We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

When I discover something very unique, I don't want to share it sometimes, to be sure others don't spoil it.
This mini hotel in number of rooms is outstanding for what you get for your money. You must enjoy modern art and design and you will find a harmony of the colors, objects and all details chosen by Illana itself. Breakfast is a delight, the contact with all the staff was just what we are looking for: not overwelming but anticipating and charming. As a conclusion I just want to thank Illana for this unique moment during our holiday and confirm her that we definitely come back.
Francis & Nadine

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

We arrived quite early at the Villa Zest and the manager Illana and Michele welcomed us with a refreshing drink. Although our rooms were not quite ready for us we were allowed to store our luggage at the hotel which then found it's way to our room. NOTHING was too much trouble for Illana and her team. Advice on trips to make along with maps and details of how to get here and there and also the best restaurants to go to, of which there were many. The Villa Zest is a beautiful boutique hotel and our room was fabulous. Spotlessly clean with a lovely lounging area and pool at the back. I cannot recomment this hotel highly enough and we have stayed at hotels all over the world. We will certainly be back next time we come to Cape Town. Well done to you all!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

One of the most memorable stays we ever experienced! Thank you to Michelle and the other staff at Villa Zest for every little detail to make our stay truly awesome! So often people don't worry about the quality of the beds, but @ Villa Zest you have a 7 star bed.! We will be back!
Ronel

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronel1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I recently spent 5 days at Villa Zest in Cape Town. Really liked it a lot. I have never written a review before, but the people there were so friendly, accommodating and helpful, that I wanted to let folks know. From the moment I arrived to when I left, they were great. Eager to help with suggestions, answer questions, and even offered (without me asking) to allow me to stay well past checkout (5 hours) because the room I was in wasn't booked that night.

As for the place itself, it was quite cool. Very contemporary (all white) home with 7 guest rooms, great art, nice pool and yard area in back, and quite a bit of common space. Breakfasts were good (omelettes to order and continental). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only possible negative is that they had a open floor plans. I stayed in two rooms, and neither had a door to the bathroom and you could see shower and sink from the main room. The toilet was tucked away in an alcove that provided privacy. While this worked from a interior design perspective, it might not be right for everyone.

Location is close to waterfront and some good restaurant/bar areas. It is a couple blocks off the main drag, but I always felt safe walking there, even late at night.

Overall, I loved the place and would go back there in a second. And, of course, Cape Town is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcb28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

very friendly staff which will organize tours, recomend good local restaurants. If you are looking for a small hotel service, this hotel will not disapoint you. Many times the fcondition of the room/hotel is not what appears to be in the photos, but you will not be disapointed in this hotel.

The only drawback is the location (we ended up driving in a taxi everywere we went), although if you do not mind walking for 10-15 min it is fine. Next time we would have stayed closer to Watterfront or where the restaurnts are.

The toilet could use the door.

The WIFI was too weak in our room, so the internet kept going in and out.
Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel.

The people are very willing to help you out and the cleaing is extra detailed (compared to many 5* hotels I have stayed during my many business travels).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Villa Zest isn't cheap, but you get what you pay for.

From the moment you arrive you are greeted as a friend by Ilana and the team, the service is exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. The decor is funky with a retro 70s theme but it is all very tastefully done.

We stayed in the Barbarella suite which is a twin bedded room, accessed directly from the garden. It is not huge but is beautifully appointed (small touches like an ipod dock & hand written welcome notes make a big difference) & the beds are wonderfully comfortable. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is part of the bedroom which may not suit everyone but in this room there is a dividing curtain which can be pulled across to give total privacy & the loo is in a screened off cubicle. I stayed with a friend and it certainly wasn't an issue for us.

The garden is delightful. It is very private with a lovely pool and a brilliant sofa area under a sun shade which was much needed when we were there, the perfect place to chillax. We were told the night watchman would light a fire for us to chill out by when we got in from dinner if we wanted him to & if we wanted a drink at 3am then we should just ask. We didn't test either of these offers but judging by the service we received I don't doubt they would have delivered if asked.

Michelle made dinner reservations for us at some lovely recommended restaurants, suggested itineraries for daytime sight seeing, organised transport, advised us of safety aspects to be aware of & arranged a private township tour which was an amazing experience. They also recommended places for us to visit after we left and offered to help us if we needed advice when we left to stay in Constantia.

Breakfast was superb, other reviews have said it is continental breakfast only but that must have changed as we had the full monty. A full cooked breakfast was offered as well as a lovely buffet including cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, bread, pastries & the usual cereals and toast. It's not a rushed affair though, so if you are in a hurry let them know in advance & they will accommodate you. Good thing is they will serve you any time until mid-day so if you are on holiday and fancy a lie in then you don't miss out.

The roof terrace isn't very big but it does offer great views of Signal Hill & across to the Waterfront so nice place for a sun downer if you can be bothered with all the stairs.

Location is good, in a quiet street well located for the Waterfront and within easy reach of all the main sights. Off road parking out front and the night watchman keeps an eye on your car if you have one. Another review says this is a red light district & not particularly safe - rubbish! The red light district is in Sea Point, not a million miles away distance wise but a world apart in every other way. We certainly felt very safe and didn't see any evidence of this being a seedy part of town.

The only drawback I found to this hotel (& make no mistake this most definitely is a hotel & not just an overpriced guest house), is that there are a lot of steps & if you have mobility issues that isn't ideal, although the staff will do their utmost to make it as easy as possible for you (I was offered a change of room twice to cut down on stairs but declined as I loved our room). Also, other than breakfast or lunch platters there is no restaurant so you will have to go out for dinner but there is plenty of choice in Cape Town so it's not a huge issue.

If you are looking for a small luxury hotel with great service & friendly staff then look no further, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The first thing that grabs the attention is the decoration. The 70's gadgets are nicely displayed and the rooms are very nice.

Wi-fi is available and in case you do not have your computer, a Mac is available.

The attention of the staff is superb. Congratulations to Ilana and her staff. They can help you with reservations, suggestions for places to go, locate specialized shops, etc.

The location is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
435 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,337 reviews
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#68 of 112 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £108 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect blend of chic urban design, helpful and professional service, and a fantastic location, then look no further. Villa Zest offers a different kind of experience. Our boutique hotel accommodation is something unique and distinctive. Each room is individually decorated and has an open planned en-suite bathroom that brings out the seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail. A seventies theme emanates throughout the hotel where trendy consumer electronics such as the colourful Toot-a-loop and Panapet radios are on display. This hotel is perfect for business or pleasure. Our breakfast, served until 12 everyday, has a following all of it's own and is always mentioned as being truly delicious and exceptional. Villa Zest has a well-earned reputation of pairing design style with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing