We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Glenn Dale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed at Rouge on Rose from 7/12/2010 to 7/15/2010 I found the staff very helpful and friendly. The place is a clean and great artsy hotel centrally located to many major attractions in Cape Town. Breakfast was unique and excellently prepared, Michel Boutry and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make reservations for us and offered recommendations about where to go and what to see while in Cape Town. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visting Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loclady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    112
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
103
474
139
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Rouge on Rose was the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. It's located in Bo'Kaap. It's easy to find and located very central. You can take a walk to many places within the city. The surrounding area is pretty nice. We like the decorated style of the hotel, modern and a kind of ethno style. Our room was pretty nice, very spacious with lots of light coming from outside due to the many windows we had. Ursula is a truly ambassador of her city, she helped us a lot with ideas of what to do, where to go, where to eat etc.... Excellent service and a very personal treatment. It's a unique place and I can recommend it to everyone. Enjoy it !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBU1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This bed and breakfast was a wonderful place to stay for my week long visitation of Cape Town. I was given advice on trails for my morning jog and where to find the cheapest souvenirs. When I asked for one copy of a sheet of paper that was somewhat ruined, I was not only given multiple copies (which I needed), they also found me a clearer version of the image that was on my copy.
Breakfast......was absolutely delicious and many of the workers there are very hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judge2b826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel is located quite appropriately,not far from the CBD,less than a 10 mins walk. It is also less than a 10 mins walk to some good bars,restaurants and clubs. The rooms were trendy, very comfortable with very warm staff who were always willing to make my even more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkur80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We spent one night at Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel and had a wonderful stay. We loved the stylish rooms with a magnificient view on the colored house of Bo-Kaap and the spacious and modern bath-rooms. As it is in the city centre of Cape Town it is not a very quiet place to stay but only a few minutes away from the Waterfront by taxi (walking is not recommended). Ursula and Michel are wonderful and very nice hosts and we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We wanted to see our city, Cape Town, as visitors from elsewhere on the continent and from abroad see it, choosing Rouge on Rose for our overnight stay. Ursula is an excellent hostess -- warm, friendly and helpful -- and we much enjoyed chatting to her over breakfast. The hotel is on the fringes of the Bo-Kaap, so convenient for exploring that historic area, and close to the shopping and eating pleasures of the Cape Quarter precinct. Although Ursula had warned that the city's night life might obtrude, it didn't -- we were cocooned in quiet. A concern was street parking, but an all-night guard diminished our anxiety on that score. All in all, to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnekloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Nice, stylish place with beautiful spacious rooms, at least the one we had. It was a bit noisy in the evening, especially on a Saturday night, situated on a rather busy street corner, but what can you expect in the middle of the city? Good location, close to the city centre and the Waterfront, in a more multi-cultural area (I love to be waken up by minarets although my husband who uses earplugs slept like a baby). The very friendly owners/managers helped us with transfers and taxis and different suggestions for things to do. Unfortunately though we came to Cape Town 20 hours than originally planned due to flight problems so we did not have as much time as we wanted to... A self-service facility or mini-bar would have been great as drinks and snacks were not available after hours and there were no shops or restaurants just next to the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malingreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Property: Rouge on Rose
Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing