We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent the night of our engagement at Zest...couldn't have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spent the night of our engagement at Zest...couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 12 April 2011

What a truly fantastic boutique hotel, one of the best we have encountered on our travels. All the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful and the owner is always keen for a chat and will give you lots of great tips.

They really made our night with free champagne and chocolates. Rooms are spotless and beds are comfortable. The highlight for us was the included breakfast, a buffet and cooked brekky that runs till midday....the way all breakfasts should!

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for the poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    61
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
305
49
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

After reading numerous reviews we decided our first visit to Cape Town would include a stay at the Villa Zest Boutique Hotel. The choice was the best we could have made as our stay was a very special one. Unlike the many hotels which claim to be boutique hotels with a 50 plus rooms the Villa Zest lives up to what one expects in a boutique hotel - intimacy, a personalized hotel service and lots of space. All shared amongst 7 rooms only. Our positive experience started with our e-mail correspondences with Illana and Michelle who helped us put together our itinerary for the limited time we had in Cape Time. Though we only arrived at 11 pm after a marathon flight we were greeted with a big smile from the night porter who could see we were exhausted and immediately told us not to worry about the check-in and that we can do the formalities the next day. Another savior was that we had not eaten in hours and were able to order tasty fresh sandwiches. With the two days that followed things only got better and we felt truly looked after. The entire staff from the maids to front office were so friendly and genuinely concerned with our every needs. There is a warmth at the Villa Zest that can only be experienced not described. The best part is that we now have the Cape Town bug and look forward to next trip and a longer stay at the Villa Zest.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikitaughtme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2011

When I discover something very unique, I don't want to share it sometimes, to be sure others don't spoil it.
This mini hotel in number of rooms is outstanding for what you get for your money. You must enjoy modern art and design and you will find a harmony of the colors, objects and all details chosen by Illana itself. Breakfast is a delight, the contact with all the staff was just what we are looking for: not overwelming but anticipating and charming. As a conclusion I just want to thank Illana for this unique moment during our holiday and confirm her that we definitely come back.
Francis & Nadine

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We arrived quite early at the Villa Zest and the manager Illana and Michele welcomed us with a refreshing drink. Although our rooms were not quite ready for us we were allowed to store our luggage at the hotel which then found it's way to our room. NOTHING was too much trouble for Illana and her team. Advice on trips to make along with maps and details of how to get here and there and also the best restaurants to go to, of which there were many. The Villa Zest is a beautiful boutique hotel and our room was fabulous. Spotlessly clean with a lovely lounging area and pool at the back. I cannot recomment this hotel highly enough and we have stayed at hotels all over the world. We will certainly be back next time we come to Cape Town. Well done to you all!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2011

One of the most memorable stays we ever experienced! Thank you to Michelle and the other staff at Villa Zest for every little detail to make our stay truly awesome! So often people don't worry about the quality of the beds, but @ Villa Zest you have a 7 star bed.! We will be back!
Ronel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronel1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2011

I recently spent 5 days at Villa Zest in Cape Town. Really liked it a lot. I have never written a review before, but the people there were so friendly, accommodating and helpful, that I wanted to let folks know. From the moment I arrived to when I left, they were great. Eager to help with suggestions, answer questions, and even offered (without me asking) to allow me to stay well past checkout (5 hours) because the room I was in wasn't booked that night.

As for the place itself, it was quite cool. Very contemporary (all white) home with 7 guest rooms, great art, nice pool and yard area in back, and quite a bit of common space. Breakfasts were good (omelettes to order and continental). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only possible negative is that they had a open floor plans. I stayed in two rooms, and neither had a door to the bathroom and you could see shower and sink from the main room. The toilet was tucked away in an alcove that provided privacy. While this worked from a interior design perspective, it might not be right for everyone.

Location is close to waterfront and some good restaurant/bar areas. It is a couple blocks off the main drag, but I always felt safe walking there, even late at night.

Overall, I loved the place and would go back there in a second. And, of course, Cape Town is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

very friendly staff which will organize tours, recomend good local restaurants. If you are looking for a small hotel service, this hotel will not disapoint you. Many times the fcondition of the room/hotel is not what appears to be in the photos, but you will not be disapointed in this hotel.

The only drawback is the location (we ended up driving in a taxi everywere we went), although if you do not mind walking for 10-15 min it is fine. Next time we would have stayed closer to Watterfront or where the restaurnts are.

The toilet could use the door.

The WIFI was too weak in our room, so the internet kept going in and out.
Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel.

The people are very willing to help you out and the cleaing is extra detailed (compared to many 5* hotels I have stayed during my many business travels).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
416 reviews
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
347 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#73 of 109 in Cape Town Central
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,402 reviews
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing