We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and Noisy Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and Noisy Room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we arrived at Sweet Lemon Boutique B&B, my husband and I were a little shocked! Our room was right next to the common dining space, it was tiny and not at all sound proof. We woke up to noise coming from upstairs through the wooden floor boards or coming through our door. Good thing was we stayed out most of the day wandering through beautiful Cape Town but didn't exactly look forward to getting back to the Guesthouse at the end of the day.

It is definitely very conveniently located and we felt safe but perhaps make sure you get the upper storey rooms if you are going to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Priyanka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Priyanka,

We appreciate your review as well your personal comments, which are valuable to us and we would like to take the opportunity to bring some light into the points you raised.

The Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast is a Heritage Protected Building as it is already over 100 years old. We are proud to say, that the original wooden doors and floors are still existing and restored as build in those days.
It is true that the room is closely located to the breakfast area and we do face noise difficulties in winter as we serve breakfast in the quite courtyard at the back of the house during summer. We feel sorry for the inconvenience you experience during your stay, we would have loved to accommodate you and regret you did not approached us.

We thank you for your time to place your comments on tripadvisor.com.

Sunny regards from Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    28
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
48
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

They provide an amazing service: kind and friendly, felt like at home. Great rooms with individual character and ideally located with only ten minutes away from downtown. Love all of them & all of it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ulla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Ulla S.
We would like to thank you for this review, as it is very valuable for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sweet Orange Guesthouse and that you appreciated the kindness of our staff and our stylish rooms.
Thank you again for the comments and we are looking forwards to welcoming you again at our Guesthouses.
Kind regards
Johanna and the entire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The breakfast were absolutely so not fresh!
The shuttle taxi for airport on the day we left came 30 min late!
They even charge us for the wifi.
Felt some kind of irresponsible attitude on their staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Student at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hello Stephanie,

First of all I want to thank you for your time to post a review on our guesthouse.

It’s a pity to hear that you didn’t enjoy the breakfast as we never received any complains. We are always there in the morning to make everybody’s stay as pleasant as it can be. Our staff is even double checking with each individual guest if they enjoyed it and we always make sure that the food on the breakfast table is fresh prepared and our rolls are fetched at the local bakery every morning. Besides that we serve our daily special which the housekeepers make in the guesthouses, we prepare our wild range of egg variation after the guest ordered it with the houskeepers.

Due to traffic and miss communication by the taxi company, your taxi was not there on the dot. But after we called for you, we managed to get you the taxi there as soon as possible. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you had at our guesthouses and hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly, with a lot of tips for visitors, a good breakfast and very good situated in Sea Point. The great breakfast table is an ideal opportunity for all information exchange especially for Cape Town beginners.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joerg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Trainee at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We would like to thank 'Joerg T.' for your review for the Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & breakfast. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that we could provide you with helpful information.

It is the goal of every team member to make our guest feel like having a home away from home.We hope that the remaining days were as pleasant as your stay with us and that ypu carry beautiful memories of Cape Town back to Germany.

Kind Regards
Frenk and the entire team
of Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

LOVED my stay at Sweet Lemon!! The host, Therry, and his staff members were extremely friendly and on the ball - they catered to my every whim! Location wise you could not get more perfect being walking distance from the beach, shops and restaurants. I found the rooms to be eclectically decorated in a tasteful way and so comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding and we were greeted by smiling friendly faces despite being so early in the morning. Thank-you so much for making my stay so pleasant - I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We thank you, KatLMason, for your review for the Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast. Your comment is really valuable to us.

We try to create a home away from home for our guests and serve a delightful breakfast for a good start into the day.

We are continuously striving to provide the best service for our guests and we hope to welcome you again at Sweetest Guesthouses!

Kind regards
Olivia and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I'm from Cape Town, and stayed in the Sweet Lemon B&B for 4 months. In this time I had an amazing stay here. The B&B is situated in a very quiet street, but close to shops, restaurants and the ocean!
Service was always of great quality, and the B&B was kept very clean.
It is also a very safe location, being able to walk anywhere in the surrounding areas at any time of day.
I can highly recommend a stay at this B&B.
Chris

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We would like to thank Chris L. for his time and the effort to place this review and add his personal comments, as it is very valuable for us.

We appreciate his review and our staff appreciates as well his comment, as we constantly strive to accomodate each guests peronal needs.

Kind Regards
Olivia for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Great views, great staff and service. Operational manager is such a friendly person. What a character. Definetly coming back again. The wines are amazing. Haute Cabrière I fell in love with this wine. There sparkling wine is also very good. I've fallen in with Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rorycapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We Thank Rorycapon for the effort to place the review, and we are happy that you had a good time at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast and enjoyed our great wines.

Your review is valuable for us and we are looking forward welcoming you again at the Sweetest Guesthouses soon.

Kind Regards
Olivia for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#62 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Orange Guest House
Sweet Orange Guest House
#55 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
Sweet Olive Guesthouse
#49 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
Sweet Berries Holiday Houses
#85 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leeuwenzee Guest House
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Bay Guest House
Anchor Bay Guest House
#39 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 12 Bertram Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast offers much more than just crisp sheets, cosy beds and comfortable rooms. Sweet Lemon guesthouse reflects the very same stylish but casual lifestyle that Sea Point has to offer. Immerse yourself in this chic setting complete with retro vintage furniture and design. Ambient lighting and splashes of colour adds to the harmony of this home, warming each of the 6 unique and tastefully decorated rooms.Whether you have decided to have a laid-back day or need the perfect spot to wind down from your many adventures in our beautiful city, the garden and spacious pool-area will bring you all that you need for pure relaxation and comfort.At Sweetest Guesthouses we give you more than money can buy. Not only will you be surrounded by a stylish and comfortable ambience but you will also be provided with the best of high quality service and specialized attention making your stay with us an event to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing