We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bo-Kaap Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bo-Kaap Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wow! This is one of the best B & B's in Cape Town. It sits in the perfect spot to view the clouds come and go over Table Mountain. If you don't have a car, you will definitely stay fit with the trek up and down the street but the substantial breakfast will fortify you for the morning slog down the hill. Katrin is a superb hostess and she will help you to plan your day's itinerary if you chat her up. Her six rooms were fully booked and though we had the smallest room, it was good enough four our purposes. It was clean and comfortable. The wind howled the first two days we were there but the views made up for the wind that kept Table Mountain and the rest of the cape clear. The swimming pool looked inviting, but it was still a bit chilly for swimming. This is definitely a best value B&B for exploring Cape Town and the wine country.

Room Tip: Sounds echo down the short hallway from the eating area, so when late night guests are having a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkingthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    66
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
187
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

A woman traveling alone, I am so fortunate that I found this guest house on line. My room was clean, comfortable, had plenty of hot water, and a balcony with a fabulous view of the city harbor, Signal Hill and Table Mountain. It is located on a quiet street in the colorful Bo Kaap area, a five minute walk to catch the tour buses to all of the major sites in Cape Town, and is a perfect retreat after a full day of sightseeing. The owner Katrin, was most helpful and knowledgeable when planning activities, including arranging airport transfers in the middle of the night. The location, food, accommodation, and most of all Katrin, are outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proud2bTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a whirlwind search to find accommodation in the Bo-kaap on short notice, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Upperbloem offers neat lodgings, a swimming pool, an excellent breakfast and, last but not least, great views of Table mountain and Cape Town's city bowl. The staff was welcoming, accommodating and very friendly. My only regret is that I could not stay longer. Highly recommended, especially if you can get one of the rooms with a view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barend Jacobus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our South Africa trip. Katrin/owner is amazing! She is there to give you advice on rental cars, restaurants, and even recommendations on places to stay in other parts of South Africa (wine region, Kruger park) as well as Seychelles! She even lent us her personal gps so we can get around! Location is perfect, we walked to restaurants in town (5-10minute walk). Yes, it's on the top of a hill which makes the view amazing overlooking table mountain. But the walk is very safe, even at night time as we've done several times during our stay there. And the uphill walk is totally doable for a normal person and takes just 5 minutes. Rooms are clean and comfortable, great Internet, and breakfast is healthy and good! If you stay elsewhere you will regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms are good as its a small placeZ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohsamui_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Upperbloem in july 2013 and felt very welcoming. The room we had was big and very clean. In the morning there is a good and various breakfast. Free wifi is also available. Locations is great, just 5 min from Longstreet by foot. Waterfront shopping center is also a 5 -10 min away by taxi.
Don't hesitate, just book in this place. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice guesthouse in the quiet (& slopy) Bo Kaap neighbourhood. City centre and restaurants&bars are in a short walk distance. You get a pretty good breakfast plus juices, pastries, etc all day long in the shared kitchen, which has a balcony overlooking the city center and table mountain. Rooms are clean and functional, and the owner is really nice. Altogether, a very good choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The terrace of the guesthouse offers a great view of Cape town! Every day starts special, just having breakfast there. The rooms are very clean and the beds quite comfortable. The atmosphere is familiar cause there are only few rooms available.
The owner Katrin is a wonderful person, who gives helpful advice and tries to make very one as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Antrim Villa
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#77 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Property: Upperbloem
Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing