We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
906
121
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
121
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbo kaapboutique hotelopen showercolorful housescall to prayerno elevatorlong streetsavoy cabbagestay in cape townlovely boutiquegreat hostsour room was spaciousbreakfast was delicioussignal hillwalking distancesouth africafantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stayed for 7 nights for a leisure trip in June 2017, and found the hotel to suit our needs perfectly. It is well located on a quiet road on the edge of the Bo Kaap area, and just a couple of blocks walk from Long Street, which contains a range of local amenities. This is also where one of the main stops is located for the open top bus tour (which we found to be a great way to get around the city), and the starting point for free walking tours, which again were brilliant. The hotel is also just a short Uber ride from the V&A Waterfront, which was really convenient for going out in the evening.

The room was modern, spacious and comfortable, with a really large bathroom. The breakfasts in particular need a special mention as they were absolutely outstanding and delicious. A perfect start to a day of sightseeing.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the owners Ursela and Michel were able to advise us on everything from the best sights to go and see, how to get around the city, as well as general safety tips. Michel went out of his way to find us some of the best restaurants to visit for South African food and even called a restaurant at short notice to make a booking for us.

Overall a really good small boutique hotel that offer a personal touch to make your trip enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yoooart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Manager at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you so much for that comprehensive review...you said it all and we thank you for that....as you said we sure do have a wonderful assortment of restaurants in very close proximity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This hotel is perfectly located at the edge of Bo Kaap and a 5 minute walk from Long st (the central bar and restaurant street). Perfectly quiet and also central. (before we went we were advised to stay in the Waterfront district as being 'safer'. Really glad we didn't as it is a bit tourist tacky). Rooms are very spacious, beds comfy and the hosts couldn't do enough with help and good advice. The breakfast was excellent. No bar or restaurant but given the location this is not a problem. This would get 5 stars except there is no lift and as we were on the 3rd floor it was a climb. Highly recommended and if I ever go back i will try and stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room on 1st or 2nd floors (only 3 rooms per floor)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scoll365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Manager at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review ROR...we are so glad that you decided on the Bo-Kaap in favour of the Waterfront accommodation....so sorry about the lift...please let us know next time and we will put you on a lower floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I stayed 8 nights for a Conference in Cape Town. Firstly, Ursula and Michel are excellent advisers through the whole stay. Even before you arrive, among some tips by email they give you a heads up for a top tour in the area (robben island) in order you don't miss the opportunity to get the tickets if you are planning to do so. The staff is very kind and helpful. Also, they provide a good and fresh breakfast!
I had a situation one day arriving to the hotel. When I got to the room I realized that I left my cellphone in the Uber car that just dropped me off. Michel quickly moved to get information regarding how contact the driver for a lost item. Using the information, I sent a email through my laptop to the company and the driver call right away to the hotel desk. In less than an hour the driver was there returning my cellphone!!
The hotel location is great, walking distance of restaurants, shopping, tours office and the business center as well. Definitely, I recommend to any one looking for a comfortable nice stay at Cape Town with the + hospitality of Ursula - Michel and their staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bertito03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Manager at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

So glad you had a good time...am also glad about the Uber experience...they are definately the way to go here in our city...and registering is just as painless...it was pleasure having you stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

A big thank you to Ursula and Michel and their staff for adding the little extra to our stay in Cape Town. The room, the breakfast, the service: everything was above our expectations. And what ever you do: listen to their advices for good restaurants in Cape Town. They saved all our nights out.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gussibaluba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Owner at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

So glad you enjoyed our choice of eateries...we are so spoilt here in Cape Town...a large variety of restaurants all within walking distance of Rouge on Rose...

With kind wishes

Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Rogue on Rose is definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed at. The place is spacious and beautiful, well decorated, tidy, clean and it is an excellent location.
The service was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The quality of the breakfast was very very good and the owners made us feel welcome and at home.
My next stay in Cape Town will be at Rogue on Rose, I recommend it to friends and others.

Room Tip: Great location and value for money
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RougeonRose, Owner at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hey Ayman...glad you enjoyed Cape Town and as you said you will be back...work and or pleasure makes Cape Town a special place.

With kind wishes

Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews