We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Like Tapas, You Will Love "Fork"”
Review of Fork Restaurant

Fork Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“If You Like Tapas, You Will Love "Fork"”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We visited Fork on our last night in Cape Town and enjoyed a splendid meal from beginning to end. Since our group of seven was there in the "off season" the restaurant was uncrowded. I can't attest for the ambiance during the South African summer, but for us it was wonderful. Fork is conveniently located on Long Street very near Greenmarket Square. We thoroughly enjoyed Michael as our server and guide. He was superb in all he did to make our last dinner together a special memory for all. His most generous and kind act that made us feel special and well taken care of was to taylor our selections so that the servings of each new "small plate" or tapa was created so that each of us could participate in every selection. The result was that with all 7 of us selecting 2 items, we all were able to feast on 14 different flavor sensations. Our entire experience was first class from the moment we entered until we left. Michael's outgoing personality was only surpassed by the food we eagerly devoured. We would be anxious to return to Fork, should we once again find ourselves in Cape Town. This restaurant is certainly worthy of the highest recommendation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank twowanderers20169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    399
    74
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great first night dinner in Cape Town”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had a great dinner at Fork the day we arrived in town. The wait staff was very helpful and made excellent suggestions including some wonderful wine choices. We raved about it to some people we met the next day and they ended up there the following night and also loved it. Very cozy setting--I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OLCT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
281 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A must for "South African" Tapas”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Make sure to book in advance, especially if you go there on the weekend. Very welcoming staff and service is friendly at all times. Our waiter was very helpful, offering advice on the menu and also providing some recipe details. Food is absolutely amazing, everything we tried was good, from veggies, pasta, meat and sweets... We went there with friends that had a previous positive experience and for sure we will go back and recommend to more friends as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VBNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great tapas restaurant in dowtown Cape Town; go figure!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This restaurant was superb. The wine list was excellent. The make a mean mojito, and the tapas were very good. The atmosphere was nice as well. We really enjoyed this place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas, especially the goats cheese!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice and cozy tapas place on Long Street. Especially recommend the fried goats cheese! Knowledgable and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank KristianGulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fork Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Fork Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing