We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place Ever!”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We "hit the jackpot" when we picked the Rouge on Rose! If you are going to stay in Cape Town this is the place to be! The rooms are very large, comfortable and really clean. Ursula and her son, Michel, do an outstanding job to help you in every way from their suggestions for places to eat to the history of the area and things to see. Their staff is great, too. It is a very good location as well. Pick the Rouge on Rose and you, too, will be very happy with your choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_D4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 971 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

My friend and I had an absolutely superb experience at the Rouge on Rose. I think anybody would be very hard pressed to find even the slightest fault in any aspect of this absolute gem of a B&B.

Ursula and Michel could not have been nicer, nor more knowledgeable. Within minutes of walking in, we had multiple tours and excursions booked that were all well worth every last cent spent! These two put many a concierge in the finest hotels to shame.

Location wise, this place can't be beat. The neighborhood itself is wonderful and incredibly convenient to many fantastic restaurants, bars, museums, and anything else you could want. Ursula and Michel can point you in any direction you like to suit whatever sort of dining or entertainment option you're looking for.

The rooms are clean, spacious, well stocked and incredibly comfortable. We really felt at ease and "at home" after long days of exploring.

ALL of the staff we came into contact with were incredibly friendly, genuine, and had great senses of humor.

I could sit here all day and extol the virtues of this place. Really.

P.S. OMG, the breakfast! Amazing!
P.P.S Should you decide to hire a driver, we very highly recommend Myrtle. Her knowledge of different areas and history is wonderful, she's incredibly sweet, fantastically humored, and genuinely wants you to enjoy your time in Cape Town and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My friend and I stayed for a week at this beautiful B&B. Ursula and Michel are so nice, and Ursula was right on the ball booking us tours and a driver within our first few minutes of arriving at the hotel. (If you plan on hiring a driver, I highly suggest Myrtle. We hired her for two days and her insight into the history and landscape was super interesting. She's also very funny!) Breakfast is included and can I say, it was some of the finest eating I did on my whole vacation. The rooms are clean and HUGE! We were very comfortable during our stay. So many interesting museums, bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance. I can't recommend Rouge on Rose highly enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy_Trujillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed a week at this stylish boutique hotel based on recommendation and wasn't disappointed! Ursula & Michel are charming and knowledgeable hosts and offer a wealth of suggestions regarding great places to visit, dine and enjoy. The breakfasts were amazing and service from staff was faultless. My suite was spacious, stylish and the bed was so comfortable, I slept really well. The area is a little 'edgy' but I was offered an escort to and from local restaurants after dark if I wished but access by taxi was fine. I'd go back tomorrow, given the chance!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Rose on Rouge in October 2013, would highly recommend it to people who are looking for something different.
The rooms are spacious with a simplistic elegance. We loved the open shower in the bedroom and the King size bed was a treat.
It is perfectly located with a great view of the Bo Kaap.
Breakfast was great and the Omelet is a must try.
Would defiantly stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Rose on Rouge, would highly recommend this place, Ursula was the hostess with the mostess1 She gave us amazing recommendations and we ate and drank in all the best places! It is perfectly located with a great view and the breakfast is amazing and like something you would get in a hotel! It's very unique and stylish loved it and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanyafleming1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A friend recommended the Rouge on Rose to us. Perfect. Perfectly located, easy parking just in front and a wonderful room with a lot of space. Great view , even out of the window, walking distance to restaurants, Supermarket etc. The owner are extremly friendly, helpful and always there for us. We enjoyed it very much and I recommended it already to another friend.
Breakfast was a delight - what a nice start in a wonderful day.
Thank you to Ursula and Michel for all the help and recommendations,
we love to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagmar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,288 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £92 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing