We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little hotel in Cape Town”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best little hotel in Cape Town”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I don't know why am sharing this review as the hotel will become so popular I may have difficulty booking a room. This was our 4th visit and we were treated as friends rather than guests. The rooms are large and spacious with a wet room and the breakfast was a treat, the staff were pleasant and helpful as always. Ursula and Michel have a wealth of knowledge about Cape Town so seak thier recomendations for resuratants

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    112
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
103
474
139
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A wonderful place to stay during a visit to Cape Town. The hotel still looks like it did in 2009 when we first visited: clean, spacious rooms, great beds and really helpful hosts. Ursula and Michel will help you with every question you have and the restaurant serves the best breakfast you will ever have!
Located in the city center, the hotel is the perfect place to start exploring Cape Town on foot. A visit to Cape Town is not complete unless you have stayed in Rouge on Rose. Next time we're in Cape Town, we will definitely visit this hotel again!

Room Tip: All perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice, well run establishment. The owner and her son are very welcoming and Accommodating. Rooms were comfy and very clean. Stand alone shower is nice and modern (no curtain, but holds water well.) the HUGE garden tub (w/bath salts!) and comfy bed were very much appreciated after 23 hours of flying to get to CPT from the U. S. Breakfast was VERY good. There is a small menu that you order from and each person's plate is made to order. My only complaint is the street noise was VERY loud at night. We were woken up several times during the night by loud-talking people and motorcycles. Also, ask the front desk for recommendations. They pretty much know it all! Try Haas and The Savoy Cabbage. Both within minutes of the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, ideal to visit all that Cape Town has to offer plus just a short walk to many decent restaurants and the town centre including the waterfront.
Ursula and Michael were both very friendly and always available with advice and tips.
The room was very large and comfortable with a good size bed, we were on the top floor and a lift would have been handy but after the fantastic breakfast that was served every morning I was glad of the stairs to run off the extra flab!
if we were in Cape Town again we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Perfect location in the City Bowl. We felt quite at home in our spacious and nicely funished suite.
Lovely experience and very helpful and friendly hosts.
We particularly appreciatet that breakfast is being served at table (no self service buffet).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my wife were recently married and had decided to go to cape town. We stayed here for 6 days and it was one of the most memorable experience.
Ursula and Michael as already made evident by many others were the best hosts. They took time to make a detailed itenerary for every day. They would arrange a cab whenever wanted. Ursula even took time to buy a cake and card for us as a wedding gift.
At night it would get a little scary to walk to even the nearby restaurants. The guys at reception at night Christian and I forgot the name of the other, Rocky I think. They would walk us to the restaurants and pick us up. That was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nameet1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Spent 2 nights on my own at Rouge on Rose, a lovely experience : first of all they organized my transport from the airport, which was really helpful; the suite was very comfortable and nicely furnished, looked like a home, not like a standard hotel room. Michel gave me all the information I needed for sightseeing. I would have liked to stay longer and hope to go back .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Property: Rouge on Rose
Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing