We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On & Only Cape Town”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On & Only Cape Town”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went to the Only and Only in Cape Town, and it is must. Wonderful hotel, excellent accommodation, really good food, and the staff are very helpful. Right next to a beautiful marina, and close to all the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    199
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
395
738
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Excellent location near/on the Waterfront, yet very quiet rooms (we had a Table Mountain facing room in the main building). Stayed for 4 nights. The overall service was really very good, with exceptional friendly and efficient concierge assistance from Linda and a wonderful Chris Noone (his Cape Town restaurant recommendations are spot on ... see separate reviews). Only remark about the rooms is the rather complex way to operate the TV but hey, that's just detail. We had breakfast daily at Rueben's, and it was sumpteous and of excellent quality, with friendly service at all times. Wonderful pool and pool area, although it tends to get a bit overcrowded, with the usual mess of left/dropprd towels , though staff tries hard to clean-up after guests. Wonderful gym ... one of the best hotel gyms I have ever come accross anywhere. We did not use the Spa. Oddly enough (and as remarked elsewhere), hotel security is at the same time inexistant as entry from the rear is wide open e.g. via the waterway boat tour landing platform and quite tight as elevator access is restricted to your own floor, 1st (for the gym), ground floor and basement.
We found the overall quality of rooms, facilities and service marvellous.
We will definitely return when in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is Definately the best hotel in Cape Town. The rooms are massive and the hotel is in a great area. You can walk down to the waterfront very safely. We stayed there for 10 nights, we will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: All the rooms are extremely big
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great location, amazing meal in Nobu with very helpful staff! The Spa is out of this world with amazing team and facilities! Housekeeping - hit and miss depending on who serviced my room. Great concierge team. Good service at breakfast although you do have to ask for the menu - I think it should just be given to you. Not enough dessert options for room service! Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We are loyal O&O clients, and so there was no question on where we would stay at Capetown. We stayed for 6 nights at an Island Room. However, the experience overall was disappointing and it is by far our least favorite O&O resort. The hotel markets itself as a 'resort hotel in the city". However, it felt more like a big, busy city hotel than a resort. It lacks character. Our biggest issue was service. Service was impersonal, inconsistent and not up to other O&O’s high standards.

Even though management was 'visible' in the physical sense, they rarely interacted with guests or tried to personalize the experience for us. Which is extremely unlike O&O culture. The Resort Manager seemed more of a desk clerk running a bank. You could sense there is some sort of a disconnect between management and the rest of the staff across the resort.

The Island Rooms are very nice and spacious. Service everywhere was a hit or miss. Housekeeping was never consistent. Service at breakfast was inconsistent.
The pool had the worst service of all. We usually would be out all day and arrive at the resort around 4 pm to hang out by the pool. By then, the pool attendants were never visible (we always had to seat ourselves, get our own towels, and look for someone to order from). The pool staff looked exhausted. And then every day at around 5:15 pm, the pool attendants would start cleaning up the pool area. Removing mattresses and stacking them up on top of each other, moving the pool chairs around. The LAST thing you need as you are relaxing around the resort's pool area is people cleaning up and moving furniture around you. It seemed like they were just dying to pack up and go home. The sun sets at 8 pm... to start packing up at 5 pm seems strange especially that there are hotel guests all around the pool still. However the food at the pool at Isola was fantastic.

Massages at the spa were excellent. Expect the changing rooms were a mess. Towels and robes thrown on the floor. And by the time I was back from my session, the mess had doubled.

Concierge service was excellent and everyone there was knowledgeable and helpful.

We had dinner at Nobu and I would strongly advice to skip it. The place is cold and had a cafeteria-like feel. The food was poor and not up to par with other Nobu restaurants.

Security was also an issue. As another reviewer had pointed out, you can access the hotel from the V&A Aquarium side without going through the hotel's main lobby. Even though the hotel on that side is surrounded by other gated communities, the hotel has no gated access nor visible security. That gives practically anyone direct access to the island rooms.

One and Only management needs to evaluate this property. It lacks the personalized and exceptional service that O&O is known for

Room Tip: Island rooms are more spacious but no direct view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A reall fantastic room with huge balcony overlooking the harbour;great bathroom and the turn down service was very sweet as it was our anniversary. Reubens was great for the breakfast choices and the stay was incredible value for money. Attention to detail very impressive even down to the current magazines in the room. Any bugbears? The mini bar and snacks are very expensive but as that's an option to use didn't have a great impact on my stay and not a very exciting range of TV channels. I was very pleasantly surprised with our stay. Ideal if you want a luxurious stay at the Waterfront.

Room Tip: The level one rooms on the harbour side have the biggest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkydunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was one of the most beautiful hotels that I have ever stayed in. The location is brilliant, close to the V&A Waterfront. Spaceous, clean, friendly staff and the food is first class. The bathroom is heavenly! The view on the one side of the hotel faces Table Mountain and the other side of the hotel faces the spa area and the most beautiful, tranquil garden. You can also see Cape Town Harbour from this side. Can recommend this any day!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing