We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perfect place to stay, not even 5 min walk to the Waterfront. Very luxurious accommodation and great view from the first floor. We stayed for 3 nights for our honeymoon and already planning to go back and stay at the Dock House again. Breakfast is great, having the option of enjoying the wide variety from the Queen Victoria Hotel buffet breakfast. The only issue is that the manager is in charge of Victoria and Alfred Hotel at the same time so sometimes it takes a few minutes for you to be able to speak to. There is no elevator.

Room Tip: Best view from the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Eduardo,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this wonderful review on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. We will make sure to look into the availability of our management team, to ensure they are more readily available to our guests. We are glad you are already planning your next trip and look forward to welcoming you back to the Dock House.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
143
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Accommodation perfection. Excellent position directly above the V&A. Rooms luxurious. Staff professional and unobtrusive but great attention to detail for example a bottle of cold water brought as soon as you sit in the sun lounge after a dip in the lovely little pool. Breakfasts a delight no buffet a great change after 3 weeks on the road but a great variety freshly prepared.
Loved room 5 upstairs with a lovely balcony with views across the harbour.A perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Janelle,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this wonderful review on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel.I am so glad that our small touches have made such a big impact on you. We really hope we will be able to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I visited after going to Kruger and needed some R&R. Dock House was the perfect spot to recharge. Our room was magnificent. Being a boutique allows the staff to cater to specific needs. The hotel was able to accomodate special requests at breakfast to meet my wife's dietary requirements. We had multiple interactions with the GM and other staff. You can tell that the staff are close and treat each other like a lovely family. My wife gave the staff (Justine and Zuko) hugs prior to our departure. This is a class act hotel. I look forward to future business trips to Cape Town and my stays at the Dock House!

Room Tip: you might not be able to get to bed early due to noise coming in from the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Corey,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this wonderful review on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I am glad we were able to assist your wife with regards to her special requests and will make a point to thank Justine & Zuko personally for their quality service! We look forward to welcoming you back to Dock House in the near future.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from our Honeymoon in Cape Town. Small Boutique hotel, with beautiful rooms, GREAT location on the waterfront, friendly, smiley and very helpful staff (thanks Justine!!!) and the option to eat breakfast in two other sister hotels which are right next door! What more can you ask for! Justine made all of our dinner reservations- all amazing...the staff go out of their way to do things for you and make your trip enjoyable. Every night, there is a small treat and water bottle provided on your bedside table which is very nice when you are coming back from a long day out to find a nice treat for you waiting in your room.

Wish we had stayed a few more days at Dock House. Enjoyed the use of the Gym, free Biking- which is great right on the waterfront and the delicious breakfasts! Thank u team at the Dock house for making our stay so nice in Cape Town!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3. Beautiful area- not even a room as you open your door, have a stair case going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeyTravels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Zoey

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write this wonderful review on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I will certainly pass the compliments on to Justine and her team - I'm glad to hear that they made your stay a memorable one!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We chose the Dock House because of all the reviews and it equalled the best of them. It is set in a great location next to the waterfront, and is a real oasis in the middle of the V&A buzz. The service was wonderful and personal - including a treat bottle of champagne on feb 14th - and the rooms were fantastic.


When we arrived, tired after a long journey, we were a bit disappointed not to have a balcony room (we were staying for a week) and they took on the challenge and worked miracles to sort it. But without some cancellations they wouldn't have been able to do it - so I would recommend asking for a 1st floor balcony when you book.

Would thoroughly recommend for couples.

Room Tip: Go for room 505 or 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely feedback on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is true luxury a classic that rates with any 5 star we have stayed in. The room is massive r 2 and very luxurious. Service from everyone is a can do and some more attitude. would recommend DASH the restaurant in the Queen Victoria anytime plus the bar service is second to none. Only draw back to r 2 downstairs (we asked for a balcony upon booking some time ago on line) is the noise from upstairs as the floors are wooden and the breakfast room next door. Plus the invasion of privacy as people from the pool area sit outside your door on the table and chairs situated right outside and people sitting by the pool can see inside your room unless you close the curtains. So all in all a great place to stay but probably best in an upstairs room with a better view. Must not forget the lovely security guys and also the lady who will do your ironing fantastic service with a big smile... thank you everyone.
ps more umbrellas by the pool would be good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellergb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Good day

Thanks for the lovely feedback on your stay at Dock House Boutique Hotel. I'm glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and hope we can make it more special on your next visit by placing you in an upstairs bedroom.

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel rooms are so big and clean. It is luxury room with very big bathroom. I recommend having very tight and controlled glass door between the rooms and the hotel garden. You have three choices to take your breakfast where they give you the choice to select between the hotel and the other two hotels around. The location of the hotel is the best among the other hotels around. Where it is only cross the street to be on the waterfront and on the Victoria mall. The staffs are so friendly and so polite

Room Tip: Rooms are Very clean The location is the best to waterfront Big and luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil M, Managing Director at Dock House Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Ibrahim

Thanks for the great review received on your stay at Dock House in December. I'm glad to hear that you found the location to be convenient and that you liked the rooms and service at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Neil Markovitz
Managing Director - Newmark Hotels, Reserves & Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock House Boutique Hotel

Property: Dock House Boutique Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Town address that is suited perfectly to your needs. Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and opulent jewel in the crown of Cape Town's glamorous, world-famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, offering discerning guests, visiting dignitaries and celebrities exclusive accommodation and personalised yet unobtrusive butler-style service in an excellent world-class setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dock House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock House Hotel Cape Town Central
Dock House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing