We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gap Lodge
Ranked #68 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We had a great stay at Gap Lodge. LeRoi and Linda were so helpful, and gave us some great tips. The room we were in was lovely, we stayed initially for 3 nights, and then came back for our last night. Great breakfast that set us up for the day. We were made to feel really welcome.
The area's fab as easy walking distance to some lovely restaurants and bars, and walking distance from downtown Capetown too. I was really glad that we chose Gap Lodge over Long Street or any of the other locations we were looking at

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle_k_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Two friends and I stayed at Gap Lodge for six nights and it truly felt like "home". LeRoi and Linda were absolutely the best hosts. We were warmly welcomed and LeRoi immediately grabbed our bags and carried them upstairs to our rooms. The rooms were very well planned and had wonderful nice little touches. Breakfast was great and always served at the agreed upon time. The location was great -- quiet but still convenient to points of interests. I will probably return to Cape Town next year and the Gap is my first choice for my next stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at Gap Lodge for two nights in March and enjoyed all the small details that made it special: breakfasting on the first floor deck looking into a jungly neighbouring garden with Table Mountain beyond; the well-planned room and bathroom; the easy walk to the excellent restaurant recommended by LeRoi (so good we went there twice); highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodfirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Dania and Steve had an excellent stay at the Gap Lodge. Linda and Le Roi are class acts who contributed to our great experience in Cape Town. Breakfast was great (especially the coffee), the room was adequate and clean (the bed was very comfortable), and the location was perfect. There was not a bad recommendation when it came to restaurants. Linda has designed a beautiful home where we felted very welcomed. Le Roi was very professional from the initial e-mail to the drop off at the airport. We would highly recommend the Gap Lodge to anyone planning on visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Blue Crane room was great because it had easy (and personal) access to the beautiful patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Dania and Steve, thank you very much for your great comments. It is much appreciated! Love to see you again sometime. Love Le Roi and Linda (sorry about the disappointing Sunday morning game...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassonia, Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

From my first phone call to the end of my stay we only received the best of service. E-mails were prompt. Garden setting was tranquil and the cat coming to say good morning was precious. Breakfast was very well presented and tasteful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlmainePereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
Charlmaine, it was a great pleasure having you. Hope to see you soon. Shira, the cat, is missing you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Clean and comfortable, wonderful breakfast every morning, and most of all Linda and Le Roi treat guests as friends in for a visit. Most of Capetown is either a long walk or a short cab ride. Le Roi will make whatever arrangements you need for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
It is always nice to receive "friends" for a visit at GAP Lodge! Thank you for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our experience at the Gap Lodge was very good, the lodger were friendly, the room was clean, cosy and comfortable. We had a huge breakfast and a kitchen and living room all for us, we really recommend it. It is 5 minutes taxi from Waterfront, on the way to Table Mountain, a very convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
We are happy to make GAP Lodge your second home... Don't stay away to long for second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Cape Colonial
The Cape Colonial
#103 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#21 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
City Bowl
Prince Lodge
Prince Lodge
#104 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Blue House Guesthouse
#46 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#63 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Number5 Guesthouse
#45 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap Lodge

Property: Gap Lodge
Address: 13 Newport Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gap Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gap Lodge is nestled on the slopes of Table Mountain in the heart of Cape Town. We offer three en-suite bedrooms, dual air-conditioning, digital safe, hairdryer and TV. Bed linen is 100% percale cotton for your comfort. The V&A Waterfront, city center, International Convention Centre and Clifton and Camps Bay beaches are all 5 - 10 minutes away. Gap Lodge offers luxurious comfort in the heart of Cape Town with Table Mountain virtually at our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing