We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“With so much choice elsewhere, why go here?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Sofia

Cafe Sofia
Ranked #870 of 1,131 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“With so much choice elsewhere, why go here?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

It's a shame. Every Cafe Sofia I've visited has had amateur waiters, greasy bitter coffee and never has a majority of items available. You might be lucky as the prices are reasonable but you're better off almost anywhere else. Finally, don't feel bad about walking out as it happens a lot.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    10
    3
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We visited the cafe Sofia in blouberg beach on a Sunday lunchtime.... so it is winter but that is no excuse for such indifferent service, very mediocre food etc! The three of us agreed to share the 20 tapas however as we went through the menus we were told that practically everything out of the approx 25 choices were not on!! At this stage we should have left but didn't and ended up ordering the few items that were available and an eggs benedict. Not even going to waste my energy commenting on what we got......NEVER again!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catbesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very cheap, but food only OK, and service VERY slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Sunday brunch crowd here kept a skeleton staff hopping. The result was very slow service, lots of uncleared tables around, etc. The food was adequate.

This all would have been much more disappointing but for the very cheap prices and the fact that the staff was smart about filling drink orders quickly!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DorkySwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I love the tapas kInda menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Your ambience and food rocks guys!!! Keep it up!! Be close to lady hamilton was a plus for me as i had my breakfast and dinner in this world class cafe. Should i go back to capetown, lady hamilton and cafe sofia are a must visit. Great service and excellent service. Really had fun!!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DominicM969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tapas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Ok tapas. Did'nt have what I wanted on the menu available. Tapas were ok. Slow service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sofia also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing