We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in cape town!”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Rouge on Rose hotel in Cape Town was amazing. Highly recommended! Excellent cost-benefit choice, perfect location and a very good breakfast. All the staff are avaiable all day long. Cheers to the owners!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarlosRJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I plus another couple stayed at Rouge on Rose for 5 nights in August 2014. We selected it after a thorough review of several web screening/review services -- such as Trip Advisor and Bookings.com. This boutique hotel was simply fantastic -- with unique decor, spacious rooms (with kitchen facilities inside), wonderful staff, great breakfast and an amazing owner. The decorations are unique, with an artistic flair -- it definitely earns its "boutique" moniker. The breakfasts were incredible, not only flavorful but with great attention to presentation -- unmatched by any B&B or hotel we have stayed in in the last 30 years. The location in the Bokaap area is perfect -- surrounded by the colorful houses of this historic area but near the Waterfront and central part of town (easy walking distance to the latter). But what sets this hotel apart is the staff -- starting with the proprietor, Ursula, and her son, Michel. They were so helpful, from deciding what to do, to quickly arranging transportation, providing advice. Each day after our tours we would sit with Ursula and talk about the day, over a glass of sherry (and yes, it was free). We learned so much from her and Michel -- it was like having tour guides "in house." They are so proactive, taking care of so many of the details without request -- making the vacation experience painless. When we return to Cape Town some day we will definitely stay here. Highly recommended!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Rouge on Rose Boutique hotel in Cape Town was an absolute delight to stay at. The decor is devine and playful, the location is central, with quaint colourful buildings surrounding the hotel, putting you in a happy mood the minute you step outside. The breakfast is wonderful, beautifully displayed with healthy options. The owner and staff are extremely helpful and friendly and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the room , breakfast and the kind assistance of our hosts . Five star treatment and four star prices - top pick in Cape Town !! My advise don't stay anywhere else! The only slight issue was the wake up call from the mosque in the morning but even that quite refreshing to my normal alarm call . Thank you Ursula, And Team . Linda thank you for the best breakfast ever .

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at rouge on rose hotel and Ursula and Michel were wonderful hosts. The hotel has spacious rooms really well kept and the breakfast was super! Also we got a tour to the cape of good hope and beyond with Myrtle arranged by the hotel and it was fenomenal! I highly recommend the hotel to anyone staying in cape town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S0lange78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We tried this hotel based on reviews and cost. It is unique, clean and conveniently located (Walking distance to downtown and the Waterfront). What is the best is the staff! The owners are friendly, share a wealth of information about the area, assist in helping with any travel plans and truly made s feel welcomed! The breakfasts are awesome and rooms we had offered great comfort! We originally planned to stay at Rouge on Rose our first week, and upon our return to stay at the Waterfront…After the first week there, we cancelled our reservation with the other places and booked again with Rouge on Rose! We came back to stay two more times before heading back to the states! I feel we not only had a unique and enjoyable stay there, but we arrived as guests and left as friends! I don't know when we will ever return to Cape Town, but when/if we do, I definitely know where we will be staying!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A superb stay at Rouge On Rose from start to finish and a very warm welcome to South Africa in Cape Town's Winter! Ursula and Michel answered every question that we had about Cape Town and how best to take it all in, be it from the perfect restaurant on our first night (Der Anker - FYC) to tours of Cape Point and Wine Country to ensure that we could efficiently see the best of Cape Town in the 3 days that we were there. The property is well maintained, our specific room request was completely adhered to and the spacious, comfortable rooms with views of beautiful Bo Kaap put the icing on the cake for this hotel. Thank you once again to Ursula for being such a great host and welcoming us into Rouge on Rose, and Cape Town, wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TanAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,315 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,879 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £91 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing