We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Altona Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altona Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Right in the Eclectic Area of Capetown with lovely reastaurants and bars.
Very helpful staff in a refurbished Colonial era House.
Great Double room, though small was excellently furbished with all amenities and modern shower and accessories.
Breakfast was included at a nice full service reastaurant just down the street so you could enjoy anything and just pay the extra.
Overall very clean, quite and convenient and would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigertraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    91
    14
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
92
83
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Everything about the Altona was just right - it's location, close (but not too close to be noisy) to Main Road in the Green Point area, the building, wonderful rambling old colonial era house and garden, excellent breakfast, and the owner/manager Peter bent over backwards to help with every request. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back or the front for reasonable views - those on the side just look across to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Roger, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you back at Altona in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Fab location

Close to beach walk

Near Oly stad

Walk dist of prom

Near great shops

Very friendly

Owner res

Overall v good

clean, quite modern style

G S O H among owners

safe area

All m o d ' s supplied

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Close to the stadium in Greenpoint and V&A Waterfront with helpful guests and owners. Recommended if you're visiting Cape Town and need a place to stay. Everything was so central (well within walking distance) and the beds are very comfy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

stayed there for 2 nights and felt at home. simple and a graet value for money clean rooms great location friendly staff especially peter the owner!! would definitly go back when i'm back in c.p.
highly recommanded!!

Room Tip: all rooms are the same. they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

What a great find! Tucked away in a quiet street, but within easy walking distance of the Green Point Stadium and the Waterfront, this peaceful little hotel is a real gem! Peter made us all feel very welcome at the Altona Lodge, and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent and very friendly staff keep the place spotless. It was a very nice touch to lay on a pool for us when we came back hot and tired after a days rugby at theCape Town 10's Tournament. The breakfasts are excellent, and really get your day off to a good start. Thanks for everything, and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
James, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you guys. Hope to see you back at Altona next year for the 10's !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

After staying three nights in greatly reviewed hostel on Long street and being very disappointed, we head to Altona Lodge. From the first impression, we booked a double room with a shared bathroom for a week.

The room was superb. The room included a bed, tv, sink and a fan. The bed was really comfortable, linen clean and the room was serviced daily. There were multiple showers and bathrooms and they were very clean. No complaints. The common kitchen was very clean and had all the accessories that we needed to cook almost everyday. In addition everything was very clean and functional. This combination seems to be rare to find...

The place has a free wifi, which was really fast and worked throughout the premises. Breakfast is not included in the price, but for 30R it was worth it. The place is located in a quiet street, close to a small kiosk and 3min walk to Spar. The location was superb also.

It is hard to describe the personnel working in Altona lodge. The sincere care towards our well-being and the work they put in to the place is just amazing. Maybe that's why we ended up staying in there for 3.5 weeks - and because we got such a good night sleep and the mandatory vacation naps.

Thank you so much Peter, Wendy, Moffat and Rose for all the hard work you put in to the place - it really pays off. I wouldn't recommend any other place in Cape town if you want to stay in superb location, be able to sleep well and to focus on enjoying the city. If you want to party 24/7, stay in Long street.

I really hope to see you all again and thank you so much for everything! Harry & Tiina

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetownians, Owner at Altona Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Harry & Tina
Thank you for your kind words! We hope to welcome you back to Altona before you head out of Africa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altona Lodge

Property: Altona Lodge
Address: Croxteth Road, Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altona Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altona’s biggest advantage is its location. The accommodation offered is at ‘entry level’ and we frequently refer to it as ‘two steps up from a Backpackers’. We offer comfortable and clean surroundings. The house, having 18 bedrooms, is ideal for small groups. Historically it has been very popular with Sport and School Groups and fits the pockets of International travellers who seeks budget accommodation without having to compromise their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Altona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altona Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing