We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Altona Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dysart Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antrim Villa(Green Point)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Splendida(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
259
104
16
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
104
16
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreen pointgreat locationhome away from homeshared bathroomenjoyed my staymini fridgewalking distancefelt like homewonderful hoststea and coffeequiet neighborhoodclean roomsnice guesthousesafe locationwonderful stayplace to stayminute walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

If you are looking for a quiet place, in a great location, with a budget price, and helpful, friendly people - Altona Lodge is the place to stay.
Located on a very quiet street two street back from the Main Road into downtown (easy to catch a minibus taxi into town for 6 rand), Altona Lodge is walking distance to the Stadium, Green Point, V&A Waterfront and you can even walk into town - it's not really that far.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Bonus - The best wifi connection I have had since I arrived in SA 2 months ago.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARRIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Karrie, it was a pleasure hosting you and I am very pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Arrive as Strangers leave as Friends is what Altona Lodge is all about!

I spent two weeks on a business trip to Cape Town and was made to feel very welcome by Peter and Craig who went out of their way to make me feel at home. I was always with hot water and crisp clean bed linen ,soft towels and slept soundly in their comfortable beds.The breakfast were more than sufficient and great coffee.
Most important is the Wifi for business and internet for keeping in touch with family back home.
The lodge is well situated and five minutes from the center of town and the V&A Waterfront.
Peter with 25 years in the hospitality industry does himself proud and I wish him and Craig all the best in the future!
Gavin Webster

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at Altona Lodge for 2 weeks with a business colleague, The rooms were clean and comfortable, the Wifi was good and seems to cover the hotel well and the breakfast is great.

Peter the Manager is a great host and he made us feel very welcome indeed.

The hotel is also well located for access to the Waterfront and central Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

It was a pleasure hosting you guys, Matt. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was my 2nd time in Cape Town and can't speak more highly of the great work Peter and Craig are doing. The friendly manner and clean, happy environment is suitable for all types of guests including families and groups. The location right in the Green Point area and just steps from the World Cup stadium and water front is hard to beat. Its also near all the main entertainment areas. This is a great value guest house and the owners take what they say on their front-desk motto seriously...."arrive as guests, depart as friends". A fabulous guest house that has to be seen to be believed and which is excellnt value. A very safe location and suitable for women travellers who are alone and who might be panicky about South Africa. The feeling in this hotel is more like being part of a nice cosy family. Very high standard and we strongly recomend it!

Room Tip: Very secure guest house- street well lit and its walkable back from promenade etc.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed 3 nites at Altona in March 2012 and could not be more happy with this excellent value for money, friendly and impeccably managed guest house superbly located in Green Point just a few minutes from Cape Town's gorgeous water front and promenade. The owner/manager Peter is an experienced hotel professional with a natural gift for making guests feel at home. I found the bedrooms to be of a very acceptable standard, the facilities are very good for an entry level grade establishment and Peter's approach and style is more like what one would expect to find in a boutique hotel many times the very reasonable price Peter charges.

From hunting out the right kind of power adapter to complimentary coffee, Peter cuts no corners in making his guests feel at home. On the 1st evening I happened to be chatting to be to a big family group and by their warm tone it seemed as if they had known Peter all their lives but they told me it was just the 1st trip to Cape Town but that they would be coming back to Altona Lodge. This would be very much my own opinion too as Peter absolutely spares no effort to make sure his guests have a good time.

Altona Lodge is a pleasant, impeccably clean, superior guest lodge which punches way beyond its modest price range and whose owner goes the extra mile to make sure his guests are happy. The guests are from all ages and all walks of life from students, family groups to business people. It is a hidden gem in Cape Town's guest house market and in many years of travel in all categories of extablishment, I have never met an owner with the enthusiasm and joy for the travel business which Peter exudes. He truly embodies the big sign at his front desk "arrive as guests, depart as friends".

I strongly recommend Altona Lodge for a fab Cape Town vacation!

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor but as this is a quiet street all rooms in Altona are quiet and restful
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Gavin, it is comments and recognition like yours that makes what we do worth while! Thank you for the kind words and I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Altona in the (hopefully) not too far future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews