We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property, attentive service, a bit over the top”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice property, attentive service, a bit over the top”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The One and Only will cater to your every need - service is without fault. We always had a car available within minutes, laundry done same day, full buffet breakfast and optional a la carte items included in the price of the room. If we asked for it - we got it. It is very expensive for Cape Town, so you are paying for this. For our family, it was a bit over the top -- you cannot walk 5 feet without someone asking if everything is okay or offering you a hot towel or assistance. The shower in the room is great, but the whole room is a bit noisy - you can hear other rooms and the hallway noise quite clearly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaJkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    201
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
409
749
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel in January 2012 for 4 nights and had a superb time. The suite we stayed in was amazing with magnificent views of Table Mountain. The pool area was gorgeous with lots of loungers and amazing staff always ready to help if you need anything. The hotel is a short walk away from the harbour where there are many excellent seafood restaurants if you wanted to dine somewhere different from the hotel. I would also highly recommend the spa at the hotel if you want to treat yourself to something special!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Three nights and two days at a lovely hotel. Location superb. Spa was fabulous. Staff was extremely personable and service was top notch. I would recommend this hotel highly. Nobu Restaurant was a bit of a disappointment, so skip that one. Gave breakfast a "very good" because they seemed to have some trouble getting the orders correct.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sds6755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

we stayed at the one and only in june 2012. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a 5 star property. The suite we stayed in was lovely, the view and setting from our balcony was spectacular. We enjoyed breakfast and had the pleasure of eating dinner at reubens restaurant . The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to the waterfront shopping complex. The spa was excellent.
Thank you Alex for making us feel welcome and I'm sure we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taube and steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great hotel, excellent restaurants - albeit a bit expensive. The staff were knowledgable, approachable and so keen to be of service. One of the best hotel experiences I've had

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purdy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Here we are again in our favorite hotel in the world I guess. You can find better locations, better hotels and maybe better service but to date I've yet to find all three in the same place bettering the O&O Cape Town.

Room Tip: Lagoon all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all_ar0und_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We travel a lot and we like our fine food and accomodation, and this hotel is the Best! It starts when you drive up to the front, friendly porters who whisk your car away while you effortlessly check in with a hot towel and a cool drink. our suite was beautiful and on an Island, very spacious and pretty view. All staff we have encountered been very friendly, beds super comfy, rooms lovely and very spacious. Can't fault a thing, breakfast at Reuben's divine, even got asked by name at breakfast if everything was good. location brilliant, we walked to waterfront shopping and dining area. Hotel in Prime location to Table mountain, 20 min drive to lots of different malls and sights. We will be back and we will not stay anywhere else in Cape Town, we loved it here. Thank you Rodney for making us feel so welcome on check in and taking time to show us around. can't wait to return in the very near future.

Room Tip: Try get an island suite, relaxing and private and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,034 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,519 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing