We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family-run B&B, great location too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gap Lodge
Ranked #68 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely family-run B&B, great location too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was looking for somewhere peaceful to stay but not too far away from activity. Gap Lodge was ideal - far enough up Kloofnek Rd so that you were away from the noise and close to Lions Head but very close to Kloof St (walking distance) and they accommodated me for three nights on very short notice.

Le Roi and Linda and their daughters are a warm, friendly family and your interaction with them will add an extra special touch to the stay. At the same time, I was given complete privacy and left undisturbed.

Clean, comfortable rooms, wi-fi, big balcony where I had breakfast every morning, lounge area with some good CDs and a hi-fi.

You won't regret staying here!


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Basheerah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We needed a b&b in CT for a couple of days at short notice - Gap lodge seemed the best value, and although it looked like a fortress in the pictures, turned out to be a great experience. Contrary to the pictures the setting is lush and green, it is close to all amenities, with excellent value facilites and very friendly and helpful hosts.

would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

A very nice B&B! Wonderful owner, lot of privacy and great breakfasts! The location is also a bonus as it is central to Cape Town, very easy to get around. I would recommend this B&B to anyone as it was great staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton-on-Sea, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Thank you Linda and Le Roi for a very relaxing and comfortable stay. We could not have chosen a more central and convenient B & B. Even though we were not Tourists, the location of GAP LODGE was very accessible to all parts of Cape Town and surrounding areas. We stayed in the Blue Crane Room which has the door leading onto the balcony. In Summer this will be a fabulous plus. Our only gripe about the room is that in the mornings we found it a little cramped, for two people, when getting ready for the day, specially the area around the bed and the built-in cupboards. Otherwise it was perfectly comfortable. The decor of the room is soothing, uncluttered and everything that one needs is available. The towels and bedding, soaps and creams of good quality. Maybe add an overseas News Channel or two - Sky and CNN. The breakfasts were well presented and delicious. Thanks to the Chef. I also noted that all the jams ect were of extremely good quality. The music at breakfast was soft and welcome. Loved watching the squirrels while eating breakfast, what a treat. Thank you for putting up with our erractic breakfast times. It was much appreciated and hope we did not put you out in anyway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at GAP LODGE and would like to take this opportunity to recommend it to all the Travellers out there. It's certainly value for money and you get a wonderful warm welcome and an away from home feeling from Linda and Le Roi. We will be back. Well done Linda and Le Roi.

Room Tip: In Summer book the Blue Crane Room with the door leading out onto the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a great stay at Gap Lodge. It is queit and very convenient in terms of location. We felt the breakfast range was very limiting and also the TV channels very limited. All the same a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Njoki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for staying at Gap Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful city, despite the rain!
Our breakfast consist of 3 different serials, fruit juice, fresh fruits, 3 types of bread, variety of fruit yoghurts and natural yoghurt, 3 different types of jam, freshly made plunger coffee and 2 selections of tea's
plus hot breakfast consisting of eggs (fried, scrambled, poached, boiled or omelette), bacon and fried tomato. We believe this is good value for money, but we are always open for suggestions.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I recently stayed at Gap Lodge and what a great experience!!! The hosts, Le Roi and Linda, are wonderful and made me feel at home right away. The location is excellent; close to the Waterfront and going up Table Mountain; which are two of the main attractions in Cape Town. Le Roi is a tour guide and very knowledgeable about places to see in the area. He can take you on a variety of breathtaking tours in and around Cape town. The breakfasts are delicious and can be taken on the patio with wonderful views of the garden. As to other visitors complaining about TV channels; it did not bother me at all; I was there to see Cape Town and nót to watch TV. The room and en-suite bathroom was clean and nicely decorated and I had more than enough space for all my luggage. Compared to other B&B's and hotels in the area, it was excellent value for money and I had money left to spend on tours to the main attractions in Cape Town and the awesome vineyards nearby. I can highly recommend Gap Lodge to everyone!!! You'll definitely see me again soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The host was pleasant and the room clean, the breakfast was good however, the TV was old & small with a lot of interference & only SABC @ e-tv channel (not good enough). Our room was facing the main road so it was noisy. No off street parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Cape Colonial
The Cape Colonial
#103 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#23 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
City Bowl
Prince Lodge
Prince Lodge
#104 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Blue House Guesthouse
#47 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
City Bowl
12 Hofmeyr
12 Hofmeyr
#64 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Number5 Guesthouse
#42 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap Lodge

Property: Gap Lodge
Address: 13 Newport Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gap Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gap Lodge is nestled on the slopes of Table Mountain in the heart of Cape Town. We offer three en-suite bedrooms, dual air-conditioning, digital safe, hairdryer and TV. Bed linen is 100% percale cotton for your comfort. The V&A Waterfront, city center, International Convention Centre and Clifton and Camps Bay beaches are all 5 - 10 minutes away. Gap Lodge offers luxurious comfort in the heart of Cape Town with Table Mountain virtually at our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing