We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over-priced and over-rated”
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I booked Villa Zest after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor. The location is ok, walkable distance to The V&A Waterfront.
I was rather disappointed. The room was a good size, nicely furnished and decorated but the layout was very odd. The bedroom was completely open-plan with the bathroom and there was absolutely no privacy when you are doing your personal activities.... I suspect not to everyone's liking!!
Also, no fridge in the room and it would have been nice to at least have some complimentary water in the room especially for the price you are paying. Breakfast was adequate and continental style, but they could make eggs if you asked.
Having to be buzzed in and out of the building got a bit annoying.

On the positive side, the staff tried to be helpful and made reservations for you eg restaurants. Unfortunately for us, they totally messed up our booking for the Robben Island Ferry trip and we missed the opportunity to go. Normally I make all bookings myself, but since they offered to do it for us, I reluctantly agreed which was a big mistake. This was the last part of our trip to South Africa on our last day in Cape Town and I was very disappointed that we didn't make it to Robben Island.

Overall, for the price fell below expectations.

(Recommend restaurants Baluga, Baia and Africa Cafe. Make reservations and for Robben island ferry 2-3days in advance.)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneySmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    61
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
304
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Great mix of design and service. Very good location. Super price/value ratio. Will come again. Petr & Klara from the Czech Republic

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoohPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

One of the nicest places we've stayed at. The friendliness and "can do" attitude of the entire staff are unsurpassed. The rooms are oversized, nicely decorated, and extremely clean. Breakfast is a lavish affair, with fresh fruit, pastries and eggs to order. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Having heard both good and bad news about South Africa I was bit wary of taking my partner on our first deserved holiday outside of Europe. After terrible delay due to snow, we finally arrived in the sunny country of South Africa.

We shocked at how organised the airport was and at not having lost ANY of our luggage. We were picked up on our time by our chaffeur and whisked off in style to Villa Zest.

The pictures and ratings of this cosy little hotel were great but WOW what a surprise! Such a warm welcome by Jean, Alex and their team - everything was just perfect. The room, the layout, the service; they were always one step ahead and expected our every need. And the breakfast! Only continental though, but always an interesting selection every day!

Everything was just perfect! Only bad side is having to ring doorbell if you accidentally forgot something in your room!

Definitely go here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johntom023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

A great little spot that is almost impossible to fault. A very friendly team from the reception staff to the ladies who prepare breakfast and make the rooms up. Nice and airy, great location, nice little pool and garden. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in Cape Town and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. It's great to see a small hotel getting all the details right. They seem to have worked hard launching this place over the last year and a bit and their dedication shows.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Staff is very welcoming and helpful. As mentioned in the other reviews, the rooms were immaculate. I'm usually pretty hard to please when it comes to cleanliness -- this hotel beat all expectations.

The pool was a great place to unwind. Breakfast was filling and they arranged to have something for me early when I needed it. They will organize a light sandwich or snack for lunch, but the hotel doesn't have a restaurant. I was there six nights and didn't want to go out every night after work -- the staff were helpful in ordering something for me through a local delivery service. Otherwise, they recommended nearby restaurants that I could walk too.

If I could have changed my flight, I would have stayed longer. I didn't want to leave. I'll definitely stay there next time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Two US couples spent 4 nights then returned for a fifth. Staff is highly enthusiastic and ready to assist. Small scale has a cozy feel. Rooms clean, efficient, well laid out.
Location away from high vehicle traffic but waterfront and shops 15 minute walk. Breakfast a treat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
415 reviews
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
344 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing