We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not ready”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Ranked #59 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Room not ready”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Came to book in at 2 o clock. Room was not ready. No offer for complimentary drink. Wanted to lie at pool no umbrellas for African sun. Disappointing. ! AFRICAN TIME. OUCH! Eish!! No apology. Sad. Will see what room looks like. Africa with African standards not 4 srar reception.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jolitadubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Jolita,
Firstly our sincere apologizes for any discomfort and inconvenience that was caused. Your comments posted on Tripadvisor are of great concern, especially as we at Harbour Bridge pride ourselves in service excellence.
Our normal check in time is at 2pm. We do however strive to offer all our guests the very best standards in terms of room quality and for this reason your room took longer to get ready in the busy festive season.
You are welcome to take up correspondence with me direct on the other aspects of your stay that you mentioned.

I hope we will be afforded another opportunity to welcome you to our Hotel in order for you to experience our true South African Hospitality and we would welcome your feedback on our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    140
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
40
133
34
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 nights - it was a great choice and bang for the bucks !

The location is good - It is right next to a canal leading to the V&Z waterfront. It's a short drive to the waterfront. Alternatively water ferry can also be taken from here to go to the waterfront. We didn't use it since we had a rented car. The outside parking is free . The hotel is right next to a motorway, however, very relaxed & quiet at the same time The covered one is charged.

The rooms were excellent in terms of comfort. Our room did not have a good view . However, there are many rooms facing the canal. The housekeeping was very prompt and small touches like leaving chocolates on the pillow and the weather forecast for next day were an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiti_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Smiti_SS

Guest comments/feedback are very important to us at Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites and we are so proud that we have met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel.
We hope that, should your travels lead you back to Cape Town, we would be your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We selected this hotel for it's location and price. It is across the road from the convention centre and is therefore very easy to find.
It's a short walk to Long Street (about 5 mins) and Green Market. You can walk to V&A in about 20 minutes or it's a quick cab ride for about 50 rand. Another option is the Canal Cruise which stops right by the hotel.
The rooms are a good size and were kept immaculate by the staff. A nice touch was the turn down team leaving chocolates on the pillows each night, a weather forecast for the next day, and opening the TV guide on the page for the day.
The beds were very comfortable.
9 channels were available on the TV, one being SkyNews, but sadly no BBC or CNN
Good internet reception available in the rooms, but this is not free. You only get 50Mb free then you have to purchase any extra that you might need. However if you're eating in restaurants at V&A waterfront, most will offer free wifi, just ask the staff for the key, so this wasn't a major problem for us.
Breakfast is available every day and had a good choice, but I thought it was overpriced.
The hotel has a bar but we didn't use this so can't make a comment on this.

There is a roof top terrace and (small) swimming pool which overlooks the docks and over towards the football stadium in the distance.

The hotel staff were very friendly, always smiling, and always willing to help or provide advice.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: We were in D block with room facing table mountain. Excellent view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear mrpeewee68

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all comments from our guests and use them constructively to improve where necessary.
We are in the process of upgrading guest internet and we anticipate to be able to offer an improved internet service to our guests soon. Our staff was very proud to hear that you found them to be friendly and helpful.
It was our pleasure to have had you as our guest and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel when next you are in beautiful Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I ended her mainly for the closeness to the Cape Town Waterfront area and CTICC, 200 meters of walking. The hotel is very relaxed, no hustle or anything to be stressed, Perfect get away place in the in Cape Town with very reasonable pricing. The restaurant and the bar are very pleasant to have a light meal and few drinks before heading to nightly activities.
I had light colored and very comfortable room with excellent bath tube arrangement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear L Pertti

Guest perception of our hotel is very important to us and we are very glad to view your positive comments on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for taking the time to post these comments and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel when next you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Enjoyed the style and cleanliness of the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There were little amenities that added to the value of my stay, such as twice-a-day housekeeping, chocolates on the pillows, weather forecast notes left in the room, welcome and check-out notes.
The view was good with parts of the harbour showing.
The distance to V&A waterfront was a short drive away, but the Canal Cruise tour that is part of the Red Bus Tour is right outside the hotel. The CTICC is around the corner if needed.
Overall, the room was the highlight of the hotel, and it was definitely one of the better hotels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear PrimeSA

So often we take the little things in our hotel as the norm and forget that it’s the little things that make a big difference.
I therefore thank you for noticing the value added extras and for your honest comments on our hotel.
We hope to have another opportunity to show you Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites hospitality at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I never thought that I'd spend such a lovely time! This hotel really surprised me,by it's beautifully designer furnishings,cleanliness.Enjoyed a 5 star breakfast every morning,with fruit,bowls & bowls of them and very fresh,nuts,all different kinds of breads,and all that one could desire for a 5star breakfast! My suite was very comfortable,with beautiful colors,that matches,from the well equipped kitchen,lovely lounge area,with beautiful arm chairs,and beautiful sofa,that matched my bedding.And a fully equipped bathroom & shower,with all your daily supplies.I had a blast! The staff was very helpful and friendly! Enjoyed the swimming pool on the 4th floor,a real haven!!!
I strongly urge people to take their family and children there,and very conveniently situated a few minutes walk from the CTICC,practical to hop on the Red Bus or take the water taxis!

Room Tip: I had the suite on the ground floor 002,very beautiful and spacious,and practical,to sit out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skemer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Skemer09

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at our hotel, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly. We at Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites value our guest’s feedback/comments and take pride in receiving comments such as yours, as we know we have met or exceeded our guest expectation. We welcome constructive criticism from our guests as this helps us to improve where needed.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel when next you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and it was really great and well situated. On checking in, the staff was friendly and very helpful. They were always ready to help and the restaurant was also very good. The water taxi is very convenient for going to the V&A Waterfront for a spot of shopping or eating out.

I will definitely visit again...

Room Tip: The rooms are ridiculously tiny. Be mentally prepared for very minimal space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear R Shazz

Thank you for your comments posted. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful
It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
816 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The PortsWood
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
737 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites

Property: AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Address: Lower Long Street | Roggebaai Canal, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This state of the art hotel is ideally positioned on the Roggebaai Canal Waterfront, close to the V&A Waterfront, within the Cape Town International Convention Centre precinct, and this prime location attracts both corporate and leisure travellers seeking a distinctive experience. Set against a backdrop of picturesque mountain views with a sea water canal running through the hotel's bridge wing, the hotel links the city to the sea. There are 40 well-appointed and comfortable rooms as well as an additional 18 luxury suites which have an open lounge area and fully equipped kitchen, making them an ideal choice for longer staying guests. A contemporary restaurant offers good food in a relaxing setting with a picturesque location alongside the canal. The stylish Executive Boardroom is an ideal venue for intimate meetings and product launches for up to 15 guests. This sophisticated hotel offers warm hospitality coupled with a wide range of services and facilities for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bridge Hotel And Suites
Harbour Bridge Hotel Cape Town Central
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing