We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts, beautiful place, great view of the mountain”
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hosts, beautiful place, great view of the mountain”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The host was very hospitable. I was only able to stay for one night, but had a wonderful experience of the view of table mountain while having breakfast.
There's an area that we drove past, near the lodging that seems a little rough. But We hired a car to get there, so we didn't have problems with the location

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoYiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    67
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
187
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Upperbloem is the best hotel I have ever stayed in: Very nice and helpful owner and staff, modern and nice rooms, good breakfast, well-equipped kitchen and a great view on the Table Mountain and the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We enjoyed to stay at Upperbloem. The owner was very nice and we had a great room. The breakfast was also good and even if you want to have an early breakfast most is available.

The only negative part we can come on is that you have to drive/walk up a very, very steep road to get to Bloem Street. But that's only a minor thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ewald56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Katrin's guesthouse! She truly does her best so we can feel at home. The guesthouse is very well located and offers a magnificient view on the City Bowl and Table Mountain. The rooms and the bathrooms were clean and the beds really comfy. In the morning, an excellent breakfast is served and a refreshing swimming pool is at your disposal. To put in a nutshell, we hignly recommend this guesthouse !!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

It's so liberating with the simple yet stylish design, the amazing views, the self-service breakfast buffet and the very friendly and personal service. It really is a home away from home. Situated in a calm residential area still close to restaurants and shops in the city. OK - it's on a hill so it might be a bit strenuous to walk back home but taxis are cheap. All this at an incomparable price tag. You can afford many taxi rides....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Can't say enough good things Great view of the city and harbor. Katrin did a great job of making us feel at home. We stayed for 9 nights in the Apartment with the garden view. Close walk to Long Street and not too far from the City Center, which made it a very quiet little spot. Great little B&B LOVED it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eh74003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Upperbloem is really everything you could want in Cape Town. It has amazing views of Table Mountain AND the ocean, and is also in a lovely muslim neighborhood. It seemed like a lot of hotels were in a much less residential area, so was happy to be at our place!

There's a nice pool as well as a beautiful communal balcony that you can sit on and look at the ocean.

Katrin (owner), was extremely hospitable. She had a very generous breakfast spread every day and would call us taxis whenever we needed.

I would have paid twice the price for this hotel!

One word of advice: our taxis coming back to the hotel always had problems figuring out where Upperbloem was. So make sure you have a map when you go out!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The One 8 Hotel
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
255 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Antrim Villa
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Property: Upperbloem
Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing