We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel - 6 star!”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at the One & Only Cape Town in February 2011 for 5 nights with our son who was 18 months old at the time. It truly was the best hotel we have ever stayed at.
From the whole hotel which has an unbelievable scent, to the personal butler and pillow menu we could not fault one thing about this hotel.
We were made to feel like royalty from the moment we arrived.
The hotel is situated right next door the Cape Town Waterfront - easy walk and has beautiful views of the luxury apartments and pool and spa area.
The rooms are increadible and spacious and for our baby they provided a wooden cot (no tacky plastic camp cot) with hotel baby linen, a whole pack of baby products and the bathroom evern had a nappy bin.
The breakfast was exceptional - anything and everything you could possibly wish for and imagine.
The spa goes down as the best spa I have ever been into - we did not have any treatments but just using the facilities was incredible.
The kids club also is the best we have encountered with our little boy actually asking to go every day. The mauritius hotels could learn a thing or two from this kids club. Even the room service menu caters for children with the fish fingers and chips being made from fresh fish (not the bought frozen kind). Great poolside menu as well. The pool is great with trays of suntan lotion etc should you have forgotten yours and even lego etc for kiddies.
So overall a truly amazing hotel and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would go for the Island rooms - in the centre surrounded by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

Knowing the reputation of exclusive hotel group One&Only, I went to this property with high expectations and was excited to find they all were met or exceeded. It is located a stone's throw from the V&A waterfront, but removed enough to feel completely private and quiet. The rooms were large and expectedly well appointed with a menu for pillows and even a daily aromatherapy "scent" for each night by choice. ("bed of roses" choice included candles and rose petals all over the room). Standard turndown included soft bedside slippers for each of us, homemade chocolates along with complimentary still and sparkling water in pull-out shelves built into each side of the bed. The staff was incredibly friendly and happy to chat about their town, and ask about ours. Despite not being waterfront, the hotel maximises its amazing view of Table Mountain with 2 story floor-to-ceiling glass windows in the lobby/bar area. Cocktails were high quality, and the ESPA spa was one of the best I've been to - private treatment rooms arranged in a winding labyrinth by the pool scattered between ponds and relaxation areas. Coming from London, aside from the room price itself, the rest was also great value for money (as was most of Cape Town) - expertly made fresh cocktails for the equivalent of 4 pounds. Nobu located in the hotel was tasty as other locations, and the breakfast spread is almost ridiculously big with 8 different fresh juices, the requisite omelette bar, several tiers of different local oysters on ice, etc. The only minor complaint is Reuben's - the food was good, but since breakfast is served in there everyday, going for dinner lost its ambience and kept the same bright lights. The pool is stunning with water massage seats built into the foliage, and the staff there was wonderful - they knew our names after the first hour and reserved our favorite seats as soon as they saw us walking over. If you want a peaceful break in the city (or just a luxurious spa stay), I'd definitely repeat this one!

Room Tip: Confirm a mountain view, or take a corner room with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlsnyc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Loved this hotel, which is only 6 star hotel in Capetown (not that I have stayed in many)! whilst bigger than the Cape Grace and maybe not as intimate it is a great hotel for business travellers which is why I was there. Great facilities including a Nobu restaurant and Reuben's bistro and the staff from great concierge Chris to housekeeping staff are so friendly and helpful which is always welcome when away from home on business. Bedrooms amazing. I imagine in the summer when weather is better one could wile away a few pleasant hours by the lovely pool. Situated on the buzzy waterfront you have plenty of amenities and entertainment close by. If you want a smooth transfer to a from airport book with the hotel as again the staff are great. I will return

Room Tip: Marina rooms with great views of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at the One and Only while on vacation in South Africa. The hotel is fantastic! We had a beautiful room facing Table Mountain, and what a view it is. The people who work here are the nicest we have ever encountered at a hotel, every request was handled perfectly. We had dinner at Reuben's our first night and it was delicious. A perfect way to start the vacation. The bed was incredibly comfortable and we especially loved the shower and bathtub. Location near the V&A waterfront was great, plenty of shopping and restaurants. A truly special hotel in a truly special city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Lovely rooms and great service. Felt a bit isolated from the famous Cape Town views but this hotel makes up for that in the tranquility it offers. Food lovely and great access to the aquarium and waterfront - important as we were traveliing with our 2 small chidren (aged 5 and 2).Hotel staff incredibly kid friendly.Nice kids play area except that my kids were the only ones there! The lobby quite a hub of activity and very vibey. l. verall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I was so thoroughly impressed with every aspect of this hotel. From the moment we were met at the door, shown to our spectacular room (unbeatable view!!!), enjoyed the fantastic spa treatments .... right through to a simply delicious breakfast!!!!! The service was exactly what I would expect from a good 5* hotel .... attentive, friendly, unassuming staff .... I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstym_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to comment so in depth about your stay with us and sharing your enjoyable experience at The One&Only Cape Town on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that we have met and exceeded your expectations. We strive for service excellence and to create One&Only moments of perfection which will be treasured forever. We seek to provide a service that is both efficient yet unobtrusive, and I am delighted to learn that is exactly what you have experienced.
I would like to thank you again for your kind words and will share your positive feedback with the team.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gerhard Erasmus
EAM - Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Everything was fantastic. Walking distance to the waterfront. Beautiful scenery. Well appointed rooms. Excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GErasmus, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at The One&Only Cape Town and for the incredibly kind words with regards to our excellent service, the appointment of our rooms and our location in proximity to the V&A Waterfront. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will share your positive feedback with the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gerhard Erasmus
EAM - Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £477 - £1,619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing