We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in beautiful neighborhood”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Perfect location, wonderful and ample rooms and delicious breakfast made the ROUGE ON ROSE a great accomodation. But it was the marvelous host Ursula and her son Michel who made the experience not only great but OUTSTANDING. They both assist you with everything you might need, they have perfect recommendations for anything and they take their time to satisfy all needs their guests might have - and the best thing is: they have great taste!!!!!! Thank you for this wonderful experience! We are already planning our next trip to South Africa and we will definitely not miss a stay at RoR.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aetherfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

What a warm inviting atmosphere in Cape Town. The Rouge on Rose was beautiful and full of interesting artwork. Both Ursula and Michel treated us like old friends visiting. The room was large enough to accommodate our grown son in our travels around South Africa. The breakfast was fabulous as we enjoyed sipping our coffee in the morning. We would love to stay here again if we traveled this way. An excellent choice for any traveler to Cape Town.

Room Tip: They are all good I assume. Our room was on the third floor with two balconies. These windows coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I can't thank Ursula and Michel enough for making my fabulous stay in CT even more perfect -- Rouge on Rose will always be my #1 choice of accommodation!!!!!!! Rouge is such a beautiful boutique hotel and has such an inviting atmosphere -- it is filled with warmth, friendship and laughter!

Room Tip: the rooms are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancingDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I had an amazing stay at Rose on Rouge.The rooms are big, cosy, clean and zen. The hotel is conveniently located, not too far from the Waterkant and Long street. The owners and staff are super friendly. I truly enjoyed my stay and will not go anywhere else when in Cape Town. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SML77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Absolutely amazing stay at the BB. Wonderful breakfast, good hosts (Ursula and her son, Michel) and large sized room with a wonderful bath and shower... i only wished that the shower was a lower level than the room such that water would not splash out and that there was at least a curtain between the bedroom and bathroom ... but it didnot stop me from fully enjoying the stay...

Our hosts even helped us to purchase some parts for our mercedes car.. and that was very nice of them.. Long street is 10 mins walk away and Waterfront around 30 mins away.. it is a great base to visit cape town and very safe..

Thanks Ursula and Michel

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanyukta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Rouge on Rose is an excellent place to stay and perfectly located just a short walk to any of the downtown destinations in the midst of the very colorfully painted houses of the Bo Kaap area. The boutique hotel has a very personal touch with hosts Urula and Michel willing to do anything to make the visit enjoyable and memorable. We needed to make some room changes once we arrived since I was traveling with an elderly relative and Usula and Michel could not have been more understanding and helpful in getting us set up.

Their Cape Town restaurant recommendations were right on as were those for tours and other outings. The breakfasts in the hotel were delicious and unique. The rooms were very stylish, clean, roomy and at the same time whimsical with handpainted adornments.

I would not hesitate returning to the Rouge on Rose or recommending it to others. My compliments to Ursula and Michael for a very well-run hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so select a lower floor if there are mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great design, great room and great breakfast: The location is top, only a short walk to long street with a lot of bars and restaurants. And if you follow the recommandation of Ursula and Michel, you can't go wrong. We loved our stay at Rouge on Rose, where we had fantastic stylish room, although we had to get used to the bathroom without doors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AN_AN_GRZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,288 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £93 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing