We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautifully thought out accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Elite de Waterkant
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location and beautifully thought out accommodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I travelled on business down to Cape Town and stayed in the serviced apartment in de Waterkant. Right from the start I was very impressed. One of the team took us up to the apartment, showed us the roof top swimming pool (too cold while we were there but would be lovely in the summer) and even showed us around the shopping centre and recommended a great restaurant (Beluga).
The apartment was very well laid out and everything looked very new and well maintained. Unfortunately the fuses had tripped but, true to form, this was sorted out very quickly and efficiently. The location is superb with some very nice bars and restaurants near by and would definately be ideal for a tourist to Cape Town.
I am very impressed and give a hearty recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppys_dad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stylish and very contemplate furnished appartments in the heart of the de Waterkant quarter. Located in Loader Street, inside a shopping mall. Most stylish appartment we rented. Washing machine and every thinkable kitchen equipment provided. Very nice view to the Table Mountain. Very kind and helpful staff. We received a two bed penthouse upgrade and the option for staying in the appartment until 2 pm.
Free parking provided. 10 min walk to the V&A Waterfront.
A SuperSpar and different nice restaurants (try out Vanilla) are located in the building.
Only downer: Bar across the street get's noisy on the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel5522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Our large group (20) had 3 properties between Xmas and New Year - 2 in Loader Street and one in the street below. We stayed in 96 Loader Street - a great 4 bedroom 3 bath cottage with multiple deck areas and a plunge pool. (Another of the properties had a roof top hot tub).
Its all very contemporary and stylishly furnished - flat screen tv's in every bedroom - all you could wish for. The master suite is to die for, one ensuite bedroom is a separate annex (above the garage), the other 2 doubles are small on the ground floor and share a shower room.
Not really toddler friendly (open stairs, no net for the pool) - but we had one and we coped.
Only gripe was that although a (small) sellection of tea/coffee/crisps were provided for immediate use there were no other 'basics' provided. Not a big problem as there is a FANTASTIC Spar supermarket in the new Cape Quarter only 5 minutes away - but when you are only there for 4 nights you dont really want to buy a whole box of washing powder/kitchen roll/cooking oil etc etc. In the UK I would expect this to be provided in this std of property - perhaps this is normal in SA though.
There was also confusion as to whether we could have a BBQ at the property. I had asked in advance and had been told 'that there was room on the deck', however on arrival we were told 'no - due to fire hazards'. However we later found a large kettle drum BBQ in the garage - but didnt use it as it was so far away from the deck.
De Waterkant is a great area - lovely bars and restaurants in the Cape Quarter or its only a 10 mins walk to the V&A. Felt totally safe - its very pretty and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed in an apartment managed by African Elite at the new Cape Quarter annex that opened early November. The location is excellent with many restaurants and shops in the Cape Quarter, which is in the Waterkant district. Laundry is in the apartment, which was fantastic, as well as wireless internet access. It is a 15 - 20 minute walk to both the V&A Waterfront and historic sites. There is also free underground parking in the garage. The apartment is self-catering, but there is a grocery in the building. Beautiful views from both the bedrooms and balcony. Be aware that the apartment is very modern. Neither the bedrooms or bathrooms have doors, so privacy is extremely limited. As the Cape Quarter also has entertainment on the weekends, the noise level can be quite loud, although we were there opening weekend so it may not be as bad at other times. The music doesn't go past midnight or so.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ktg0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#88 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#40 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cape Finest Guesthouse
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#37 of 155 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant House
De Waterkant House
#102 of 155 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Cottages
De Waterkant Cottages
#16 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Elite de Waterkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Elite de Waterkant

Property: African Elite de Waterkant
Address: 47 NAPIER STREET, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your African Elite de Waterkant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Elite De Waterkant Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing