We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best service”
Review of Circa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Circa Hotel
Ranked #71 of 156 Cape Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After walking around and having to ring the hotel we finally found the enterance which is actually on the square with no drive way, the recpetion was a dodgy bar with no real enterance, we checked in with a bad feeling in our stomachs about the dodgy looking hotel. We were on the top floor where once we got inside we saw a very spacious apartment which was modern however as we wanted to watch the world cup we went straight to the tv to find there was no batteries in the remote, we then went to call reception to find the phone didn't work! we had to walk all the way down stairs to ask for batteries where we were told to go back to our room and maintence would be there soon. The maintence lady brought us batteries, picked up the phone put it down picked it up again and said 'yep its broken'. GREAT! We then found that our hot water had not been turned on NOR our fridge and when questioning this at reception we were told they had to change our rooms because of a flood and no one had pre pared the room.

Breakfast is in the hotel across the way so you have to get a reciept from reception and walk over.. a positive to this is that this hotel has free WIFI

Internet is not free, not even in the Lobby area and you can only connect one device when you purchase which is a waste of time for an international traveller.

If you want to sleep past 7am don't bother staying here as the council workers do there warms up chants every morning just near the hotel and it echoes all through.

We also had trouble wit our shower water pressure as when in the shower it would dull down for about 10 seconds and then go back to normal, this happened all throughout your shower.

The staff then became a little more helpful throughout the trip when asking about booking shark diving tours and trips to V&A Water front and Robben Island. They also moved their reception to a new desk and no longer then bar

Overall, not a great stay at all

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tkinnear1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stay here for 5 nts as the second leg of a twin centered holiday, having stayed in cape town before i knew this property was central.

Now prior to going to this hotel i knew about ongoing refurbs and was told via email from the hotel that this would be completed by the time of my stay,it wasn't, fortunately we had room 702 which is described as the penthouse on the top floor so we had no refurb noise interfereance.

We arrived at the hotel after travelling for around 12hrs, reception gave us our keys etc,we had 2 pieces of luaggage,there is no bell boy or help on hand, so we carried them to our room.

Our room was large with a large open plan kitchen living area,large double bed with an open plan bathroom/toilet ?? we found some issues with the cleanliness of the shower area and some general areas which needed some TLC attention,but on the whole it met our needs. Rooms/hotel could benefit from having bath robes and slippers available to guests (these issues have been submitted to the hotel directly).

The hotel is currently having work done to incorporate a breakfast/restaraunt area on the ground floor with a new reception area, this will only enhance this hotels appeal.

Hotel is only around 10 mins walk to the V & A waterfront with all the restaraunts and bars and shopping availabilities.

This hotel is in a great location to explore capetown,and considering how much nearby hotels were charging for the same dates this was a bargain.

I found cape town again to be a wonderful place with so much to see and do,when out and about i found that price wise compared to the UK if was far more reasonable, food and drinks were exceptional at the places we ate or drank.

Would i return.

Yes.

Room Tip: try and get the top floor penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence9035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Circa on the Square Hotel in Cape Town in January 2014 and would recommend it to anybody without hesitation. It is luxurious and yet good value. The staff are very professional and at the same time appropriately helpful and friendly. The location is excellent for exploring central Cape Town by walking and very easy to explore all the major attractions by car. I liked it so much that I intend to stay there again in January 2015 if there is availability!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KobinaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

From the beginning, very professional, helpful and courteous.

The moment you step it delivers what it promises, luxury and stylish. Close to the popular long street and the waterfront as well as local markets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philstor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Chosen because of proximity to Conference Centre (200m). Slightly hard to find as entrance is in pedestrian square - park opposite Virgin Active Gym to register. Good reception staff, parking easy, wifi daily cost (only one device). Huge apartment - large lounge, big kitchen with pantry, extra toilet, small study with desk, huge bedroom and nice bathroom (no door so do your no.2's in the other bathroom...) Very little supplied in terms of amenities - advice is go to Woolworths at the Waterfront and stock up. Exceptional value as much cheaper than conference hotels. We used the new Cape Town bus service and found it safe and convenient - I see the Airport bus stops very close by- and we walked up to Greenmarket Square, and drove further afield.

Room Tip: Penthouse is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for ten days while last in Cape Town and I can recommend it very highly. The rooms, which in truth are one bedroom flats with full kitchen facilities, are well appointed and well serviced. The cleanliness is immaculate. The front desk, manned 24/7, offers good and attentive service-all for under $100 US/night. There is nothing luxurious or fancy-fussy about this hotel; if you want that sort of thing there are other hotels (Westin, Cape Sun) in the area for that. Personally, I do not generally want or need that level of pampering on most of my trips. Also, there is no restaurant. The surrounding area however offers a large selection of eateries from humble but good street shanties to storefronts to sushi, Cape curry and other fare. There are also a number of food markets hard by with which to feed the hotel room kitchen fires. During my stay the hotel began what promise to be rather extensive renovations to the lobby/reception area and entire ground floor complex. These, although associated with inevitable and understandable minor inconveniences such as lift accessibility problems and the like, seem to be handled smoothly with a minimum of disruption. I cannot wait to return to see the results! For an OUTSTANDING stay in a very homelike atmosphere in Foreshore Cape Town I can unreservedly recommend Circa on the Square hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is almost the simplest hotel I have seen. The room was large enough to move around, everything was working apart from the fridge giving a constant low-frequency humming noise. I had to switch it off during the night. Pen and note pad were absent. There were tea bags but the maid forgot to replace them when they were used. They could not offer breakfast, but there are some coffee shops around. The hotel charges you 70 rands for internet use and there is not free internet in the lobby either. I was saved by the congress center. While I was there the reception was relocated. Although I stayed two days less than intended, they charged me also for these days (Reference: booking.com). On the plus side: Circa is near the international congress centre and the personnell is exceptionally nice. This hotel should have only 3 stars, thus booking.com is misleading.

Room Tip: Stay at Park Inn, a hotel quite near
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter Andras C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
Wish U Were Here
#68 of 156 in Cape Town
138 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#45 of 156 in Cape Town
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 On Varneys
#33 of 156 in Cape Town
156 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town
524 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa Hotel

Address: 14 Jetty Street | Roggebaai, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Circa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa on the Square provides stylish, modern living in spacious apartment style accommodation, is just 200 metres from the CTICC and 2 km from the V&A Waterfront and Greenpoint Stadium. Circa apartments include fully equipped kitchens, seating areas with plasma TVs and home theatre systems, as well as luxuriously furnished bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms open to city views and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Circa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing