We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great value, and awesome view!”
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good service, great value, and awesome view!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a few days during our Africa trip and the whole time we stayed in Capetown. What I liked the most about the place is the owner Katryn is very friendly, hands on, and very helpful for anything you need.

Accommodations are simple but nice. Breakfast is simple and good, prepared by Katryn. You can grab a drink or a quick snack anytime in the communal dining area where the internet is also found.

Please know though that the area like many parts in South Africa - remember to lock your doors and keep valuables away from open windows.

The most amazing thing here is a good view of the water, part of the city, and of course, Table Top Mountain.

I would recommend this place to people as we had a pleasant experience staying here.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms near the gate and it was very convenient to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlsoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    67
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
187
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Katrin(owner) was amazingly accommodating and responsive to requests. The room, despite being the smallest there was more than adequate with a great bed and best shower I had in Africa!

The common area had all facilities and it's adjoining balcony had an amazing view.

It's overall location was great - I am very cautious and just like any city you always need to be careful. But I never felt unsafe here.

Room Tip: I got the smallest room with no view - but I found that with the others having views and balconies I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We blindly booked a reservation last minute and landed in cape town at upperbloem. We were overly delighted with our experience. Clean room and common areas, helpful staff, nice breakfast included and a to die for view. Easy daytime downhill walk to bo-kapp, garden market, long street bars and shops. Cab necessary for way home but it's cheap sure to a central location. Tried to stay again as we passed through on the way back but it was booked.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After reading all ratings on Tripadvisor I have to say that this place is definitely overrated. The area around Upperbloem is quite unsafe and the broken fragments of car windows told its own story... Even though the place is quite close to the city centre it is necessary to have a car, as walking at night could be quite dangerous.

Our room was the next disappointment. We booked a room including a small kitchen and were welcomed by a dark and shabby looking place. Especially the mattress gave us nightmares and the furniture was already quite run down. Internet was only available in the common area whereas only a limited number of devices could log in. The breakfast and the view from the balcony were probably the only good points to mention but did not convince us.

All in all, I have to say that it is definitely possible to find nicer places to stay in Cape Town for this same price and especially located in better areas. The value-for-money ratio of 'Upperbloem' is rather poor :(

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have read some of the other reviews with interest and it is a steep climb and also very steep to drive up as well.....especially on a wet night!

That said, Katrin has a really good place and I was very happy staying here. We had the room overlooking the bay and it had the private balcony. I sat there every day either having breakfast or a drink after a day out just enjoying the magnificent views.

It wasn't the biggest room but it was comfortable and clean....the en suite.only has a shower and is smallish but didn't bother me at all. We loved the breakfasts and the buffet choice was extremely good and there was always plenty on offer.

Good pool area too if you fancy a dip. We got taxis to and from the property when going downtown and the cost was not expensive. Some of the taxi drivers had a sense of humour too!

Thank you Katrin for looking after us so well and I hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Private balcony room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Situated in Bo Kaap not far from the signal gun, this family run guest house has fantastic views of the city bowl and Table Mountain. The owner is extremely friendly and very accommodating to the needs of guests. The guest rooms are basic but clean and the Wi Fi and pool terrace are a real bonus for a hotel in this price range. My wife and I have visited Cape Town several times recently and this hotel is always our first choice when available.

It is worth noting that the hotel is situated on the side of a very steep hill. It is about a 10 minute walk from Long Street in Cape Town City centre and about a 40 minute walk from the V&A Waterfront but does require a level of fitness to get back up the hill.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rorcster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed the very hospital arrival. The hostess gave us practical advice for our stay. The room had a nice view over the city center. The breakfast was good as well as the wifi access. Upon arrival at the airport a taxi was waiting for us to bring us to the guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frederik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The One 8 Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
255 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Antrim Villa
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Property: Upperbloem
Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing