We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel. Professional staff, very helpful. Most breathtaking views all around!! Highly recommended. Try the Nobu”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel. Professional staff, very helpful. Most breathtaking views all around!! Highly recommended. Try the Nobu”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Hotel was good for Business. also good for couples. Accessible, you can walk to the Cape Town Waterfront. Couples on honeymoon will enjoy this Hotel. The staff was very professional, courteous, always ready to help. The Concierge is like "personal service" . the Housekeeing staff were able to collect, press and return my outfit within 15 minutes! Incredible!

Room Tip: the rooms in "The Island" gives you a long stroll.... they also feel like a stand-alone ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteMoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Its great to hear that your stay with us was wonderful. Taking care of all guests needs wether business or leisure is a top priority to us here at the One&Only Hotel.

Thank you for posting this review

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    198
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
386
731
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were at the One and Only for only 2 nights, and it was incredible :)
The service was amazing
The food was awesome
The staff were friendly and helpful
The room was beautiful and each night we had in-room dining with friends on the balcony - just perfect :)
Thank you for making our stay such a memorable one

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha04344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Here at the One&Only we strive to ensure that every stay is a memorable experience and to hear that we have provided you with just that has brought joy to our entire team.

Thank you for your review

Sincerly,

Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulawayo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The staff strive to be efficient and courteous roght from the pick up from the airport to taking you to your room. Rooms are spacious with great views of the (table) mountains. Being right by the waterfront and a part of the hustle and bustle that goes on around that area makes it a convenient tourist destination. Food from Reuben's and Nobu restaurants is always fresh, with the breakfasts in Reuben's being splendid and refreshing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager – Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you had such an amazing time with us here at the One&Only Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Sincerly,

Bridgit Pautz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

After a long flight from the UK, we arrived at the hotel very early and whilst our actual room wasn't ready (the hotel was at full occupancy), the incredible Gerard was so fantastic and arranged for us to have a beautiful day room (which was actually one of the fab island suites) so that we could shower before heading out to explore for the day. The team then arranged for our luggage to be moved seamlessly whilst we were out, so we returned to another beautiful room - it might not have been on the island, but the view of the marina and Table Mountain were actually better!!

Dinner in Nobu was exceptional - as good as the others we have tried around the world. And then having breakfast on our balcony in front of table mountain could not be bettered.

Brilliant start to our holiday and INCREDIBLE service by Gerard and his team - all in all, faultless & highly recommend staying here if you want a topnotch, 5 star experience (ps we even saw the State President!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gashton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager – Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful post, Gerhard and the rest of our team were delighted to have been able to give you such a great experience here at the One&Only Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the One&Only in the near future.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We recently returned from our honeymoon in South Africa, and the Only & Only Cape Town was the second leg of our trip. Once again, the O&O lives up to its expectations. The room was absolutely fantastic, and the views of Table Mountain from all over the hotel were breathtaking. The staff working at the concierge desk were beyond helpful, and went out of their way to help with all request. After being there for only a few hours, they already knew our names and greeted us while we walked through the lobby. We ate at the hotel a number of times, and each time our meal was delicious. Another bonus is the great location of the hotel. You are less than a 5-minute walk from the V&A Waterfront, where you have access to great shopping and numerous restaurants. Never once did we feel unsafe walking around whether it was during the day or at night. Cape Town is a beautiful city with so much to offer, and staying at the O&O was the icing on our amazing time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellebeeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager – Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
It was wonderful to learn that you had a great experience with us here at the One&Only.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the One&Only in the near future for another wonderful experience.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I don't even know where to begin- the staff at the One&Only were part of putting together one of the best nights of my life!
My fiance had planned to propose and the staff went completely over and above what was expected of them.
Champagne on arrival, private dinner for 2 was arranged in a secluded "Yoga hut" - we had our own waiter and the food was transported to us via a golf cart! The in-house co-ordinator was fantastic.
The romantic turn down was a nice touch too - champagne, chocolates, candles..
As for the room - great! Shower was super, separate bath tub and a Nespresso machine to kick start your morning.
Reubens served an amazing breakfast!
Beautiful gardens, great location, 5star service and definitely an experience to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgit P, Executive Manager – Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
The entire One&Only team, were so delighted to read the review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!

It is wonderful to hear that you had such an amazing and romantic experience where we strive to deliver One&Only moments. We endeavour to ensure that each guest receives an unforgettable experience.

We are look forward to welcoming you back again for an even better experience!

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September for 4 nights with 2 kids. We opted for the villa rooms and loved how spacious they were. The staff were extremely friendly and every simple need was catered for. My kids loved the attention as the staff ran them special baths every night, and we kinda had to drag them away from the kids room as they loved all the activities.Trust me that was wonderful as hubby and I got to enjoy some quiet time.Turn down service is always welcomed and we loved the fact that the room was always tidied when we left. We were offered shuttle services to the waterfront and even if you choose to walk its a short 5 min walk which is lovely as you use the dedicated pathways. We also enjoyed the Nobu restaurant which is a must visit if you love Sushi and Japanese cuisine. I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast at Reubens as the menu never changed and the buffet was exactly the same each day. A must have and experience is the gorgeous high tea. I have stayed twice at this hotel and will continue to book my Capetown breaks here as the entire family really loved it.

Room Tip: Choose the villa rooms as they are very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
The entire One&Only team from Housekeeping, to Kids Club, Nobu and Vista Lounge, were so delighted to read the review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!

We are very happy to learn that you have been able to relax and enjoy the resort, while the kids were so well taken care of!
We are looking forward to welcome you back again for an even better experience!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,483 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing