We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royale Eatery

Royale Eatery
Ranked #22 of 1,136 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Burger was good, but nothing special. not the best one as everyone saying, just ok.

Service was not great as well. Waiter was no where to be seen all the time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    202
    44
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited Cape Town in Feb this year, and after several recommendations from friends, we decided to eat dinner here - there were a total of 5 people in our group.

I have tried many different burgers in many different places around the world, and can easily say these guys had the ABSOLUTE BEST ones. I had the traditional cheese burger with SWEET POTATO FRIES..... To DIE for.

Thanks for a great meal, and great cocktail jugs too!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LodgeTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best burger on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

They have the best burger sandwiches on earth, it's very juicy and saucy! I loved every bit of it, will definitely go there again and recommend it to everyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Po87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great burgers ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Passed this restaurant and was attracted by the cosy interior so decided to eat here. The menu looks great and consists of different chapters. They have burgers, pizzas, salades and drinks. I chose a mozzarella burger with salad and a mango and mint smoothie. It tasted really good! Service is nice as well.

Helpful?
Thank esther406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We checked out Royale Eatery while on vacation in South Africa. It attracts a local hipster (mainly white) crowd along with some tourists like ourselves. My wife had an ostrich burger with beet relish, which is something we don't find back home. I had a more predictable (but excellent) cheeseburger. Fun place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royale Eatery also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Royale Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing