We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belgian treat”
Review of Den Anker

Den Anker
Ranked #110 of 1,299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 9 May 2017

This was just a welcome break from the same-same places along the edge of Victoria Wharf. We were in the mood for Belgian beer and food. I had my favourite beer, Kwak, which was correctly served in the traditional glass. Perfect with fresh and tasty moules frites. An excellent meal with perfect service from Desiree who advised us on our choices,

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 431 of 2,524 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

On our recent trip to Cape Town we enjoyed dinner at Den Anker overlooking the harbour. The restaurant and especially the mussels was recommended by friends which did not disappoint. We had small children with us which was not ideal when fine dining but they enjoyed the fish and chips and we had a really pleasant evening.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank LisaRentzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We visited this restaurant twice for two days and every time regretted it because overeated! :)) Mussels was very tasty, fish was fresh and the service was quick and pleasant. Good place for tourists exploring this area. And above all just next this restaurant there nice souvenirs store.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sergey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Came here for dinner around 6 pm. They agreed to seat us if we left at 7:30 pm for people coming in who had reserved a table. Wasn't an issue for us.

We ordered the Mussels a la Creme for R75, Fish and Chips R145 and 2 pieces of prawns for R32 each. Also got a glass of red wine R75 and a beer for R58. Our total bill for 2 people was R449.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Not our first visit but once again we were more than happy with our impromptu visit. The service was prompt and friendly and the food and beers were of excellent quality - two of us had Carbonnade Flamande (meat and beer stew), our friend's wife had a version of Bouillabaisse (fish and seafood stew) and my wife had Steak Tartare (a mixture of raw steak, egg, tabasco and capers). Even when the restaurant is full there is enough room between tables to avoid feeling cramped or the need to raise your voice to have a conversation. The restaurant has great views of Table Mountain at any time of day.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iain47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Den Anker also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Den Anker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing