We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days at the Altona Lodge”
Review of Altona Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altona Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

What a great find! Tucked away in a quiet street, but within easy walking distance of the Green Point Stadium and the Waterfront, this peaceful little hotel is a real gem! Peter made us all feel very welcome at the Altona Lodge, and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent and very friendly staff keep the place spotless. It was a very nice touch to lay on a pool for us when we came back hot and tired after a days rugby at theCape Town 10's Tournament. The breakfasts are excellent, and really get your day off to a good start. Thanks for everything, and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

James, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you guys. Hope to see you back at Altona next year for the 10's !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

After staying three nights in greatly reviewed hostel on Long street and being very disappointed, we head to Altona Lodge. From the first impression, we booked a double room with a shared bathroom for a week.

The room was superb. The room included a bed, tv, sink and a fan. The bed was really comfortable, linen clean and the room was serviced daily. There were multiple showers and bathrooms and they were very clean. No complaints. The common kitchen was very clean and had all the accessories that we needed to cook almost everyday. In addition everything was very clean and functional. This combination seems to be rare to find...

The place has a free wifi, which was really fast and worked throughout the premises. Breakfast is not included in the price, but for 30R it was worth it. The place is located in a quiet street, close to a small kiosk and 3min walk to Spar. The location was superb also.

It is hard to describe the personnel working in Altona lodge. The sincere care towards our well-being and the work they put in to the place is just amazing. Maybe that's why we ended up staying in there for 3.5 weeks - and because we got such a good night sleep and the mandatory vacation naps.

Thank you so much Peter, Wendy, Moffat and Rose for all the hard work you put in to the place - it really pays off. I wouldn't recommend any other place in Cape town if you want to stay in superb location, be able to sleep well and to focus on enjoying the city. If you want to party 24/7, stay in Long street.

I really hope to see you all again and thank you so much for everything! Harry & Tiina

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Harry & Tina
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to welcome you back to Altona before you head out of Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

If you are looking for a quiet place, in a great location, with a budget price, and helpful, friendly people - Altona Lodge is the place to stay.
Located on a very quiet street two street back from the Main Road into downtown (easy to catch a minibus taxi into town for 6 rand), Altona Lodge is walking distance to the Stadium, Green Point, V&A Waterfront and you can even walk into town - it's not really that far.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Bonus - The best wifi connection I have had since I arrived in SA 2 months ago.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARRIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Karrie, it was a pleasure hosting you and I am very pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us. Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Arrive as Strangers leave as Friends is what Altona Lodge is all about!

I spent two weeks on a business trip to Cape Town and was made to feel very welcome by Peter and Craig who went out of their way to make me feel at home. I was always with hot water and crisp clean bed linen ,soft towels and slept soundly in their comfortable beds.The breakfast were more than sufficient and great coffee.
Most important is the Wifi for business and internet for keeping in touch with family back home.
The lodge is well situated and five minutes from the center of town and the V&A Waterfront.
Peter with 25 years in the hospitality industry does himself proud and I wish him and Craig all the best in the future!
Gavin Webster

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at Altona Lodge for 2 weeks with a business colleague, The rooms were clean and comfortable, the Wifi was good and seems to cover the hotel well and the breakfast is great.

Peter the Manager is a great host and he made us feel very welcome indeed.

The hotel is also well located for access to the Waterfront and central Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

It was a pleasure hosting you guys, Matt. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was my 2nd time in Cape Town and can't speak more highly of the great work Peter and Craig are doing. The friendly manner and clean, happy environment is suitable for all types of guests including families and groups. The location right in the Green Point area and just steps from the World Cup stadium and water front is hard to beat. Its also near all the main entertainment areas. This is a great value guest house and the owners take what they say on their front-desk motto seriously...."arrive as guests, depart as friends". A fabulous guest house that has to be seen to be believed and which is excellnt value. A very safe location and suitable for women travellers who are alone and who might be panicky about South Africa. The feeling in this hotel is more like being part of a nice cosy family. Very high standard and we strongly recomend it!

Room Tip: Very secure guest house- street well lit and its walkable back from promenade etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed 3 nites at Altona in March 2012 and could not be more happy with this excellent value for money, friendly and impeccably managed guest house superbly located in Green Point just a few minutes from Cape Town's gorgeous water front and promenade. The owner/manager Peter is an experienced hotel professional with a natural gift for making guests feel at home. I found the bedrooms to be of a very acceptable standard, the facilities are very good for an entry level grade establishment and Peter's approach and style is more like what one would expect to find in a boutique hotel many times the very reasonable price Peter charges.

From hunting out the right kind of power adapter to complimentary coffee, Peter cuts no corners in making his guests feel at home. On the 1st evening I happened to be chatting to be to a big family group and by their warm tone it seemed as if they had known Peter all their lives but they told me it was just the 1st trip to Cape Town but that they would be coming back to Altona Lodge. This would be very much my own opinion too as Peter absolutely spares no effort to make sure his guests have a good time.

Altona Lodge is a pleasant, impeccably clean, superior guest lodge which punches way beyond its modest price range and whose owner goes the extra mile to make sure his guests are happy. The guests are from all ages and all walks of life from students, family groups to business people. It is a hidden gem in Cape Town's guest house market and in many years of travel in all categories of extablishment, I have never met an owner with the enthusiasm and joy for the travel business which Peter exudes. He truly embodies the big sign at his front desk "arrive as guests, depart as friends".

I strongly recommend Altona Lodge for a fab Cape Town vacation!

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor but as this is a quiet street all rooms in Altona are quiet and restful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Gavin, it is comments and recognition like yours that makes what we do worth while! Thank you for the kind words and I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Altona in the (hopefully) not too far future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
514 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
698 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 129 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 129 in Cape Town Central
704 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 129 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altona Lodge

Address: Croxteth Road, Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £33 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altona Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altona’s biggest advantage is its location. The accommodation offered is at ‘entry level’ and we frequently refer to it as ‘two steps up from a Backpackers’. We offer comfortable and clean surroundings. The house, having 18 bedrooms, is ideal for small groups. Historically it has been very popular with Sport and School Groups and fits the pockets of International travellers who seeks budget accommodation without having to compromise their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altona Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing