We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and economical”
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Convenient and economical”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Convenient location, friendly and helpful owner. Good value for simple stay. Large open "communal" breakfast/relaxation area is great with views of city and mountain, and large pool. Comfortable room with couch and convenient kitchenette.

I would recommend the addition of bedside tables and small complimentary bar of soap for use on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BillyBudd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    67
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
187
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great location overlooking Table Mountain, the city and the Waterfront and staff couldn't be more helpful. Rooms were airy and comfortable, shower was powerful and the communal breakfast room was a treat.

Very good value and highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HungryHippo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouda, Holland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

At the End of our Holiday we stayed in the Upperbloem in Capetown for 4 Nights. The Upperbloem is in the Bo-Kaap Part of this City. A very nice Area with all the coloured Houses. We had one Night in one of the Rooms and three Nights in one of the very spacious Appartments. Clean Room/Appartment with very comfy Beds and lovely Showers. The Breakfast was really nice and more then enough. When having Breakfast on the Balcony you have a breathtaking View over Capetown and Table Mountain. Katrin the Owner is a very nice warm Person and so was her Trainee.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gouwenaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wow! This is one of the best B & B's in Cape Town. It sits in the perfect spot to view the clouds come and go over Table Mountain. If you don't have a car, you will definitely stay fit with the trek up and down the street but the substantial breakfast will fortify you for the morning slog down the hill. Katrin is a superb hostess and she will help you to plan your day's itinerary if you chat her up. Her six rooms were fully booked and though we had the smallest room, it was good enough four our purposes. It was clean and comfortable. The wind howled the first two days we were there but the views made up for the wind that kept Table Mountain and the rest of the cape clear. The swimming pool looked inviting, but it was still a bit chilly for swimming. This is definitely a best value B&B for exploring Cape Town and the wine country.

Room Tip: Sounds echo down the short hallway from the eating area, so when late night guests are having a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkingthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A woman traveling alone, I am so fortunate that I found this guest house on line. My room was clean, comfortable, had plenty of hot water, and a balcony with a fabulous view of the city harbor, Signal Hill and Table Mountain. It is located on a quiet street in the colorful Bo Kaap area, a five minute walk to catch the tour buses to all of the major sites in Cape Town, and is a perfect retreat after a full day of sightseeing. The owner Katrin, was most helpful and knowledgeable when planning activities, including arranging airport transfers in the middle of the night. The location, food, accommodation, and most of all Katrin, are outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proud2bTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After a whirlwind search to find accommodation in the Bo-kaap on short notice, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Upperbloem offers neat lodgings, a swimming pool, an excellent breakfast and, last but not least, great views of Table mountain and Cape Town's city bowl. The staff was welcoming, accommodating and very friendly. My only regret is that I could not stay longer. Highly recommended, especially if you can get one of the rooms with a view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barend Jacobus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our South Africa trip. Katrin/owner is amazing! She is there to give you advice on rental cars, restaurants, and even recommendations on places to stay in other parts of South Africa (wine region, Kruger park) as well as Seychelles! She even lent us her personal gps so we can get around! Location is perfect, we walked to restaurants in town (5-10minute walk). Yes, it's on the top of a hill which makes the view amazing overlooking table mountain. But the walk is very safe, even at night time as we've done several times during our stay there. And the uphill walk is totally doable for a normal person and takes just 5 minutes. Rooms are clean and comfortable, great Internet, and breakfast is healthy and good! If you stay elsewhere you will regret it!

Room Tip: All rooms are good as its a small placeZ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohsamui_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Antrim Villa
#21 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#78 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Property: Upperbloem
Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing