We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“average hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

we stayed at the harbour bridge hotel and there are no clear signs as to how to get there. one has to go thru the Westin hotel and international convention centre to get to the harbour bridge. there is no parking or drop off at the reception area. the bathroom has no division if you should share the room. overall the stay was average

Room Tip: It is a good suite for a longer stay and for patrons that want to cater for themselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogamat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Division Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Mogamat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. Your comments are most useful to us in order to offer our guests a truely hospitable stay. It is unfortunate that the directions to the hotel was a negative experience for you and we will take a look at how we can improve the directions on our website.
As our rooms are open plan, roll down blinds were installed which will offer a little more privacy should you wish to share with a friend on a future visit.

I trust the layout of the room will not deter you from our property when you are next in Cape Town and look forward to having you as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    140
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
40
133
34
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I was booked in this hotel for a week-end in October 2013. I was fairly disappointed for the following reasons :
The room is more an appartment style that a comfortable hotel room. It is provided with a huge kitchen that I just do not need. The rest of the room is modern and clean but I found the decoration bleak, all grey.
The corridors are just outdoor, and very windy.
I was extremely disappointed by the Wifi that never worked properly on my iphone. Despite technical assistance this could not be adressed. I found that the Wifi system was not user friendly at all, requesting user names and passwords to be created at all times.
The breakfast wasnt particularly good. For example there were no fresh strawberries served whilst the strawberry farms are nearby and it is the season.
You cannot work to the waterfront from the hotel. This can be dangerous and would be too long, over 30mn anyway.
There is no gym facility and the pool didnt work.
Apart from that the staff was friendly but not 100% professional, as I received different answers depending on who I talked to at the front desk, such as for the boat transfer to the waterfront, for which unlike advertised on the Hotel web site, there is no free transfer offered.
Overall, I have been very disappointed by the hotel, and do not recommend it despite affordable prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Divisions Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Florian020,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property.
We are always proud to get good feedback but we also really appreciate the bad as this helps us to improve where needed.
It is very sad that your experience of our property was below expectation and that you have a negative perception of our hotel. We take great pride in the accommodation we have to offer.

Your review does allow us the opportunity to rectify some of the shortcomings you have mentioned and I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property when you are next in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Basic room but very clean and modern. Our room lacked shampoo, etc. but we were ok with it, just be prepared. The shower is open in the bathroom with glass so you can be seen in the bedroom. I liked it but it is not for everyone... you wouldn't want to share a room with a friend. We stayed just one night as we arrived in Cape Town enroute to Durban so we didn't spend much time here. It is close to a lot but you will need to walk around some buildings first to get to the action.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Division Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Crpf,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel. As our rooms are open plan, we installed a roll down blind which will offer a little more privacy should you wish to share with a friend on another visit.
Our bathrooms are also stocked with guest amenities; however as these are kept in the bathroom drawer and not in plain sight, our guests sometimes seem to overlook them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our property when you are next in Cape Town and trust your next stay with us will not only be an overnight stay.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graaff-Reinet
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The room I stayed in was very welcoming and comfortable. The little thing that was kind of awkward was the bathroom that was separated by a blind from the bathroom. Though we were two there was only one bottle of complimentary water. But hey, the overall stay was cosy, a balcony facing the water canal where you watch a water taxis cruising around.

Room Tip: I think rooms on top floors would give a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kutala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Division Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Kutala P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our property. We are always proud to get good feedback but we also really appreciate the bad as this helps us to improve where needed.

We do trust the layout of the room will not deter you from our property when you are next in Cape Town and look forward to having you as our guest soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I spent three nights, along with some friends in other rooms, at this establishment and would say that it is a quite functional and convenient hotel.

As most reviewers mention, rooms are modern and well cleaned and maintained. Only problem I experienced was that since the rooms are served by individual boilers as apartments, after filling the bath tab, there was no hot water left and showering had to be in cold shower, thus, it is more suited just for showing only (then it is perfectly fine).
Amenities were fine, however, missing items may not be re-filled if housekeeping staff overlooks it, thus, one may need to be on top of it.

Location is superb, being so close to waterfront, with convenient water transport available.

I used the restaurant a few times for brunch/lunch and food was pretty good. However, service can be quite slow, thus, if one is in a hurry, it is quite necessary to mention that to serving staff, many of who are students in work placement.

Speaking of slow service, my friend had to wait over 30mins. to get an iron board. I also had to wait for almost 45mins for one breakfast room service. All of these are not such a big issue if the guest is not a business traveler in a super hurry but it would be prudent to anticipate such delay.

Overall, it is a fine place, with friendly staff, and, does what this level of hotel does.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lutecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Division Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Lutecia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites.
We at Harbour Bridge value our guest feedback. We are always proud to get good feedback and we really appreciate the bad as this helps us to improve where needed. I thank you for bringing the service issues to our attention as I can address these with the different departments and work together in order for us to offer our guests a quicker and more efficient service.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we have the privilege of welcoming you to Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites when next you are in our area.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A very modern, sleek, clean room. Staff were helpful. Cheap parking in the underground garage. Centrally located, but next to convention center in a canal - not easy to walk to places of interest. Lacking in character, but that is to be expected. Overall, good value for a one-night weekend stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Divisions Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear 26Red,

Thank you for taking your time to review Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites. We are very pleased to see your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you are next in Cape Town.

With kind regards,
Shavonne Coetzer
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The rooms are very spacious, stylish and have large balconies. Very well finished and are really clean. I booked a suite for a reasonable 1000rand a night a got a lot more for my money than expected. Conveniently located at the end of long street (Where all the night life is at), its right next to the convention centre on the canal. You can get the canal taxi right at the hotel as it stops there which was a nice way to see a bit of the city. If you are attending an event in the convention centre, this would most certainly be the best place to stay. Its less than a 5 min taxi to the V&A waterfront ( 30rand). I was very impressed with this place. My only problem is that room service stops about 10pm which seems to be common enough for the hotels in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which back onto the shipyard as there tends to be a lot of noise if you stay that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavonne-Coetzer, Rooms Division Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Ian O,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in the accommodation we have to offer. The rooms are as you say, spacious and stylish making us an ideal hotel for both leisure and corporate travelers.

I trust we will be able to welcome you back to Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites in the near future.

With kind regards,
Shavonne Coetzer
Rooms Division Manager
Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
816 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
984 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites

Property: AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Address: Lower Long Street | Roggebaai Canal, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This state of the art hotel is ideally positioned on the Roggebaai Canal Waterfront, close to the V&A Waterfront, within the Cape Town International Convention Centre precinct, and this prime location attracts both corporate and leisure travellers seeking a distinctive experience. Set against a backdrop of picturesque mountain views with a sea water canal running through the hotel's bridge wing, the hotel links the city to the sea. There are 40 well-appointed and comfortable rooms as well as an additional 18 luxury suites which have an open lounge area and fully equipped kitchen, making them an ideal choice for longer staying guests. A contemporary restaurant offers good food in a relaxing setting with a picturesque location alongside the canal. The stylish Executive Boardroom is an ideal venue for intimate meetings and product launches for up to 15 guests. This sophisticated hotel offers warm hospitality coupled with a wide range of services and facilities for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bridge Hotel And Suites
Harbour Bridge Hotel Cape Town Central
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing