We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Brilliant Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Brilliant Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My partner & I recently stayed at Villa Zest for 5 nights. The hotel is situated on a quiet street in Greenpoint. The hotel itself is light, airy, tasteful & has a great vibe. Our room was fantastic - especially the massive king size bed! The pool/lounge area was a peaceful & relaxing haven.

The staff were BRILLIANT. They were cheerful, helpful, friendly & made great recommendations for restaurants & things to do.

The breakfast was fresh, tasty & a very decent spread was provided.

I will recommend Villa Zest to anyone I know travelling to Cape Town, it is easily one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in & I hope to return one day.



  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRNJ_ADL_AUSTRALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    61
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
297
47
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This small and modern hotel is so well situated that you can easily walk to the V& A Waterfront.
The service, the staff, the breakfast are impeccable.
They surely deserve all the nice review and they are not taking anything for grated.
Well deserve first place in Small art deco hotel in Cap Town.
I will return there for sure.

Thanks to the friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This boutique hotel is a little off the beaten track but very worth it. Not that it's far away from stuff, just off the main drag and does require to go down smaller streets to get to it. It is secure, with a gate that requires you to speak to the receptionist to get in. Once inside, this place really is quite beautiful. I was sorry that I visited during the winter and didn't get to really experience it.

They upgraded me which was great. I was worried because it was a 1st floor room, but I never heard any of the other guests. The room was comfortable and spacious and the bathroom lovely. They have a pool and lounge area in the back which I wished I could have used (it was quite rainy during my stay).

In theory, there is free internet, but the company had an outage for the hotel's normal internet. The hotel was lovely enough to purchase a separate key for use during the outage. The breakfast was lovely and filling - lots of fresh everything. The same area is also the shared lounge area and very stylish!

The staff alone made the experience great - very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great room, great hotel, great location, super-helpful staff, lovely pool-area and fantastic breakfast! If I must complain about something I would say our room was a little small and I would have prefered a real door to the bathroom rather than a glass door that had big gap on the top and bottom, but the pool was 2 seconds from the room so one could hang there if the other needed privacy :)
We walked to Waterfront in the evenings, took just 10-15 min, then took cab back when it was dark, cost 30 rand if I remember correctly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSarah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Cape Town was the last stop of our first holiday to South Africa. When I researched hotels in Cape Town I originally wanted a hotel on the seafront (near V&A) however the rates were ridiculous so I looked for alternatives. I read a few good reviews of the Villa Zest and decided to make a booking. We stayed for 5 nights and were extremely pleased with our choice.

The hotel was about 10 minutes walk from the V&A and also well located for central Cape Town. If you have not visited Cape Town before you should note that it is not recommended to walk around at night, so wherever you stay you will need a taxi (inexpensive) or car. There is tight security around the hotel (which was a little disconcerting until you realise that all houses/apartments and hotels are similarly protected).

The hotel staff were ever so friendly and helpful, right from booking to our stay, they were happy to make recommendations/reservations (you must try the Test Kitchen...). We briefly met the manager (he was getting married the following day!) and he explained some of the history of the hotel. The hotel/room design is really cool, we booked a studio room which was very large and had plenty of storage. Wifi was free (and fast). There was a very pleasant garden with a small swimming pool. Breakfast is included in the rate and delicious. A buffet of fresh local food, including fruit, pastries, meats, cereals etc. You can also get a cooked breakfast and I had to ask the chef what spices she put on the mushrooms. We have brought back a tub of chilli beef seasoning which I plan to use this weekend, though am sure will not taste the same...

We loved South Africa and plan to return and would choose Villa Zest again if we return to Cape Town, thanks again to all the staff.

Room Tip: Studio room was large and comfortable (I think there were two in the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We arrived after spending the first two nights of our honeymoon in Stellenbosch. We like small hotels, lack of children ect.. The room was certainly on the small side & the misses would agree that the en-suite  could be a little more separate.. But the experience was made by the staff, could not of been more helpful, from booking our excursions and restaurants (all excellent) to general attentive service throughout.. Pool area was perfect for relaxing and all in all we had a superb time.. Like a paradise home from home..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

first, the staff is just exceptionally nice. WE saw 3 different person at the front desk, all more helpful than the others.

The hotel itself is so beautiful. Great rooms.

Only wished there was a real door for the restrooms...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing