We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Wedding”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Dear Adele,

On this beautiful day I would like to say THANK YOU for the most beautiful wedding that you arranged for us!!!!!

Ingrid of course was the most beautiful bride that her mother has ever seen and One & Only complimented every minute of the day!

We are very appreciative of what you have done for us!

All the best in your future endeavors and you are just the BEST!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyD163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

We were absolutely delighted to read your review, Adele and her team were so happy to learn that they made this unique day in your life become” the most beautiful wedding” with unforgettable moments for both of you!

The entire team is wishing you the very best, and we trust we will have you with us again to celebrate your first Wedding Anniversary!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We arrived after many hours of flying and delays, and were so pleased with our first sight of One and Only. We were taken to our room, which was truly spectular. We were on the fifth floor, facing the bay with a perfect view of Tabletop Mountain. All ofnthe functions, switches, and locations of venues in the hotel were explained to us. Breakfast, which was included in our rate in Rubens Restaurant was excellent. Unfortunately, time did not permit us to use the spa. The location is ideal for the waterfront, but not really centrally located to the downtown area of Cape Town..I'd you want to visit museums, etc.

Room Tip: As previously stated, facing the bay, and tabletop mountain...on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailpassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

It is such a great pleasure to share with theTeam your excellent review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us the feedback!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully next time around for a longer time, so that you can enjoy all the facilities at leisure, especially our superb Spa which is a definite must while on the property!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had one&only experience in Cape Town. Such a fabulas hotel and awesome staff.We wii stay there again if we ever go back. Hotel provides complimentary car service to the shopping mall and nearby areas. They arranged 2 full days private tour. They two restaurants with great food.They made our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you so much for the fantastic review on your recent stay with us, it is an absolutely pleasure to learn you had a great experience! We are looking forward to welcoming back again to our beautiful resort and have another memorable experience with One&Only Team!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful property in a great tourist location (V&A waterfront). Hotel is virtually brand new. Beautiful huge bar area in the lobby is striking, as is the chic boutique there. Our room was huge for a city hotel, with fantastic views of Table Mountain. Sadly, we didn't have time to use the spa on the "One & Only island", but it looked really cool.

The concierge service, specifically Chris Noone, deserves the highest praise. Even several months before our stay, I wanted to make particular dinner reservations in franschoek and set up car rentals and a driver for a wine tour. The concierge (Nigel Oosthuizen) made this process as seamless as possible from halfway around the world before our arrival, and Chris helped us while we were there, specifically coordinating the location and arrival of some missing luggage. The tour company with which we worked for our wine tour driver really stood at attention whenever the O&O concierge was copied on emails; apparently the O&O name really carries some weight around town.

Overall, this is a great hotel I'd highly recommend while staying in Cape Town. Others asked why we chose the O&O over the Cape Grace, given these two are sort of known as the two best hotels in town. We were looking for a cool, new, modern city hotel with great service - and that's exactly what we got!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worktravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town and for your kind words.
We are so happy to know that you had such a fantastic stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback; Chris Noone and Nigel were so delighted to read your review!

We are looking forward to welcoming back again at our beautiful resort and have more time to enjoy all the great facilities available!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A Very Big Thank You to Adele for the meticulous planning and execution of all our wedding requirements and to Chef Garth for catering to all our specific dietary needs to perfection. Your teams effort and professionalism made our wedding day stress free and enjoyable, making this a truly momentous occasion.

Much appreciated

Seelan and Nancy

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

On behalf on One&Only team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review on Trip Advisor and for choosing One&Only Cape Town for such a special and memorable day!

We are so happy that you had such a fantastic experience that will stay with you forever!
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming back at our beautiful resort!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My experience is not typical; I won my stay at the One & Only as a prize in the CNBC Portfolio Challenge, so I can't really say whether it was worth the money or not. I can, however, say that I thoroughly enjoyed the place.

The resort is simply beautiful. It really does look like some exotic paradise with all the palm trees, the canal, the island, the flowering shrubs and outdoor fountains. From the dining room in Reuben's, one can gaze out at a magnificent view of Table Mountain though the huge windows.

Speaking of Reuben's, whenever I finished my food, one of the staff was there almost immediately to take my empty plate. I even found a fresh napkin on the table after making a short trip to the buffet. Their attentiveness simply cannot be overstated.

It wasn't like that just with the dining room staff, either; everybody I encountered was like that. It's as if their sole mission in life is to make sure all my needs are met. And they were all so friendly; maybe I'm just too accustomed to surly American service, but when it came time to leave Cape Town, I was ready to pack everybody up and take them home with me. They were that great. Alex and Leah were particularly fantastic.

Now, it must be said that I'm just a middle-class guy, and I can't afford to take vacations of this sort, so it's possible that rich people who are more accustomed to resorts of this caliber will find some things to nit-pick about. All I can say for certain is that I couldn't have had a better experience. If I ever get to a point in my life where I can afford to go to Cape Town on my own dime, then I will definitely plan on staying at the One & Only again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, the team was absolutely delighted to read your review and learn that they managed to make your stay an unforgettable one for all the right reasons!

Alex and Leah were so happy to see your review; they are indeed real gems, as are all our fantastic team members!

I have a great solution when it comes to packing up all our great staff members: please come back soon and enjoy another unforgettable holiday! They are all looking forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

An outstanding hotel in every respect and in particular the staff are well trained to spot and respond to every need. Well located within an easy walk to the waterfront shopping area. Great food and smart room service as well. Cant fault it and would stay there again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: I think most rooms look toward Table mountain but you could check....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

The One&Only Team would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at One&Only Cape Town!
It is suh a great pleasure to learn that you had a magnificent stay with us and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming back soon!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £471 - £1,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing