We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”
Review of Panama Jacks

Panama Jacks
Ranked #80 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the few places where you can still get fresh abalone. Their lobster is also excellent. Food is well prepared. Wait staff is very efficient and very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    247
    86
    55
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brackenfell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good value for money and excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I need to compliment this restaurant, which at first glance looks like a dilapidated cafe in the Harbour! Once you enter it is a totally unexpected surprise as to what great your eyes and person. the staff are friendly, the food is awesome and well priced, and to top it all the wine list is one of the best I've seen in cape Town! They offer good value by the glass wine if you so wish but also then there are those gems which are only found at a restaurant like this. On first glance you would not think so but take 10 minutes to listen to the waiters recommendation and to explore the wine list for your self, to find those hidden gems, then enjoy with the - as we say in South Africa -"lekker kos" You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What an extraordinary restaurant find hidden in the docks at Cape Town!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Driving to Panama Jacks past shipping containers,fork lift trucks,railway sidings and all the flotsom of a working port you come across a dingy wooden shack with flags flying and a very good selection of customers up market motor cars! You are at Panama Jacks.! The welcome is warm and friendly and the lunch menu very well priced. The al a carte menu was more extensive and expensive. Fish and shellfish are their specialities and we were not disappointed-- Fresh , well prepared and presented we ate very well indeed . The wine list is good with good prices too. Certainly worth the detour for that different experience away from the hustle of the Waterfront

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllanCLOndonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Phantastic Seafood - great atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Probably one of the best seefood restaurants I have ever been to! Fresh, great varieties, excellent presentation, great waitress (Lara L). We were six people and had a lot of fun (and a lot of excellent food). The Seafood Platters give a lot value for money. The old shack with all the flags as ceiling gives a very special atmosphere. - As Panama Jacks is located in the Free Harbour area: just in case carry an ID with you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cugash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Something of an institution in CT, this seafood restaurant is housed in an old, shabby looking wooden structure. I had heard so many fabulous reviews about it over the years and eventually gave it a try about a month ago. I was a bit dubious on entering as it really is rather shabby and dusty looking. But I suppose the owners have decided to hang onto its authenticity, hence the appearance. The food was absolutely fantastic. The started salad alone was one of the best I've ever had and by the time we had finished our wonderful shared seafood platter, I could appreciate the rather old world charm. Service was excellent - matured experienced staff. Would highly recommend. For visitors, I would recommend hiring a taxi as it's a bit off the beaten track.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linsyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panama Jacks also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Panama Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing