to know that Cape Royale is not one of them. Also, how it can advertise itself as a spa I don't know! It has the smallest outdoor pool I have ever seem and a room where you can have some treatments-hardly worthy of calling it a spa!
One redeeming feature was the free taxi service offered by the hotel which we took advantage of and received a really warm and friendly introduction to the local's who were the drivers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriMallett, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Residence as your preferred hotel during your recent visit to Cape Town. And may I also thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences. Please accept my apologies that we did not arrange to discuss your experiences during your stay at the hotel.

I am sorry that your expectations were not met on this stay. Our guest feedback is one way we can ensure we have achieved our aim, and address anything we can alter to meet, if not exceed expectations of all guests. Please be assured that I have catalogued each item for departmental Managers so as to address. These issues will be a focus at the next management meeting to put actions in place to avoid a repeat.

As a gesture, I would like to offer you a Complimentary stay with us inclusive of bed & breakfast. I hope given the chance you will return to reinstate your faith in the Hotel.

Should you decide to return, please feel free to contact me directly to make the necessary arrangements so as to ensure a marked improvement is noted. I can be contacted either directly at the hotel by telephone: 021 4300 500 or via email on terri.mallett@caperoyale.co.za.

Once again, I thank you for your comments, as it is only through such feedback that we can continually improve. I look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel and Residence in the future.

With Kindest Regards
Terri Mallett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed here over New Year and had a great stay.

The rooms are really big (we had a two bedroom family suite) which was fantastic, especially with children to have two bedrooms, a well equiped kitchen and a good size lounge area. The roof top pool is nice, but small for the size of the hotel and the seating area was very full some days. You are able to walk to the V&A but we didn't try, the hotel has a courtesy shuttle and car and there were always taxis available outside (about 30 Rand one way). We checked in late afternoon and our room was not ready so they put us in another room until it was and we received a late check out until 7pm. We did not try breakfast and can't comment on room service. The conceirge was really good and very attentive, in fact all the staff were very friendly. Parking was easy in their underground car park.

The only two downsides we encountered were finding the hotel in the first place, which we complained about on arrival, as we were very fed up with driving by then, and the hotel promised to amend this on their web site as it is totally inaccurate. Also, room service was very late some days (sometimes later than the turn down!). We did complain and they were earlier the next day and blamed being at full capacity (no excuse but nevertheless the service improved).

We would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Having stayed at Cape Royale shortly after the property opened, I’m clearly late in offering my review. However, I felt it was important to echo what many of the other reviewers have already stated: Cape Royale is truly spectacular.

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit overlooking Green Point. The unit was very large and wonderfully appointed, with two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a full kitchen and dining area, and a spacious living room. They clearly thought through the details as they were building the property – everything was well laid out and elegantly decorated.

We also found the hotel to be well situated for tourists. It’s only a short walk to the V&A waterfront and an easy commute to the town center. Additionally, the hotel offers a very convenient and reasonably priced car service to take you to different parts of the city – we took advantage of this throughout our stay.

Our experiences with the concierge, however, were really what made Cape Royale stand out. Madnee at the concierge desk dedicated himself to ensuring our visit to Cape Town was enjoyable. To say he went above and beyond would be an understatement. He helped us with every aspect of our trip, from making tour and transportation arrangements to restaurant recommendations and reservations. If we had a problem, he personally took the responsibility upon himself to resolve it – even if the problem had nothing to do with Cape Royale. Though we’ve stayed in many five star establishments, this was a level of service that we’ve never experienced, before or since.

We’re looking forward to returning to Cape Royale in the future – both the hotel and Cape Town are worth the trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon in November 2010. As we reached the hotel our car doors were opened by a doorman in a top hat!!! Very British :)

The large marble lobby with exquisite chandeliers took our breath away as we were quickly checked in by some very warm and friendly staff. We headed up to our two bedroom suite where a trail of rose petals led upto our bedroom passing through a huge kitchen on the right, a 6 seater dining table, a living room to seat atleast 10 people. The bathroom in the master bedroom had a tub and shower where as the second bedroom has just a shower.

The room was spacious and well appointed with an entire home theatre and a FM radio tuned into a charming jazz station. We were here for four nights living like lords in our castle with our personal butler at our beck and call to unpack our luggage, do the laundry, bring us food....whatever else...

The hotel has a wonderful restaurant called 1800 Grill, at which unfortunately we did not eat any dinner at as we were always out, but breakfasts here were always wonderful!

Staff here is very helpful and friendly and very informative about the places in and around Cape Town. We got some very nice recommendations for meals at Africa Cafe and The Green Dolphin from the concierge.

We highly recommend this hotel for all those who wish to be close to the Waterfront ( 5 mins walk) but away from the hustle bustle.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Best service ever! Breakfast was excellent and the cab service something we have never seen before. The 2 bedroom suite was very good except the beds a bit too small and not so comfort. The wireless web was working, but slowly. The swimming pool and bar on the roof were beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritva189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,687 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing