We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic B&B with the feel of a 5-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2010

One of the nicest places we've stayed at. The friendliness and "can do" attitude of the entire staff are unsurpassed. The rooms are oversized, nicely decorated, and extremely clean. Breakfast is a lavish affair, with fresh fruit, pastries and eggs to order. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

Having heard both good and bad news about South Africa I was bit wary of taking my partner on our first deserved holiday outside of Europe. After terrible delay due to snow, we finally arrived in the sunny country of South Africa.

We shocked at how organised the airport was and at not having lost ANY of our luggage. We were picked up on our time by our chaffeur and whisked off in style to Villa Zest.

The pictures and ratings of this cosy little hotel were great but WOW what a surprise! Such a warm welcome by Jean, Alex and their team - everything was just perfect. The room, the layout, the service; they were always one step ahead and expected our every need. And the breakfast! Only continental though, but always an interesting selection every day!

Everything was just perfect! Only bad side is having to ring doorbell if you accidentally forgot something in your room!

Definitely go here again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johntom023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

A great little spot that is almost impossible to fault. A very friendly team from the reception staff to the ladies who prepare breakfast and make the rooms up. Nice and airy, great location, nice little pool and garden. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in Cape Town and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. It's great to see a small hotel getting all the details right. They seem to have worked hard launching this place over the last year and a bit and their dedication shows.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Staff is very welcoming and helpful. As mentioned in the other reviews, the rooms were immaculate. I'm usually pretty hard to please when it comes to cleanliness -- this hotel beat all expectations.

The pool was a great place to unwind. Breakfast was filling and they arranged to have something for me early when I needed it. They will organize a light sandwich or snack for lunch, but the hotel doesn't have a restaurant. I was there six nights and didn't want to go out every night after work -- the staff were helpful in ordering something for me through a local delivery service. Otherwise, they recommended nearby restaurants that I could walk too.

If I could have changed my flight, I would have stayed longer. I didn't want to leave. I'll definitely stay there next time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Two US couples spent 4 nights then returned for a fifth. Staff is highly enthusiastic and ready to assist. Small scale has a cozy feel. Rooms clean, efficient, well laid out.
Location away from high vehicle traffic but waterfront and shops 15 minute walk. Breakfast a treat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

So first off, airport pick-up pick up was there on time and we were greeted with a smile. The drive to Villa Zest was great, no traffic jams and a very informative and knowledgeable driver.
No sooner had we arrived we were greeted by the Zest family as if we had just returned from a vacation. Our luggage was swiftly and carefully (expensive kitesurfing equipment) whisked away where we would later find it neatly installed into our pristine room. Prior to our arrival all communication had been with the manager Desire, punctual and informative, the way it should be. Kevin the owner was there to meet us when we arrived which I thought was a nice touch, it was Desire's day off.

My first impressions of the place were great, I'm a stickler for fine detail and finish and this place was up there! Kevin offered us a drink and we chilled out on the roof terrace for half an hour whilst we (mostly me!) downed a bottle of chilled champers. When it comes to knowledge Kevin has certainly done his homework, especially being that he's a non native.

Our room was everything we expected including the big plush bed that comfortably swallowed you up, brilliant. Once again everything spotless and finished beyond most guests expectations of a hotel room.
My partner and I stayed at the Villa Zest for 3 weeks and stayed in 3 different rooms. We were asked if we would like to change room as an upgrade, why not! We left the hotel in the morning for a days excursion and upon return the only difference was we were given a different key. The staff moved everything, item for item and placed as if we had always been in that room.

Now here's something that you don't expect. My partner got very ill on our holiday, in fact so ill she was admitted to hospital with pneumonia. The Zest family visited like they were family indeed, flowers, chocolates the works, now that's something you don't expect.

Our stay in SA was extended a little due to my partner not being fit to fly. For the remaining time at the hotel all the staff went above and beyond any call of duty to help take care of her.

I could ramble on forever but my suggestion is that you just go check out Villa Zest for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiteJunkies N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

very nice hotel, excellent design, I would recommend to everyone who seeks tailor-made and exclusive places

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billithekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town
74 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#19 of 110 in Cape Town
429 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#68 of 110 in Cape Town
362 reviews
City Bowl
The Three Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel
#21 of 110 in Cape Town
396 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town
#18 Business Hotel in Cape Town
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town
Price Range: £103 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect blend of chic urban design, helpful and professional service, and a fantastic location, then look no further. Villa Zest offers a different kind of experience. Our boutique hotel accommodation is something unique and distinctive. Each room is individually decorated and has an open planned en-suite bathroom that brings out the seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail. A seventies theme emanates throughout the hotel where trendy consumer electronics such as the colourful Toot-a-loop and Panapet radios are on display. This hotel is perfect for business or pleasure. Our breakfast, served until 12 everyday, has a following all of it's own and is always mentioned as being truly delicious and exceptional. Villa Zest has a well-earned reputation of pairing design style with exceptional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing