We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite spot in a busy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Highly recommended. We spent 3 nights in room 501. Separate living room and bathroom. Close to all the shopping and restaurants. Very good service. Staff went out of their way to look after even the small details. Only one issue. Not enough hot water to have a bath that is more then 1/3 full. Water heater tanks are to small. Hope they can solve this.

Room Tip: We loved room 1.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_River_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. Thanks for the kind words and constructive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Dock House on your next trip to South Africa!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Dock House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a fabulous hotel this is, more like a private guest house. The rooms, especially those on the first floor, are superb. We had room 5 with a fantastic terrace overlooking the lawn and the sea beyond.
It's an easy three minute stroll down to the dock area which has a multitude of shops and is very safe.
Staff are knowledgeable and very friendly, I would eagerly come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony and are more private
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Paul

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa. This gives me the opportunity to monitor our service to you, the guest.

Your complimentary remarks regarding our staff and services are sincerely appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dock House when next you visit Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay at The Dock House immensely. Great hotel, wonderful location. Kelly was just fantastic, really friendly and helpful. Cape town is a great destination & The Dock House is handy to everything. Will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pelm255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Good day

Thank you for your kind words and your great feedback on Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in the Dock House for the final 3 days of our honeymoon in Capetown and were made very welcome from the start. Kelly and the remainder of the staff made our stay so very special, it rounded off our time in Capetown in style. Nothing was ever any problem when seeking advice, bookings for trips or restaurant recommendations, and certainly the recommendations we experienced were first class, one being the Baia seafood restaurant at the V & A waterfront. We were in room 502, on the ground floor next to the dining room, the room and ensuite itself being massive, and very elegant, the doors opened and led out into a wonderful garden overlooking the waterfront. This hotel is unique because it is both in the center but also has a secluded feel which was ideal for us.
We cannot recommend this hotel enough!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMBresland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Good day

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I'm glad our staff and services could contribute to a wonderful end to your honeymoon.

Congratulations on your wedding, I hope you have many wonderful years together.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I were staying 3 nights in the V&A Waterfront area in Cape Town. When we checked into our original hotel we were told we were being given an upgrade to a sister property. Not knowing what to expect we went with the bellman in the car about 2 minutes down the street to our new hotel. What a great surprise we were in for! The Dock House is a beautiful luxury boutique hotel. There are only 6 rooms. Ours was on the first floor and had its own living room with a couch and big screen TV. There was a personal welcome note to us and a bottle of champagne waiting in the room. Across the hall was a huge marble bathroom with double sinks, large shower, tub and towel warming rack. Further down the hall were a luggage storage room and a master bedroom. The bedroom was beautiful. It had a king bed with a seating bench in front of the bed, large TV, dresser, as well as vanity to sit and do your make up and hair. This hotel was a dream. There was also a library if you wanted to use the internet. The staff was fantastic. We had a nice breakfast in the dining area in the morning. The hotel also has a spa and gym in case you are interested in those facilities. Every night when we got home from dinner there was turn down service with a nice "treat" on each of the night stands with a bottle of water. For not knowing what to expect from a "surprise" upgrade, the Dock House was unbelievable. The location was perfect walking distance to dinners and shopping. It was by far one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at in my life. It was a wonderful, relaxing stay especially when we were so far away from home. We loved it and would definitely recommend and stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Patricia

Thanks for your wonderful review on Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa, I'm very happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back to Dock House on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Dock House is a gorgeous boutique hotel perfectly placed overlooking the V&A Waterfront It felt like home from the moment that we were welcomed in, and the staff could not have been more attentive, thoughtful or friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, peaceful and well-appointed and have everything which you would need. The Dock House's amazing manager, Kelly, was so helpful and assisted us in getting tickets to Robben Island and to Table Mountain and to some of the best restaurants in Cape Town, as well helping us to check in for our flight. We used the gym, which has great equipment and has beautiful views over the waterfront, and we had massages in the spa, which were wonderful. We used their laundry service, and this was reasonably price, quick and reliable. Overall, a fantastic hotel, and we definitely will be back on our next trip to Cape Town!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Good day

Thanks for your lovely review on your recent stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you could make use of the various facilities we have on offer. I will also pass the complimentary remarks on to the staff and Kelly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dock House on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Dockhouse is a wonderful small hotel right by the V&A Waterfront. The rooms are large and very well appointed and we stayed in two adjoining rooms (with a connecting door) which, as we did, anyone with children would find a real bonus.

The staff, led by the lovely Kelly, are all fantastically friendly and helpful. Kelly gave us excellent recommendations for local restaurants and helped make advance bookings to various sights (a good idea).

The hotel has a small gym with modern equipment and a great view from the running machines! The spa was also excellent.

This is one of those rare hotels that we would recommend completely and without any hesitation.

A few other general hints: The rooms have plenty of plugs - mostly South African three round pin variety - but ours also had a British-style three pin plug point and a European-style two pin plug point.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Romulus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Good day

Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in respect of your recent stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. Your complimentary remarks regarding our staff, services and facilities are sincerely appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dock House when next you visit Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#48 of 111 in Cape Town Central
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock House Boutique Hotel

Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#54 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £264 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Town address that is suited perfectly to your needs. Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and opulent jewel in the crown of Cape Town's glamorous, world-famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, offering discerning guests, visiting dignitaries and celebrities exclusive accommodation and personalised yet unobtrusive butler-style service in an excellent world-class setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dock House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock House Hotel Cape Town Central
Dock House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing