We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in greenpoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Altona Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altona Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay in greenpoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Altone Logde is a very nice place to stay during a visit in Capetown. The rooms are homely and clean. The showers and toilets are very clean. The host (Peter) is such a nice and funny man, he has lots of good advice and tips for Capetown and he really made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank meijer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    83
    13
    0
    2
See reviews for
54
85
76
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a lot of fun at the Altona Lodge. The beds were amazingly comfortable and Peter was welcoming and accommodating. Would recommend this to young people traveling to Cape Town - great location in Greenpoint.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Peter's (owner- very helpful host) B&B is a great choice for somebody who visit Cape Town and want to stay in a safe, real clean, comfortable and full equipped rooms, in a friendly environment. In addition in this place everything is in walking distance (Green Point Park, Waterfront, and many restaurants).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannisKort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great Location in a nice neighbourhood and within walking distance to restaurants, Sea Point and the V&A Waterfront.
Lovely Host Peter and his Staff will make you feel like Home assisting wherever they can and keeping the place sweet&clean. House & Furniture have seen happier times but it's still charming and makes this place a Value for Money. I am definitely going to stay there again on my next trip to CPT.

I spent 2 nights on my own and walked around a lot by myself feeling perfectly fine.Going for a run @seapoint promenade is fantastic for sports lovers or rent a nice road bike (Giant) at V&A Awol Tours Office to go to Camps Bay or along the Marine Drive to the North.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatabarbarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I enjoyed my stay at this lodge the hospitality was excellent especially peter the name i will not forget because of his marvellous service. My room was clean and i would think if they can change the fan. The location of this lodge is quiet convenient almost near everything walking distance to the water front, sea point and catch the taxes to the city. I liked the location especially the view of the table mountain. dubeglad@yahoo.com

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gladys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Peter is a warm welcoming host. Always ready for entertaining chat or helpful tips.
Great place to stay at. The staff was warm and helpful.
Central location, safe, secure parking on premises available.
Comfortable, clean, well equipped rooms.

Short walk from most amenities and the sea point promenade.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013. And we were positively surprised. The House is very comfortable, spacious and very pleasant (interesting design). It is very clean and very well equipped with self-catering utensils. There is outside ``braai``, patio and well maintained garden. The neighborhood looks rural, quite and safe.
The location of the Lodge is very good for visiting all the attractions on Panorama Route and and Blyde River Gorge. A short distance (a few minutes by car) to Graskop and its shops and restaurants.
So no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marcin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altona Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altona Lodge

Property: Altona Lodge
Address: Croxteth Road, Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altona Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altona’s biggest advantage is its location. The accommodation offered is at ‘entry level’ and we frequently refer to it as ‘two steps up from a Backpackers’. We offer comfortable and clean surroundings. The house, having 18 bedrooms, is ideal for small groups. Historically it has been very popular with Sport and School Groups and fits the pockets of International travellers who seeks budget accommodation without having to compromise their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altona Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altona Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing