We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, fantastic rooms”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We have had 3 great days in Cape Town.
Much of it due to the help and support of the owners who take care of every little detail.
Rooms were very large and decorated with a lot of taste. Breakfast was also delitious.
Their recommendations on what to visit and where to go were just perfect.
In a foreign country with felt just at home.
I would recommend this place to everybody without any doubt.
Thanks a lot Ursula and Michel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilkiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was very spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. Location was convenient and security was very good. The food in the restaurant was 1st class and wouldn't hesitate stay here again when I come back to Cape Town. SLowe, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

The rooms, breakfast, and Ursula's helpfulness and friendliness made this hotel stand out. It is situated on Rouge Street where there are a series of hotels named by their colors, eg. Orange on Rose. It's a few blocks walk to GreenMarket where there is an outdoor market and myriad cafes and restaurants and a great street vibe. It is walking distance (but about 20 minutes) to the waterfront.

But the best part were the elaborately staged rooms that look like (and in one case was being used as) they could be movie sets. The bed was very comfortable and there was both a freestanding, oversized soaking tub and a shower. The included breakfast at the cafe downstairs was a real treat - both the omelette with smoked salmon and the granola parfait were really outstanding.

If I had to pick on something, they had a complicated set of remotes that took a day to figure out to actually get a channel that I wanted.

Finally, Ursula, the owner, was remarkably helpful and can arrange anything you could possibly want to do in Cape Town.

And the price was half what you'd pay in any major city in the States.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_wanderer023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

You need to go inside to appreciate this delightful boutique hotel as the outside does not do it justice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Feels like staying with family and friends. All the help and service You can ever wish for.
So fresh feeling and very beautiful rooms – funny not to have a bathroom door ..!
You can stay much cheaper in Cape Town, but not much nicer.
I just love this place – only a swimming pool could have made it better!
And more choices (without extra costs) at breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsipulani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to Rouge on Rose having booked Rose B&B just opposite (which we believe is very nice too!). We were given an apartment on the 3rd floor (this place doesn't have a lift but we didn't mind the stairs - helped up work off some of the copious amounts of lovely food which we scoffed in SA!). It has a kitchen and dining area, a sitting room with a really comfortable sofa, and a nice bedroom with a walk-in shower, separate loo and sink. The walk-in shower was a lovely touch with a huge shower head. The bed was really comfortable. The whole place was lovely and spacious. They have decorated it all really well, very stylish. We were staying on a B&B basis so we had breakfast in the cafe downstairs - the food was good, although we did wonder what happened to the butter? None in sight! Nevertheless, it was tasty and although there were only three options on the menu, we did not get bored.

The location is great, 5 mins to Long St, 10 mins to the station, and we felt very safe during the day and at night the security guard would always be looking out for us when we returned. It is central enough to walk everywhere, but still in a peaceful road.

Ursula and Michel, who run the place, are very friendly and really helpful.

I can't fault this place really. It is very good value for money (even if we had been paying full rate, which we weren't having been upgraded). I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely look to stay here again on our next visit. First-class.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Boorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

my daughter and I spent 5 days at Rouge on Rose in CT. a small but quaint family business run like clock work. I am a stickler for detail, presentation and reception when my money is involved. I could not fault this establishment on anyone of the above. The place was clean and tastefully decorated ,simply but with care and attention to detail. I am also a family oriented person and I was happy to see a young man like Michel helping his mother without complaining. Our children today just want to hang out and up to no good. This to me was impressive. And Michel keep it up.

Finally for the price one is getting more than their money's worth. Its proximity to the Cape quarter and water front makes it an ideal place to stay. personally Ihave found mysely a second home. I have told all my friends to stay there ,its worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,304 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,870 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
221 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £87 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing