We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern, sleek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, modern, sleek”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A very modern, sleek, clean room. Staff were helpful. Cheap parking in the underground garage. Centrally located, but next to convention center in a canal - not easy to walk to places of interest. Lacking in character, but that is to be expected. Overall, good value for a one-night weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Divisions Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear 26Red,

Thank you for taking your time to review Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites. We are very pleased to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next in Cape Town.

With kind regards,
Shavonne Coetzer
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    138
    57
    17
    9
See reviews for
37
128
31
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The rooms are very spacious, stylish and have large balconies. Very well finished and are really clean. I booked a suite for a reasonable 1000rand a night a got a lot more for my money than expected. Conveniently located at the end of long street (Where all the night life is at), its right next to the convention centre on the canal. You can get the canal taxi right at the hotel as it stops there which was a nice way to see a bit of the city. If you are attending an event in the convention centre, this would most certainly be the best place to stay. Its less than a 5 min taxi to the V&A waterfront ( 30rand). I was very impressed with this place. My only problem is that room service stops about 10pm which seems to be common enough for the hotels in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which back onto the shipyard as there tends to be a lot of noise if you stay that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Division Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Ian O,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in the accommodation we have to offer. The rooms are as you say, spacious and stylish making us an ideal hotel for both leisure and corporate travelers.

I trust we will be able to welcome you back to Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites in the near future.

With kind regards,
Shavonne Coetzer
Rooms Division Manager
Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It is an excellent Hotel to stay. The front desk Lady and Nick have been very helpful when I had problem with my rent a car. She insist the company to help as I would need the car on the following day. The Hotel has great security as well as the parking garage has excellent security. Stay there and you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Divisions Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Itha,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor. Nick is always willing to assist and always with a big smile. He is indeed an asset to our company.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites on a future trip to Cape Town.

With kind regards,

Shavonne Coetzer
Rooms Division Manager
Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Minutes walking by day, seconds by taxi in night (security matters), this now,.clean, simple with style hotel is very good if u want to stay in central Cape Town, close to sightseeing bus stop. Rooms are quite big, suites are two rooms flats with all u need. Good choice, at short price!
Breakfast and restaurant: bit expansive, but short ride you have all restaurants of the luxurious V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbsaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Divisions Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Rbsaro,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor. We are really proud of the accommodation we offer and are pleased your stay with us was enjoyable.
We are currently reviewing our restaurant menu and trust the new menu will tickle the taste buds and allow more of our guests to enjoy our fine dining.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are visiting Cape Town again.

With kind regards,
Shavonne Coezer
Rooms Division Manager
Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

The Harbour Bridge Hotel is an excellently located hotel which we stayed with in July. Their standard rooms are simple, but great value for money. Only negatives are that we found the underground parking to be a bit short one evening and the lack of blackout curtains. The hotel has great security - the parking is access controlled both by a boom and an automatic door, access tags are required to move between the different areas in the hotel. The tags are not magnetic but rather RF-based which means guests don't have to struggle with finicky magnetic cards. Overall, this hotel is recommended for those wanting easy access to the city or CTICC.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Very comfortable, modern, quiet and clean, good views and very convenient location, walking distance from the main attractions of Cape Town and one of the stops of the water bus (the hop on/hop off that takes you to the V&A through the canals). The price is quite good for that kind of accommodation.
It can be hard to find the entrance by car, it's not in google maps and the GPS couldn't find it either The best way is to get to the Westin Hotel, it's right behind it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Harbour Bridge is a modern hotel a couple of minutes' walk from the Cape Town International Conference Centre (CTICC), offering rates that can be less than half those at the Westin, CTICC's own hotel. Rooms are spotlessly clean spacious, although with an open plan bathroom, don't share with a friend or colleague unless you are very close! They usefully contain a quiet fridge and kettle, with plenty of glasses (hidden away). Most rooms have balconies; some with views across towards Table Mountain (but across the N2 motorway). Beds were comfortable, but I found the duvet too thick, with no alternative for cool but not cold autumn nights.

The area is quiet but you can feel trapped a little at night, although by South African standards it's probably safe enough: there are few places to eat within walking distance, so it's as well that the Harbour Bridge offers good value food (and drink) in its restaurant in the evenings. You can take a "canal trip" down to the edge of the V&A waterfront area, but although this costs no more than a bus fare in many major cities (R30) the last boat back is as early at 5pm in winter - not much good for wining and dining on the Waterfront. Better take a more expensive taxi.

In contrast breakfast was expensive (which is where that useful fridge comes in).

Rooms are arranged in staircases with a single lift, a bit like a University Hall of residence; in most cases you have to go outside (onto a public walkway) to get to and from reception or the restaurant. Again not an issue as the area is safe enough, but unusual. And on 3 days my cleaner left the balcony sliding door open or unlocked, despite only being on the first floor - this is a security risk!

The rooftop pool is tiny and unheated; even in April (Autumn in SA) cold nights meant it was far too cold to use which is a pity.

Despite my hotel confirmation giving a ludicrously expensive rate for wireless internet access it was actually free, and subject only to a 50Mb limit for my stay - so if you stay away from YouTube it's fine! There's also a printer that you can use free of charge in reception, which is useful for e-tickets, etc.

Overall it's a nice hotel and offers good value for money, especially if you are not too concerned by some of the horror stories about crime. Reception were helpful and friendly throughout my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
The PortsWood
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites

Property: AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Address: Lower Long Street | Roggebaai Canal, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#57 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This state of the art hotel is ideally positioned on the Roggebaai Canal Waterfront, close to the V&A Waterfront, within the Cape Town International Convention Centre precinct, and this prime location attracts both corporate and leisure travellers seeking a distinctive experience. Set against a backdrop of picturesque mountain views with a sea water canal running through the hotel's bridge wing, the hotel links the city to the sea. There are 40 well-appointed and comfortable rooms as well as an additional 18 luxury suites which have an open lounge area and fully equipped kitchen, making them an ideal choice for longer staying guests. A contemporary restaurant offers good food in a relaxing setting with a picturesque location alongside the canal. The stylish Executive Boardroom is an ideal venue for intimate meetings and product launches for up to 15 guests. This sophisticated hotel offers warm hospitality coupled with a wide range of services and facilities for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bridge Hotel And Suites
Harbour Bridge Hotel Cape Town Central
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing